Customer Review

224 of 318 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, August 28, 2009
This review is from: SHANY Professional 12 - Piece Natural Goat and Badger Cosmetic Brush Set with Pouch - Red (Health and Beauty)
First let me start by saying I love how fast I got these brushes! I ordered then August 26 and they were here on August 27. I used Amazon prime 2day free shipping. My case I received was a metallic green, the case itself obviously will not stay together forever and why should it, its made of cheap vinyl but anyway for 25 dollars you can't complain. The case has embossing on the lower right corner of the opening flap. It reads "Profound" my guess is that is the makers trademark. Opening the case you will notice it is held shut by two large silver magnetic snaps. The snaps are just punctured into the vinyl so once they come out they are gone for good. Each brush is held in place netting. The brushes that are sown in the first picture are not ALL the ones you will receive.

The brushes you should receive will be as follows: Two blush brushes, One large, one medium. A fan brush, A mascara brush, you should have one foundation brush (this will be the largest of the flat paint brush looking ones)you will have two concealer brushes that look almost identical, they are not, one is slightly longer and the brush is a bit wider then the other. you will have an angled brush that is best used for lining the top of the lids, a small lip brush, a brow comb/brush and an applicator. Each brush will come in plastic wrap to protect the brush. Four of the brushes will have a strong plastic "topper" keep the plastic that comes with the lip brush, fan brush and two blush brushes to help these keep their shape ladies.

The bristles on these brushes appear to be glued in fairly well, again for 25 dollars you shouldn't complain you are not getting M.A.C. brushes nor are you getting Dior. So if you are going to complain then just do yourself a favor and don't buy the brushes.

I will add my pictures of the case and each brush as soon as I find the connector to my digital camera. Then you can see what I think are more accurate photos of each brush..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 15, 2009 9:58:21 AM PDT
thanks for your review it was really helpful, i just bought this set yesterday without really knowing what i was gonna get and thought that i just wasted 26 dollars on something thats not worth, but your review changed my mind, i went to your page to see if u posted the pictures of the brushes but i didnt know how to find them, anyways i hope the brush set i get is as good as yours.

Posted on Nov 3, 2010 6:37:19 AM PDT
J. Robinson says:
Thanks soooo much for this thorough review. I am buying these brushes because of you! :)

Posted on Sep 22, 2012 9:59:37 AM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 26, 2013 6:08:11 AM PDT
Hi, read S. Shahmohamadi's review, that addresses your other two concerns.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2013 2:38:24 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 1, 2013 2:59:09 PM PST
[edited twice, once to make it clear to whom I'm speaking, and the second time to correct a typo.]

(In reply to "SpirituMusica", whose "comment" is currently two upstream from this post of mine, and for anyone who hates Trolls. The latter won't learn anything about the product under discussion from my post, but they might feel better knowing they aren't alone.)
----

Gee, I'm *so* sorry the purchaser of the product, who took the time to write the review and gave us additional info on the product than with what we began, *just to be nice to fellow shoppers*, didn't write the review *you* wished written. (!)

D'oh! If you're finding the info you want *sooooo* difficult to find (took me about a minute to find reviews dated before this 9/22/12 comment that covered your complaints), buy the thing and then YOU can write us the review *you* were looking for originally.

Why is it hard to believe 2 people bought these brushes because of her recommendation? My friends frequently buy something I've bought first and was thus the group guinea pig -- I've had up to ten friends jump on the bandwagon with me in that sort of vending.

If the review was in turn posted on social media sites with links, and the person has a fair number of "friends", "followers", "whathaveyounow" etc... geez, one would *hope* that someone with thousands of "friends" would at least convince two of them.

Let's not forget blogs, especially those of RL friends, and how things are passed outside of FB, Twitter, etc.

I mean, seriously, SpirituMusica. That was an absolutely ridiculous statement on your part. Do you know *nothing* about modern marketing? (A little hint for you: generally speaking, I find it best to engage one's brain before engaging one's fingers on the keyboard.)

There are over a thousand reviews of this product, hundreds of which were in place by the time of the comment you made. There are more than enough that contain the info you're looking for. To expect a reviewer to cover every single question *you* have is simply not realistic. What's important/exciting/interesting to you does not mean the rest of the world has your questions on their minds when they write. The rest of the world already knows it's not about *you* -- didn't you get the memo?

This is classic entitlement and selfishness when you get to it. Someone thinks/writes something on their own, with their own ideas, concerns and time limits, just to be nice and try and help other shoppers. They get nothing for it. Then, because it doesn't completely satisfy *you*, you snipe AT A PERFECT STRANGER abruptly and with a great deal of snark -- classic troll.

You try to use a decoy compliment (your first sentence) to show you have a good heart, but after saying the review, including the brush descriptions, were nice, the rest of your comment was contradicting the opener. In other words, you're behaving like a Troll. ("No, no, look, I'm not trolling, I said some of it was nice!" *eyeroll*)

While generally employing Internet Rule #1 --DO NOT FEED THE ENERGY MONSTER -- is a good thing, every Troll needs to have the behaviour pointed out to them, just on the off chance s/he doesn't know how rude and obnoxious s/he is being. I'm fairly confident, however, that you know full well you *are* a Troll.

Try to bear in mind that contrary to what Mommy and Daddy told you, the world does *not* revolve around you, and WHEN YOU ARE NOT PAYING FOR THE PRODUCT, you are in *no* way entitled to get everything you want Just because you don't know the poster and can never be brought to account for your actions on the web doesn't make it any less nasty and ill-bred. The adage that one gets what one pays for hits in the high ninetieth percentile for me.

As for your annoyance about this reviewer not addressing how well they hold up, *sigh*. Generally reviewers post within a week or so of purchase. In that time line, how can *anyone* tell you how well brushes hold up, and most reviewers aren't all that interested in going back and adding to their review. Some apparently have, and that's nice of them to do, but they're the exception. (This isn't Rocket Science, sugar, so I really can't believe I have to point that out to you.)

There's also problems with your other complaints. How well the brushes work and how smoothly they apply makeup is *highly* subjective. Different brands of makeup will work differently on the same brush. The brush may be absolutely perfect, but if you don't know how to use it properly, it won't "work well" or "apply makeup smoothly" (what brush doesn't do the latter, btw?)

Finally, and most revealing in this particular case, people who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. Apparently your reviews are judged far inferior to the person you're baiting. They certainly aren't found to be complete and helpful, since your approval rating on reviews is 52%, with only 12 out of 23 indicating your reviews to be of help to them. That says it all, doesn't it?

Go to an ophthalmologist and get the log removed from your own eye before you start commenting on other peoples' splinters. People like you are the reason the 'net is filled with hate and malice. Stop it.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›