Customer Review

14 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Potential Waste of Money, April 11, 2012
By 
This review is from: The River: Season 1 (DVD)
The River is an awesome TV series - it is suspenseful and at times creepy. The actual show deserves 4 - 5 stars. However, this product deserves one star, if any, for the following reason: ABC is releasing the Season 1 DVD while at the same time it is considering canceling the show! If you buy this DVD, you could have a story with no ending. You will be stuck at the climax and you will never know how the series ends or how the footage is found. To me, that is a waste of money for consumers and a money making scheme by the studio. I would encourage all River fans to avoid purchasing this product until ABC commits to finishing the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 16, 2012 8:21:30 PM PDT
Thanks for the heads up. I now won't be buying this if the story is going nowhere.

Posted on Apr 18, 2012 11:09:11 PM PDT
S. Moon says:
Actually what saved 'The Family Guy' and 'Futurama' was DVD sales. If a crap ton of these seasons are sold it will let ABC know that it has a following that has a lot of purchasing power. Even if it won't air on TV netflix might pick it up if a lot of DVD sales happen. Or just don't buy them and show ABC you don't care enough to spend money because that is really what its all about, money.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 19, 2012 9:45:44 PM PDT
Jeramy says:
Good point though The Family Guy and Futurama are comprised of standalone episodes. That is, they don't have an overarching storyline like The River. Season 1 left off on a cliffhanger, which means that if you do buy it and ABC doesn't continue it, your basically screwed. I personally don't want to rely too heavily on a network, especially one like ABC that has a history of cancelling shows, to bow to the fans and continue the show. With that being said, I see the logic in your argument.

Posted on Apr 29, 2012 6:27:10 PM PDT
J. Steinborn says:
Netflix is attempting to buy the series from ABC. I'm not sure if they have actually come to a deal to have it as a Netflix exclusive but they have not came to terms on it.
I thought it was a good series despite what the ratings said. But it would be a pointless buy only to be left hanging at the end of the series.

Posted on May 5, 2012 2:52:43 PM PDT
wRx7M says:
This was my favorite show this season. It was like a horror movie but shown on TV. I will be very disappointed if it didn't get picked up again. Where is the Blu-Ray release? The only time I buy DVD is when it comes in a combo pack with a Blu-Ray

Posted on May 18, 2012 9:39:09 AM PDT
If you watched the show you'd know that the Season One Finale works just well as a Series Finale: They never got out of the Amazon and all that was found was the footage. Done.

In reply to an earlier post on May 18, 2012 9:57:16 AM PDT
Jeramy says:
I'm not sure it does. You make a good point but it's a half ass way to end it. Do they die? Become dragonflies? What happens? I'm assuming they would have filmed it. And, of course, how were the videos found.

In reply to an earlier post on May 24, 2012 9:21:55 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on May 24, 2012 9:24:55 PM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on May 24, 2012 9:25:29 PM PDT
Mark says:
wRx7M said:

"Where is the Blu-Ray release? The only time I buy DVD is when it comes in a combo pack with a Blu-Ray."

Right on, but forget the "Combo Packs" for me. I'm very happy if I can merely buy the Blu-ray version (with no extra DVD, Digital Copy, Ultraviolet, Voudu, or whatever).

I also don't like my peas touching my carrots. Bit of a BD snob now. I like to keep my thighs separate.

Posted on Jun 10, 2012 5:19:21 PM PDT
kdills14 says:
They're making another season. Not like they're just gonna leave it hanging.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (68 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
$19.99 $11.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 21,723,216