Customer Review

85 of 106 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product for price!, December 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NcStar Crossbow with Red Dot (CD) (Sports)
Just got this crossbow and I love it! I don't know why so many people gave it a one star rating!

Cons: No instruction manual. Reels for fishing arrows are terrible.

Pros: Its cheap. I dropped it off the 2nd floor of an apartment and it made a small dent but after that it still works fine... So whoever fired it and it "Blew up in their face"... you just don't know how to properly put things together... Comes with a lot of accessories: Comes with 10 plastic arrows w/ metal arrowheads, 10 plastic darts about 2" in overall length w/ metal arrowheads, 4 plastic fishing arrows w/ metal barbed arrowheads, 1 compass (mounted onto crossbow), and a $40 red dot sight that is x and y adjustable.

Other things: Not the 90lb crossbow that it says it is, but what do you expect when something is so cheap. You get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 14, 2012 12:59:28 PM PDT
S. Torrence says:
Your link has helped me the most, as you say its a great toy when properly built and that we should not believe the 90 lb. lie. thanks for the interview will be buying this as a toy for targeting.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 3, 2013 11:38:03 AM PST
So if it's not a 90 lb pull has anyone tested it to see what it is? Is the red dot "satisfactory"?

Posted on Sep 25, 2013 12:07:20 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 25, 2013 12:21:45 AM PDT
Then they shouldn't lie about the draw weight. It's no so much as, " you get what you pay for " its the principle of it. False Advertising, ect.. I am a hunter and hunted crossbows for a longtime. One thing you don't want to find out that isn't true is the draw weight As you try to max out the poundage at 90 and its only gonna let you do 40, you can seriously injure yourself by putting to much behind it. Or, if you do get it close or there, then when you shoot it, with all that energy, the bolt can snap and come back and greater harm if not death by it snapping and going into different directions. The manufacture must not have really thought this through by making a product that doesn't do what its supposed to do. Also, I read no instructions? This is a perfect set up for a major lawsuit if anyone gets hurts. Just as any of my crossbows, if they lied about the draw weight, no instructions, ect.. your taking a chance on your life. And your life it seems to me, they don't care about or they wouldn't let themselves be set up like this. Its called being a RESPECTABLE BUSINESS, Customer service , AND SAFETY. I think { and all of you can } get the Attorney Generals office in on this and the states safety commission board also to look at it. To be sold here in the states, they have to meet certain criteria and safety regulations. In china, Taiwan, Vietnam, korea, ect... they don't have them like we do. All this cause they want to lie about their product and in turn, could cause death. Just ask any manufacture of any crossbows, { a very good one for example where I am from. Ten Point Crossbow Technologies, 1325 Waterloo Road,
Mogadore, OH 44260. Ask them what they need to ensure safety with their products. They are their own company. I know were talking about a $40.00 pistol crossbow, but safety is #1. Don't buy, have them researched by these I have mentioned then, do what you want. But, remember, a broken bolt flying is a dangerous projectile. Is your life worth only $40.00?
CONCERNED CUSTOMER

Posted on Sep 25, 2013 12:24:22 AM PDT
EVERYONE. READ THIS FINE PRINT BEFORE BUYING. /
This site and the materials and products on this site are provided "as is" and without warranties of any kind, whether express or implied. To the fullest extent permissible pursuant to applicable law, www.saferwholesale.com disclaims all warranties, express or implied, including, but not limited to, implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement. www.saferwholesale.com does not represent or warrant that the functions contained in the site will be uninterrupted or error-free, that the defects will be corrected, or that this site or the server that makes the site available are free of viruses or other harmful components. www.saferwholesale.com does not make any warrantees or representations regarding the use of the materials in this site in terms of their correctness, accuracy, adequacy, usefulness, timeliness, reliability or otherwise. Some states do not permit limitations or exclusions on warranties, so the above limitations may not apply to you.

Limitation of Liability
www.saferwholesale.com shall not be liable for any special or consequential damages that result from the use of, or the inability to use, the materials on this site or the performance of the products, even if www.saferwholesale.com has been advised of the possibility of such damages. Applicable law may not allow the limitation of exclusion of liability or incidental or consequential damages, so the above limitation or exclusion may not apply to you./ DONT BUY FROM A PLACE THAT WILL NOT WARRENT A PRODUCT. END OF STORY.

Posted on Oct 2, 2013 10:52:05 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Oct 3, 2013 2:37:17 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 26, 2013 2:39:08 PM PDT
Mine went together with no need for any instructions. Just takes common since. I don't know exactly which one you have but mine is a 100 pound without a doubt!!

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 26, 2013 2:41:51 PM PDT
Much simpler then you make it out! I had no issues at all and for being safe I love mine and it is as safe as a $300 one. Mine had a new price of $150 and I got a "Used but not opened at all" crossbow for $50.00 and it is very safe. Got to get the proper one!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

2.6 out of 5 stars (216 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (91)
 
 
 
$49.99 $41.95
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,040,993