Customer Review

384 of 386 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Reliable Mixer, July 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart HM-50BK Power Advantage 5-Speed Hand Mixer, Black (Kitchen)
I own the Cuisinart Power Advantage 5-Speed Handheld Mixer since early April 2009 and I am quiet happy with it thus far. In all fairness, this is my second handheld mixer and my previous mixer (Proctor Silex 62535 Bowl Rest 5-Speed Mixer, White) was a very weak mixer, which simply did not have the power to mix any semi-thick dough. This Cuisinart mixer has significantly more power (220 Watts) and has little trouble mixing most dough, excluding bread dough of course. This mixer has an automatic feedback mechanism which was the main reason I decided to purchase it. Unlike most mixers which supply their motors with different electric powers at different settings, this mixer supplies electric power partially based on the mixing speeds. In other words, it will supply an extra burst of power to the motor when the mixing speed is slow, like mixing tough dough. It only does so temporarily to avoid over heating the motor. It has five speed settings, which is exactly what I want. For those who like additional speed settings, there is the Cuisinart HM-70 Power Advantage 7-Speed Hand Mixer, Stainless and White. Keep in mind, their top speeds are the same as they are both powered by a 220 Watts motor. In my opinion, the slow speed setting of this mixer is a bit too fast. Beside the power, the mixer has three other features which I like a lot. First, it can sit nicely on a mixing bowl (when the power is off). Second, the power cord can swing left or right to allow the unit to securely sit upright. I have uploaded two customer images to illustrate this. Third, the beaters are easy to clean. Finally, the beaters can be effortlessly ejected by using the level. Looking at the photo, you may think this mixer has a semi-dull black. In reality, it has a shiny glossy black, which I think, looks even better. For those who prefer white color there is the: Cuisinart HM-50 Power Advantage 5-Speed Hand Mixer, Stainless and White

In summary, this is a powerful and affordable handheld mixer (not powerful compared to stand mixers)

Update:
I do have one compliant. Years ago, customers were able to take their home appliances apart to fix them. Unfortunately, this mixer is not one of those. Cuisinart have sealed off the screw holes and prevented customers from opening up the mixer. My mixer was making some scratchy noises and I could tell it just needed some machine oil/lubrication. Instead of taking the unit apart and adding oil, I had no choice but to pour the oil from outside through the exhaust fan hole, hoping it will get to the place. It did somewhat, and now the noise has been minimized. However, it should have been more straightforward than this.

I still think this is a very nice mixer for its utility and affordable price, and I would still strongly recommend other potential buyers to consider it. However, it would have been nicer if the screw holes are not sealed.

*Update on late Nov 2009*: The mixer is still working fine -- bought it since April 2009. The scratchy metal noise has not come back for some time. By the way, I use this mixer about 3 times per month for cookies and pastries. I hope this illustrates how often this mixer is being used. I am very satisfied with the product thus far.

*Update on Jun 26, 2010*: Still working fine.

*Update on May 31, 2011*: Still working.

*Update on Jan 05, 2012*: Still working
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 6, 2010 9:52:32 AM PST
Bunny888 says:
This is excellent feedback! Thank you so much for updating. My current (weak and old) handmixer is also a pain to oil, so this was very helpful.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 17, 2011 2:17:13 AM PST
aru2930 says:
Did you ever try to whip cream or make meringue with this mixer? Does it do a good job at whisking?

In reply to an earlier post on May 24, 2011 11:55:09 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 24, 2011 11:55:17 PM PDT
Richard Wong says:
aru,

Actually, I did both. I have made some whip cream (for my key lime pies and other things). I have also made some meringues (twice) with this mixer. The mixer seems to work just fine. What I was surprised is that even trace of oil in the meringue mixture can ruin the task. Thanks.

Posted on Nov 6, 2011 8:13:37 AM PST
S. Iverson says:
Thanks for a great review and I really appreciate you taking time to come back and post updates!

Posted on Jan 15, 2012 1:38:27 PM PST
Elia says:
Thank-You for the up dates! Very helpful!

Posted on Jul 8, 2012 2:47:32 PM PDT
S. Kwan says:
thanks for the updates! I find it hard to find reviews on appliances that have updates which let us know how long these products lasts.

Posted on Oct 9, 2013 11:20:45 AM PDT
Happy Camper says:
Best review ever! I was so impressed I couldn't wait to order the mixer for a gift....the best testament to a product IMO :)

Posted on Jan 31, 2014 7:39:27 AM PST
Thank you for such a fine review-one of the best I have ever read and made more valuable with the updates!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (339 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (188)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
$90.00 $49.95
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Ewing, NJ United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 24,378