Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM
Customer Review

35 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'A' for effort, but decidedly lackluster, March 30, 2012
This review is from: My Week With Marilyn (Amazon Video)
First off, I tip my hat to Michelle Williams. She gave a valiant effort in trying to pull off an icon, but she only got it 50% right. What she DID nail was Marilyn's emotions: vulnerablility, insecurity, brokeness, and need to be loved. She painted a beautiful picture of wounded woman. Where she missed the mark big-time was in not nailing the charisma, sex appeal, bombshell MOVIE STAR quality that men were captivated by and women wanted to attain. Sorry, but Ms. Wiliams, as good of an actress as she is, simply lacks the glamour, punch and va-va-voom flair of an old Hollywood starlet. This was like casting Anne Hathaway to play Elizabeth Taylor - just wouldn't work. When playing someone famous, simply being a good actor won't do - you have to have at least *some* of the essence of the person being emulated. Marilyn was lost in her internal drama a lot of the time, but she knew how turn it on and sell the showgirl image for the cameras. Williams seemed to just be growing through the motions and looked painfully uncomfortable in any scene where Marilyn had to be "on". You get the sense that she's a painfully shy/quiet person and couldn't turn up the personality enough notches to be believable as a 50's movie star. This is where finding an actress who had a background in musical theater would have made a world of difference. [No one knows how to "sell it" better than a Broadway actress!].

The poor casting continued with Julia Ormond [laughably] as Vivien Leigh. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING about Ormond's looks and performance remotely resembled the icon america came to know and love as Scarlett O'Hara.

The only saving grace acting-wise is Kenneth Branaugh who nailed Sir Lawrence Oliver down to the very last crisply-accentuated syllable. Well done! Dougray Scott was pretty good as Arthur Miller, but [sadly] was not in many scenes.

Performances aside, the movie was slow, predictable, dull and felt inauthentic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 11, 2012 5:28:58 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 11, 2012 5:30:55 PM PDT
MN says:
It's amazing to have anyone play Marilyn and also get Marilyn's magic. That's just not fair. I agree with you but what do you expect. You will have to get the real Marilyn to play herself. Marilyn is the one and only and no one can be her.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 5, 2013 4:48:03 AM PST
Mac says:
Yes, that's the problem, have to be Marilyn. I'm have way through the video and find it lack-lustre for that reason. Maybe the film should have been about a talented and well-meaning actress trying to play Marilyn but realizing it can't be done well. Could still use the dairy plot but have the well-meaning actress studying film of the real Marilyn and trying to grasp the essence. "The Misfits" has always seemed to me to be the closest to the real Marilyn. So, The Week with Marilyn would take on meaning with actors trying to grasp the truth of acting, is it life or pretense? This is brought up in the movie, explore it further? Just musing, but that would be a whole different movie. I'll watch the rest of this one later this week.

Posted on May 26, 2013 7:30:39 PM PDT
Pogo says:
I think I agree with all this. Marilyn's nearly universal, enduring reputation as an iconic beauty was probably overstated for many of her fans. In better times though, she really knew how to suck it up and make the best with what she had. That is the Marilyn Monroe most of us remember -- the Movie Star. I think "My Week With Marilyn" misses this important aspect of whom I believe Marilyn was, but in fairness it only covers one week in her entire life so may not even be relevant then. In any period, the enigmatic Marilyn would be a tough charactor for anyone to portray. So much for my rambling . . .

Posted on Sep 18, 2013 3:40:45 AM PDT
Truth Seeker says:
who do you think would have played Marilyn well? which actress comes to mind? I bet there are few and far between.

Posted on Dec 1, 2013 3:06:12 PM PST
Promise says:
I agree, that Williams does the sweet, lost-child, vulnerability aspect of Marilyn beautifully but lacks the brassiness that Marilyn also possessed. Also, if you believe Arthur Miller's version of Marilyn in "After the Fall" there was a raving bitch in there too. We don't see any of that in William's sweetheart of a Marilyn.

Posted on Jun 12, 2014 3:57:26 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 12, 2014 3:58:29 AM PDT
Paul Peabody says:
Couldn't disagree more, Ms. Williams portrayal being improved by a musical theatre personage is absurd. Ms. Williams portrayal is hearbreaking beautiful and fleshed out the human being behind the "character" in such a way, that it is unlikely any actress working today could have given her such a real side and still shown her public persona the way she did. So Julia Ormond was not so good, big deal, Dougray Scott's character is a mean sow, why need to see him any more than we do ? Clearly this review is about the reviewers "vast" knowledge, and as such misses the heart and humanity of this move, as Rex Reed said, of this "perfect production" A reviewer who desperately needs to be heard.

Posted on Sep 21, 2014 11:42:14 PM PDT
Ian D. says:
Ms. Williams may have read your review and be trying to make up for what you perceive as her deficiencies: i saw her in Cabaret on Broadway last night. she's one of my celebrity crushes and she was the one i was most excited about seeing, but as it turned out, Alan Cumming and some actors in more minor roles did kind of blow her off the stage. i hope she keeps at it though. if she can realize her potential in live theater, she'll truly be a force to be reckoned with.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 22, 2014 2:24:30 AM PDT
Paul Peabody says:
I think you may be responding to the wrong review, I found no defficiencies in her Week with Marilyn ,anything but, and found her to add a warmth, charm, and frailty that was totally believable in a superbly done movie which won her a globe. So , I think, your reponse might relate to someone else's review !

Posted on Apr 4, 2015 4:59:59 PM PDT
Darren says:
I disagree with this review because the movie doesn't depict the "va-va-voom" aspects of Monroe in the first place -- it's kind of hard to have a brassy Monroe at a time in her life when she wasn't particularly brassy. During the week depicted, Monroe might have had a miscarriage, she discovered Miller's contemptuous notes about her in his diary, and she had Paula Strasberg literally sucking her life away like some sinister court vizier. Prior to all this, she had to put up with a British press that openly mocked her pretensions and aspirations to her face. And before all of that, she had quit Hollywood to try to become a legitimate actor in New York. This story isn't about the early glamor-girl, nor is it about the later, self-destructive "Happy Birthday Mr. President" trainwreck. I'm perfectly willing to settle for Michelle Williams' "50%", given that her real-life counterpart's other persona wasn't present in London on the set of "Prince and the Showgirl" in the first place.

In any case, the reviewer's wish for a sex-pot who also happens to be a very fine Broadway actor, and who therefore could conceivably 100%-convince as Monroe in all her facets, including the depressed pill-popper, is a pretty futile one. I think this is more of a case of a viewer who doesn't really care for the depressed Monroe. If you're like the reviewer, then by all means, don't bother with "My Week with Marilyn".

Sincerely,
Darren
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details