Customer Review

229 of 242 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the "K" Version!, April 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pioneer DV-3032 1080p HDMI Upscaling Multi Region Free DVD Player w/ USB Input (Electronics)
There are actually 2 different models of this Pioneer DVD Player, it's a bit confusing, but let me try and clarify...

There's the DV-220V-K (US Version) and the DV-220KV-K (European/Asia Version) aka "K" Version. Please note, the extra "K" in the second model stands for Karaoke and will come with a microphone Jack and echo effects knob in the front for optional karaoke. For whatever reason they are both listed as just the DV-220V-K on the title page, but if you double check on the product details & model number below, the region free one should indicate DV-220"K"V-K.

Here's where it gets a bit technical...

Some of the "K" versions from Europe (Region 2) were originally designed to handle 220v-240v (this is not what you want for use in the US). But most "K" Versions from Asia like Thailand, Hong Kong, Malaysia or Singapore should indicate on the back of the unit that it will handle voltages ranging from 110v-240v just like most laptop adapters do, making them more suitable for international usage. The K Versions comes standard with an European/Asia Pin type Power Cord, but the sellers should give you a U.S. Prong adapter Plug to fit into U.S. Socket Outlets, because it was not originally intended for the USA. Also note, The US version (Region 1) can only handle 110V.

Tech Bonus...

The "K" Version also has a twin wave laser pick up system,(which reduces noise and increases the units durability, since 1 laser is dedicated to playing CDs and the other laser is dedicated to playing just DVDs) and it's the only "TRUE" Region Free Player, because it has the Dual system Playback ability to handle both NTSC (USA DVVDs) and PAL (European & Asia DVDs) disc formats. The US Version can only handle NTSC, but not PAL format.

This would explain why some buyers who purchased the player and got the US Region Free version, complained that it wouldn't play some of their discs, b/c it's probably a PAL formatted disc and you need a region free that handles both NTSC& PAL, so be sure to check the seller's note to make sure you're getting the region free K Version, aka DV-220"K"V-K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 30 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 22, 2011 7:17:49 AM PDT
How do I find the K version?? Please let me know.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 30, 2011 7:03:07 AM PDT
this product review is for the "K" version.

Posted on Apr 30, 2011 7:07:42 AM PDT
This review gives the product 3 stars, but does not say why. The tech info is interesting, but also confusing & misleading because this review is for the so-called "K" version of the DV-220v-k. Just buy this product and you'll be alright. If you do a search for the DV-220v-k you will see that there are 2 different dvd players with this name. As the reviewer mentions, just check that the model number on the product page states, "Item model number: DV-220KV-K" and you will have the right one.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 30, 2011 9:16:17 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 30, 2011 9:22:04 PM PDT
Billy says:
The "K" Version is something i coined b/c of the extra K in the model number that lets you know it's the Karaoke Version that handles both NTSC & PAL formated DVDs.

The item model number for this review is DV-220"K"V-K as indicated on the page, BUT the Headline Title says it's the DV-220V-k (no extra K), causing confusion and giving Seller's a loophole to possibly ship you a US Region free version that supports NTSC but Not PAL format playback.

(eg, USA uses NTSC format, Japan uses NTSC, but Europe uses PAL format) Therefore if you receive a US region free version you'll be able to play Japanese DVDs but Not European discs b/c the US Version does not support PAL. I would strongly recommend checking the seller's note b/c some sellers notates the model number you will receive and if you look at some other reviews, it appears that some buyers did receive the US Region free version & are complaning it does not play all their international DVDs (no PAL support) , so therefore make sure you get the "K" VERSION!

ps. it's a good quality player and i would have given it a 4 stars if the remote that comes with it wasn't so bulky & dated looking, but i figure 3 stars is neutral enough and would allow more people to see the review. just trying to be helpful.

Posted on May 13, 2011 10:44:49 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Aug 8, 2011 8:52:35 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on May 13, 2011 2:23:05 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 17, 2011 8:56:15 PM PDT
Billy says:
Yes, it's HDMI, wouldn't be much of an upscaling player if it doesn't have HDMI.

In reply to an earlier post on May 25, 2011 8:57:37 PM PDT
Vortex19 says:
Thanks for the info! I checked my order before it was processed and saw that it didn't have the "K" model. I cancelled it, but I wasn't able to order the "K" model here, it only offered the US version, or another version DV-110K-K, which is probably the same thing but with the US voltage. I ended up going to another site to be sure I was getting the right model number.

In reply to an earlier post on May 25, 2011 11:35:50 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 25, 2011 11:43:37 PM PDT
Billy says:
when you add it to your cart it will still say it's the DV-220V-K (b/c the title heading is incorrect), therefore i would check the seller's notes before adding to cart, b/c some of them will tell you it's the DV-220V-k (not K version) and some of them won't state the model number (which could means it's the DV-220KV-K version). You can also click on the item after adding it to your cart and see if the photo that pulls up from that merchant shows an extra microphone jack on the front of the unit which is indicative being of the K version. hope that helps. good luck!

ps. i purchased mine from VTC Electronics fulfilled by Amazon so you can just send it back for free if it's not the right one since the model number on the center of the page under products detail does state it's the DV-220"K"V-K and if it isn't that's their fault.

In reply to an earlier post on May 27, 2011 5:55:03 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 27, 2011 6:55:28 PM PDT
Vortex19 says:
I ended up canceling the order I made offsite due to another issue with the merchant's website. So I came back here and I saw that one of the sellers (called SALES8222) listed for the V-K model had the KV-K description. I emailed that seller to clarify which version they are selling and they responded today with this, so I placed the order with them:
Hi,
This is exactly what we have in stock. Pioneer DV-220KV-K and it plays both US
and European APL and NTSC DVDs. What we have is an international version and not
US version.

Thanks,
SALES8222

In reply to an earlier post on May 28, 2011 3:15:37 AM PDT
Billy says:
glad you found the correct one. the upscaling does make a difference when using standard DVD it will make it look alot richer. enjoy! :)
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›