Customer Review

1,221 of 1,517 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning! Warning! Warning!, October 6, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Eye of the World (The Wheel of Time, Book 1) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ok, I'm giving this book only three stars despite the fact that, judged solely on its own merits, it probably deserves the 4 or 5 most people give it. Before you condemn me too harshly though, I'm doing it for a very good reason!
Before you read all the glowing reviews and buy this book, be warned: This is the start of a very long, drawn-out series. Not long and drawn-out in the sense that it's an "epic" story that needs time and patience to tell, but more in the sense that the author has discovered he has a virtual cash machine in his keyboard, and he's milking it for every last penny it's worth.
"But if they're good..." you think. Uh-huh. But they're not, you see.
The first four or five books in the series are excellent; I'd be lying if I said otherwise. Can Robert Jordan write? You bet your bottom he can -- but only when he puts his mind to it. Starting with the abysmal "Path of Daggers," the series' progress has slowed to a sad crawl. In each successive book, less and less happens, and more paper is wasted describing clothing, repeating characters' annoying mannerisms, and introducing new characters who don't seem to do anything to advance the plot. Maybe he doesn't know how to finish it... but that doesn't stop him adding to the misery.
How much of this do you think you can take? The 10th book is coming out soon; are you that patient? Will you really be able to stand seeing these cinderblock-sized lumps taking up more and more space on your bookshelf, nudging out more deserving titles? Will your wallet stand up to being burdened with a never-ending book series you're obliged to read because you've got too much invested to quit? What about when people come over, notice that massive row of "Wheel of Time" novels, and ask, "Oh. Robert Jordan fan, eh?" Will you be proud to turn them on to this series... or embarrassed? Give ya' a clue: Mine are boxed.
Really. It's your call. Go on and start this series if you want to. But don't say nobody warned you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 11-20 of 45 posts in this discussion
Posted on Apr 28, 2008 12:30:17 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 28, 2008 12:35:44 AM PDT
C. Fleming says:
I heartily agree with this review. My brother told me of this series and this author and I thought that I would give it a try. I picked up Eye of the World the first time and could not get 60 pages before I put it down. A few years later I gave it another try and I was always left with the feeling that I was waiting for the payoff that never came. The author's style is absolutely turgid, he lays out the plot in such a painfully slow manner that one feels compelled to finish more out of a sense of duty rather than enjoyment. The pacing is just too brutal. Don't get me wrong, there are good ideas, and good story elements in this novel (although many things resemble books by other, better authors), and even parts that are suspenseful, and well written, but on the whole there are too many words that get you nowhere fast and this is a huge disappointment.

Posted on Jul 11, 2008 2:19:29 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Jul 11, 2008 2:20:47 AM PDT]

Posted on Aug 10, 2008 7:42:40 PM PDT
MennaMann says:
I dig what you're sayin... but... as you stated, the first few books are some of the best I've ever read. They are enthralling and ... yes... addictive. With that being said... I can't wait to finish the last book and put this series "on the shelf".

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 25, 2008 9:37:16 AM PDT
Jacki Pulpit says:
One should not have to read an entire series twice before you understand its meaning. A good book or series will be enjoyable the FIRST time around. That's just my opinion. If people enjoy re-reading a 1000 page beast to understand its point, then so be it. To each their own.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 4, 2008 5:51:03 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 4, 2008 5:53:16 PM PST
J. Bolger says:
If you want a book that's digestable in one reading, I suggest a david eddings book. That is the sign of a cash machine writer. If Bob-Almighty had wanted to reap the cash off this he would have been writing three other side series on top of this. Instead he's thoughtfully and masterfully introduced multiple plot threads to better our understanding of the war between shadow and light. How many of you thought Tolkien's books were amazing until you realised to understand two thirds of what went on you also had to read the Silmariliian and the Hobbit as well.

RJ's middle books will always be my consistent favourites because you get to actually meet the characters alone in their head (Except Rand of course :P). If you want a plot to advance quickly, you have to sacrifice characters, plots and imagery -The very reason RJ excelled at fantasy. He's no JK Rowling, who starts and ends her childish plots in one book to harness the attention deficit crowd. If by now you still haven't realised those minutiae of the final books have immense importance, you shouldn't bother reading the final book, just read the final chapter and wonder how the hell it happened

Posted on Dec 8, 2008 10:51:20 PM PST
J. Bray says:
In other words-
If you have a low attention span or desire quick closure that requires little thinking then look no further and go back to watching T.V.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 9, 2009 10:55:01 PM PST
Ben says:
Other, better authors like who? Terry Goodkind? Newsflash. That's your cash register author right there. And his story developed in parallel to Jordan's...only about 3 years delayed (i guess that's how long it takes to dumb down a Wheel of Time book and re-write it for the ADD crowd.) The world and the characters aren't taken from other author's works. They are sometimes adapted from the great stories of our oral history, but to say that Jordan's ideas are rip-offs shows your ignorance and foolishness. The depth and the intricacy, the beauty of the pattern he has woven so far is not matched in fantasy writing by anyone other than possibly Tolkien. I've read a LOT of fantasy series', and this one is in its own league. There are single, stand-alone novels out there that can compete with Jordan's works, but no series. Not even GRR Martin, Melaine Rawn, Anne McCaffery or Terry Brooks or MZ Bradley or anyone you could name. When it's done (this year), this series will stand alone as the crowning achievement of fantasy writing for the next century. I suggest some of you move along and review some Harry Potter books.

Posted on Mar 1, 2009 11:52:59 AM PST
Joel Adamson says:
I'd like to echo some earlier comments by saying that the people I know who have read some of the series once, or read them as they were coming out all say the same thing: "The later books really suck." However, I have met some people who say "Is this your first time through the series?" or who have their books (in several versions) proudly displayed on their bookshelves and they cannot stop recommending that I keep reading. I have also found some of the reviews of the later books directly misleading. Judge for yourself.

Furthermore, this "Warning!" review is unnecessary: you don't have to keep reading if you don't want to, but you will definitely miss out if you pass up The Eye of The World for Deb's reason. Read some of the positive reviews, like mine.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 3, 2009 1:34:10 PM PST
Mike Hunt says:
This is to the original poster: while I agree with your opinion of the series OVER ALL I really feel that to judge this book by that is uncalled for and misleading. You should have just reviewed The Eye of the World as a book and in its own merits...instead you hang a WARNING sign that has nothing to do with the book!!

Let people judge for themselves what their threshold for multi-volume sagas is. Don't take it upon yourself to scare away readers simply because you are dissatisfied with the story.

Posted on Mar 14, 2009 10:17:12 AM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Jan 4, 2013 7:46:46 PM PST]

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (2,506 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1,516)
4 star:
 (462)
3 star:
 (210)
2 star:
 (145)
1 star:
 (173)
 
 
 
$7.99 $6.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: New Orleans area, LA USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 111,126