Customer Review

258 of 272 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lorax Review: in Rhyme, November 9, 2000
This review is from: The Lorax (Classic Seuss) (Hardcover)
12 years ago at the old age of eight, I received this book and found it quite great! My parents had read me of this and of that, of Berenstein Bears and a Cat in a Hat. This book in itself makes quite a statement, sounding nothing quite like a drawn-out old lament. The story involved something unlike you or me, a being called a Once-ler, who we never do see. He tells his story from a boarded old store, and will not answer you if you knock at his door. But for the right price, he'll tell you the tale, and here is that story, in some minor detail: While travelling across lands and seas, the old once-ler found the Truffula trees. When he chopped down one tree there was a loud thump, and the Lorax appeared right out of that stump. He warned the Once-ler of what he was for, but the Once-ler didn't listen and thought him a bore. With cutting down trees, was born a Thneed, a so-called "Fine thing that all people need." The Once-ler made many, and money to spare, but his doing caused many to sadly despair. He polluted the air, he gummed up the pond, he cut down the trees til they soon were all gone. A sad story yes, but sad is to say, such examples of Once-lers can be found today. Dr. Seuss wrote this story out of will and good faith, but unless we heed it's warning, it may be too late. -Michael Howe, 11/10/00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 15 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 1, 2011 5:30:11 PM PST
Very clever review!

Posted on Mar 1, 2012 9:45:57 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Nov 20, 2013 5:55:31 PM PST]

Posted on Mar 3, 2012 5:29:09 AM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Mar 3, 2012 4:17:04 PM PST
Tracy says:
Great job!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 3, 2012 11:22:17 PM PST
I think his review was fantastic---what a tribute to Dr. Seuss.

Posted on Mar 10, 2012 6:04:19 PM PST
Awesome job! No worries haters are gonna hate!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 11, 2012 1:32:53 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Nov 20, 2013 5:55:05 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 11, 2012 2:22:38 PM PDT
Well, when I wrote this, I had just moved out of my family home, and was starting my journey to studying animation in art college. I was full of optimism, the world looked so bright. The creativity was flowing like wine, and I just felt this would be an awesome way to write a review.

Besides, I was influenced by my Dad. During a Kindergarten assignment, our teacher wanted us to do a story where each of us met the Cat in the Hat. My Dad then took that concept, and wrote a rhyming story where the cat visited our class, named all of us by name, introduced himself to my teachers, and much more. I guess it was my little ode to his creativity that helped push me along.

Posted on Mar 16, 2012 3:34:28 PM PDT
T. Golomb says:
How clever. Best review on Amazon!

Posted on Mar 28, 2012 8:28:20 AM PDT
TMalsav says:
Great!! :) Love it!
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.8 out of 5 stars (363 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (321)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
$14.95 $8.44
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Chicago, IL

Top Reviewer Ranking: 310,005