Customer Review

9 of 409 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Title poorly chosen, April 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Street-Fighting Mathematics: The Art of Educated Guessing and Opportunistic Problem Solving (Paperback)
The title implies that this book might contain remedial activities for street kids. It contains nothing of the sort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 19 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 3, 2010 3:42:58 PM PDT
C. Cressley says:
Of course it doesn't. Just because you can't take 20 seconds to read the synopsis doesn't mean you should give it a bad rating. This was your fault.

Posted on May 7, 2010 5:21:17 PM PDT
From the author: I apologize that the book was so different from what you were expecting. If it would be helpful, I'd be happy to send you a check for the purchase price and shipping, and you could mail me the copy (I often need a few on hand, I find, so it will find a use).

Posted on Jun 9, 2010 6:45:31 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 9, 2010 6:46:18 AM PDT
mtlimber says:
What, are you trying to downgrade the book's rating with a faux review? That's just rude. Post substantive comments and complaints, or delete your review.

Posted on Jun 14, 2010 11:16:23 AM PDT
B. Wagner says:
If you go to the trouble of posting such a complaint about this book, I sincerely pity the learning adventures you have missed by retaining such an attitude. If you hold this standard to all books, you must have been disappointed with many. Surprise is one of the many joys of reading. Ironically, the extremely linear and rote mindset your review reveals is exactly the mindset that the author is trying to heal. Sadly, your review amply illustrates how thick the walls get built and how difficult it is to break through them. I hope someday you re-read this book with a different attitude.

Posted on Jun 25, 2010 8:50:09 AM PDT
This comment is an injustice to the book. It doesn't review the book at all. The title of the book may be (stretching by quite a bit) perhaps a little confusing, but it has a clear subtitle. The book summary makes no misrepresentation of what it addresses. This one-start review is incorrectly skewing the overall rate for the book. I would consider it inappropriate enough to have it removed by Amazon.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 25, 2010 10:10:25 AM PDT
mtlimber says:
I reported it, and so should you. :-)

Posted on Jul 27, 2010 4:42:38 PM PDT
hgaphoto says:
Many people write book reviews without reading the actual book on Amazon.com. At least, most of them take time to read the synopsis, or other people's reviews of the book. This particular reviewer appears to have succeeded in minimizing the reading exercise to the first three (or two?) words in the title of the book, which is quite an accomplishment!

Posted on Aug 9, 2010 2:14:22 PM PDT
S. Kaphan says:
You were probably sad that "To Kill a Mockingbird" didn't contain instructions for killing mockingbirds.

Posted on Oct 31, 2010 1:17:42 AM PDT
Kaushik Basu says:
This is amazing. I think it is a complete waste of time to discuss this sort of nonsense - it would be an ignominy to even call it a review. Sanjoy Mahajan must be tolerant beyond measure to offer to buy back his book. I would probably shut the door on the face of this sort of facile statement. To the Harper Lee comment I would add that this goes to show how to not judge a book by its cover. At least judge it by its subtitle on the cover! All right, what did I start by saying? Am I discussing this nonsense still?

Posted on Nov 16, 2010 8:36:18 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 16, 2010 8:38:49 PM PST
Oscar says:
Mathematics books' authors are devious (and deceitful) people! If you don't believe me, take a look at this book.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Burlington, VT, US

Top Reviewer Ranking: 23,822,638