Customer Review

53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Adrenaline....This IS Beatlemania !!!, September 5, 2000
This review is from: A Hard Day's Night (Audio CD)
Filled with energy, hooks, and enough great songs to last a lifetime, "A Hard Day's Night" is the ultimate document of Beatlemania. About the only thing missing from this unheralded masterpiece is the deafening shriek of adoring young fans. This is one for the history books because, in a nutshell, this IS 1964!!
Oddly enough, "Hard Day's Night" is rarely mentioned as one of the Beatles' best albums. What a shame, because this one is loaded with 13 unforgetable Lennon-McCartney classics. In fact, so cohesive are the tunes, that one could make a strong case for "A Hard Day's Night" as rock-n-roll's first true concept album. Lyrically, each song deals with love. Yes, it's mostly simplistic, however, a growing sophistication sneaks in on "Things We Said Today" and the haunting finale "I'll Be Back". The instrumental landscape is graced with driving acoustic guitars, Ringo's steady backbeat and of course, George's ringing 12-string guitar. So influential was George's playing -- especially on the classic title song -- that seemingly an entire generation of young guitar slingers made the 12-string a part of their arsenal. (The Byrds' Roger McGuinn credits "Hard Day's Night" as the inspiration for his love affair with the 12-string.)
All thirteen songs are wonderful. No filler-- just classic power pop sprinkled with a pair of John and Paul's most beautiful ballads ("And I Love Her" and "If I Fell"). The potent rockers "Any Time at All" and "You Can't Do That" are purely lethal. John doesn't merely sing these songs -- he screams his bloody lungs out!! Paul shreds his vocal cords on "Can't Buy Me Love", letting out what is perhaps the most famous scream in rock's history. You get the idea that the Beatles -- not yet fed up with touring and riotous mobs -- had a blast while recording "A Hard Day's Night". This is pure adrenaline and we, the listeners, are the lucky recipients. A must for any serious music fan, "A Hard's Day's Night" is not only one of the best albums of all-time, it's also one of the most important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 5, 2008 10:19:48 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 23, 2008 4:08:49 PM PDT
1960's Child says:
Excellant Review!.... Opinion's vary but....If I Fell, is my all time favorite Ballad by this Band. Something that several Boomers have forgotten (or didn't know to begin with) is that the Ballad, If I Fell, was also on the American LP, Something New.

Posted on Dec 12, 2009 6:10:50 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 12, 2009 6:54:08 PM PST
Star Bux says:
Looking at the lyrics to the song, Hard Day's Night, I think this song
is about "working boys" and working girls". It is a song about prostitution, and
perhaps most "marriages". To wit, why would a married woman choose to wear
a diamond ring? Does she not care about men (or boys) who work in those
diamond mines? Rather than talk about "fair trade" diamonds, consider attacking
the problem from the DEMAND side...If you see a woman protesting the wearing of
furs, ask her if she also protests the wearing of diamond, or metal, jewellery? Would
you want your son to work in a diamond mine? How about your daughter? Would you
not rather that they work as airline stewards and stewardesses instead? Think, WORK EQUITY.

Can't Buy Me Love, is an interesting song, like a vaccine to the viral Hard Days Night.

Love is a feeling which may, or may not express itself as an action. Love is a thing freely
given with no expectation of something in return. But you can still HOPE to receive....Maybe
to day, she will notice me,...That sort of thing. Neither a victim, nor a victimizer be.
Know your limits, and play within them....I love her, but aside from learning a lot about
house repair, and physics, it did not "pay"...She chose another...?? Help!

Posted on Sep 26, 2010 7:04:00 PM PDT
I completely agree that this is one of their best albums. Horribly under-rated.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 1, 2011 3:56:05 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 1, 2011 3:59:49 AM PDT
Aquaria says:
:::Looking at the lyrics to the song, Hard Day's Night, I think this song is about "working boys" and working girls". It is a song about prostitution:::

This is the stupidest thing ever written on Amazon about any Beatles song.

1) Are you really so stupid and privileged that you aren't aware that all kinds of working-class people have night jobs? Police, nurses, postal workers, clerks, bartenders, musicians (like, gee, JOHN LENNON, the writer of this song!), work at night.

2) "It's been a hard day's night/And I've been working like a dog"

This immediately tells people with brains that the song is going to be from the perspective of an adult with a job.

"It's been a hard day's night/I should be sleeping like a log"

The narrator, like probably hundreds of millions of people around the world, apparently works at night; he's clearly working class.

"You know I work all day/To get you money to buy you things/Cause it's worth it just to hear you say/You're gonna give me everything/So why on earth should I moan/Cause when I get you alone/You know I'll feel okay"

This batch of lyrics tells us that he believes it's worth it to work hard to provide for the woman he loves, because she makes him happy--particularly sexually happy, but it doesn't take a prostitute to do that for anyone, you slimeball.

The bridge emphasizes it even more: "When I'm home, everything seems to be right (nothing about sex here--there's a strong implication that they're compatible in all kinds of ways)/When I'm home/Feeling you holding me tight."

This is the song of a hard-working man who has something that makes life and having a job worth it: He has someone in his life he appreciates--and who appreciates him back.

That's all the song's about.

Nothing more.

In reply to an earlier post on May 30, 2012 6:56:56 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 30, 2012 6:58:55 PM PDT
L. Dufresne says:
Why should a woman (or anyone) protest the wearing of diamonds, or metal? If the jobs in diamond mines are rough, then welcome to the real world. The workers in those diamond mines take the jobs voluntarily don't they? So who are you to say that these people in south Africa (or wherever) should not have jobs, unless they can find employment that you consider pleasant. Maybe there are more pleasant (but lower paying) jobs available, but some choose to work in the diamond mines to get higher pay. But you know better than they do, so now you are going to boycott the product that allows them to live a little better life? There are lots of jobs with very dangerous and grotesque aspects. Working on a oil rig is very hard, dirty and dangerous work - so will you be boycotting the gasoline (that you use everyday) and the diesel (that harvests and delivers your food) and the jet fuel (that allows you to travel the world)? And why would you include metals as something to boycott? Don't you realize that our entire civilization is based on the use of metals?

Posted on Jan 16, 2013 10:22:33 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jan 16, 2013 10:26:58 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 11, 2014 6:08:53 PM PDT
Jerome Bush says:
And on the mono, Ronnie, McCartney nails the note "vain." On the stereo version, it sounds like he ran out of air on that note ... very oddly clipped off.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (434 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (344)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 52,188