Customer Review

11 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Guess I'll have to write without his advice, January 19, 2012
This review is from: 500 Ways To Be A Better Writer (Kindle Edition)
I find it hard to believe that a person who mistakes vulgarity for humor has advice worth pursuing.

Do yourself a favor and buy a book written by a grown-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 21, 2012 7:13:01 AM PST
Your loss, certainly. Chuck has a tremendous amount of extremely helpful advice. His humor is crude, but those of us who appreciate his wisdom are adult enough to handle it.

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 7:18:31 AM PST
M. Craft says:
Alas for you; while there are forms of vulgarity that are pretty obviously childish and immature behavior, Chuck's isn't among them. He hits the boundary where he manages serious, honest suggestions and advice while still managing to be profane in a George Carlin sort of style. Depriving yourself of his wit and insight over a prudish offense at his choice of words says far more about your own hangups than it does about this book.

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 7:21:13 AM PST
IuchiAtesoro says:
That is not a review. It doesn't even sound like the reviewer has read the book.

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 8:58:27 AM PST
I guess we all have different tastes. Just last night, while driving home with my wife after running some errands, we started chatting about writing blogs and other things. And I mentioned how Wendig does this balancing act I really appreciate. He's himself, and sure--he swears and might even be "vulgar" at times. But he's always kind.

So many writers with the...attitude(?) Wendig has, are negative. They are in-your-face, and it's an easy way out for them. While Wendig can be a bit gonzo at times, he's not mean or negative or anything but who he is. From reading his blog, and a handful of his books, who he is seems like a good guy who offers a style of advice that may not work for everybody, but then...what does?

I will never write a story like something Wendig will write -- I have different tastes and goals in what I set out to do as a writer. But that doesn't mean I'd dispel everything Wendig says, because in between all the "vulgarity," is some very solid writing advice.

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 9:37:24 AM PST
Thanks for your review. >Click< Just bought myself a new book! Not only do I like vulgarity, but I like telling all my friends about vulgar books. I think I'll go tweet this right now.

This is just what I was looking for!

Now, I'm off to raid your review lists and buy everything you called "vulgar" or "immature." I think this will work better than the current rating system. I can't thank you enough.

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 9:48:23 AM PST
Chuck Wendig is a genius and far and away my most valued advisor in the writing realm. Anyone who gets butt-hurt over naughty words has a lot bigger issues than just needing writing advice. Chuck Wendig RULES! ~Samuel Solomon

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 10:04:51 AM PST
Joshua Kubli says:
Apparently, Serendipity has never heard of George Carlin. Or different people with different tastes in humor. Sad.

Posted on Jan 21, 2012 4:51:31 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 21, 2012 4:52:06 PM PST
I find it hilarious that you're complaining that this book is full of vulgarities, yet you give a five star review to the book "Be A Sex-Writing Strumpet!" Seriously? Given this fact, and your distaste for naughty words, one can only assume that you're writing Amish porn.

Posted on Jul 26, 2012 8:11:13 AM PDT
A. Mansfield says:
It never ceases to amaze me, the number of people who don't bother reading a book's description before buying it. Here, in case you missed them, are the very first two lines from this book's description:

"500 WAYS TO BE A BETTER WRITER aims to provide novelists, screenwriters and other flavors of penmonkey with an avalanche of writing tips and storytelling tricks. All of it greased up with whisky and bad language (let that serve as your first and only warning: this is a very NSFW book of writing advice)."

"Bad language" and "very NSFW" didn't clue you in that this might not be the book for you?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 23, 2012 5:35:31 PM PDT
Da Readah says:
Stephanie, naughty, naughty! You reviewed the book at least 4 months before you posted your comment saying, "Thanks for your review. >Click< Just bought myself a new book!" You might want to keep a portable fire extinguisher handy and keep an eye on your backside, dear.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (41 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
$2.99
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 102,363