Customer Review

40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gold standard for HD collections, November 8, 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid HD Collection (Video Game)
This is by far the best example of an Hd collection. It's befitting that it's for one of the most influential franchises of video game history. If you're new to metal gear, now is your chance to catch up on these landmark games, including the first two metal gears only released for the MSX. If you're a vet, relive the magic of Kojima's masterpieces. Great value for the money. Also ignore the guy who rated a 1 star because of peace walker's graphics. it was a PSP game. It was never meant to look like a HD console game. it's only upscaled to look reasonably good on an HDTV. this is for the experience of the metal gear story, For fans, not an entire remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 10, 2011 7:13:20 PM PST
D. Frost says:
Well, I understand your point about Peace Walker but this is called the "HD" collection. And I, for one, am getting tired of them calling things HD when they are not. HD starts at 720P. I like the idea of bringing older games to the current gen systems but most of them just upscale and use the same low-res textures from the original game. And if you are calling the package an "HD Collection" you need to put that on the screen.

That being said, I can agree with any review that highly rates this MGS collection because the game are in a class by themselves.

Posted on Nov 11, 2011 5:50:44 AM PST
I will point out both of you are wrong. HD refers to resolution. The games are 720p. Both of you refer to textures and poly counts, which have jack to do with resolution. Peace Walker is in HD along with Snake Eater and Sons of Liberty.

I make way too many pauses.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 22, 2011 9:43:40 PM PST
Sam, you are wrong. When it comes to computer graphics, HD is not only the resolution it is the resolution of the textures too! Imagine if 360 and PS3 games were all HD but with SD textures? Some games do this to some degree and of course they look old, but the HD textures done right is what separates the old generation from the current, not just screen resolution. I agree with D. Frost, they need to HD the textures or it is just a reformatted game.

Posted on Dec 6, 2011 2:13:39 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 6, 2011 2:15:18 PM PST
I do not regret this purchase at all. I kind of gave up during MGS2 though, it's been so long since I played the original PS2 version, and I died in the big multilevel water room because I f'd up. I was like "I'm done Eff this."

It's been so long that I just got angry at the game from the beginning - starting with not knowing where the computer was in the tanker, so I literally failed the "speech" sequence 35 times before I was like "Oh it's in THIS ROOM? I have five minutes to STAY IN ONE ROOM?!"

I was mighty angry as you would imagine. Rofl.

The controls on 360 for MGS2 at least are really weird to get used to - Right bumper plus left stick plus x to shoot. Seems poorly implemented but that was how the original game was designed - it should just have been right bumper and x to aim and fire in first person honestly, they could have updated that.
But even though it's not a complete remake and it just an upscale, the game still looks decent. It is also a good opportunity to play games you didn't want to risk playing before like MGS3 and Peacewalker.

Maybe I should beat MGS3 before I watch the rest of MGS4. That's right, watch - it's a movie.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 6, 2011 2:21:47 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 6, 2011 2:25:33 PM PST
Pixel resolution:
The term resolution is often used for a pixel count in digital imaging, even though American, Japanese, and international standards specify that it should not be so used, at least in the digital camera field.

This is a term referring to the quality of the textures in the game. High resolution textures look good, obviously better than low resolution textures.

High definition: High-definition television (HDTV) is video that has resolution substantially higher than that of traditional television systems (standard-definition television). HDTV has one or two million pixels per frame, roughly five times that of SD (1280 x 720 = 921,600 for 720p, or 1920 x 1080 = 2,073,600 for 1080p). Early HDTV broadcasting used analog techniques, but today HDTV is digitally broadcast using video compression.

There is a large difference between high resolution, and high definition. For example:

The textures in Code Veronica HD are not high resolution. The image itself has been poorly attempted to be upscaled to high definition. The textures in RE4 HD have been updated to high resolution textures, but the game itself is not actually high definition - they just finally took the PS2 port, reskinned it, and put the GameCube graphical effects back in (as the PS2 port was 2nd only to PC port in terms of how god awful it looked compared to GC) . And the game looks very good, though still not modern.

Simply replacing old low resolution textures with high resolution textures, is not the same as converting it to high definition. All they did with MGS HD that I can see is slightly increase the pixel count of the image as a whole - they did not reskin anything. This is why it doesn't look as good.

Let us pray that the rumors of FFX HD being remade with the Crystal Dynamics FF13 engine are true - it will be the first and best looking HD re-release. Let us also pray Silent Hill HD is done correctly.

Posted on Feb 12, 2012 12:56:34 PM PST
mjc0961 says:
D Frost is clearly wrong. Look up any comparison shots and you can tell that they did more than just upscale the games.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (153 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
$29.99 $28.40
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 13,804,829