Customer Review

600 of 765 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this what love is supposed to be?, April 6, 2009
This review is from: Twilight (Two-Disc Special Edition) (DVD)
This is one of the most frightening displays of romance I've ever seen in my life. This is NOT a love story. Edward (male protagonist)is obsessive to the point of restraining order. He watches her sleep, follows her everywhere and is only interested because this is the one persons mind he cannot read. Bella (female protagonist) is about intriguing as a candy bar wrapper (an empty one at that).

Since I've read the books (occupational hazards of a librarian) I know this only gets worse. In a world of quality young adult literature where relationships are often shown as fleeting and impermanent, this story should not have been published let alone made into a movie.

After reading/viewing anything I have to ask: what's the point? In this instance I cannot come up with anything. What is this book/movie trying to say about relationships? Because this is scary, obsessed love, not fulfilling, lasting love.

P.S. Why do recent authors think they have personal license to change vampire lore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 53 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 22, 2009 11:31:24 AM PST
J. A. Weber says:
I can't fault most of the complaints, but the constant complaints about authors taking license with vampire lore is just plain silly. Vampire myths across the world are many, rich, and varied, and no aspect of the folklore is constant across regions or beliefs. They are stories, and there is no more reason to be annoyed about changes to what you think is appropriate "vampire lore" than there is to be annoyed that vampires in Spain have different characteristics and weaknesses from those in Northern Europe.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 22, 2009 1:26:40 PM PST
W. Blackford says:
I don't think that's the point the original poster was trying to make. There is a difference between the varied views of vampires around the world and blatantly making up characteristics for your vampires (I refer to the "sparkling" skin in sunlight bit, for one).

Posted on Nov 23, 2009 11:17:23 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 23, 2009 11:17:49 PM PST
Mysten says:
Because authors have a license to do just about anything in their own books. And wouldn't it suck if they didn't? Wouldn't that be boring if we had to read the same ideas over and over again because god forbid anyone come up with new ideas? So should she have not called them vampires because they don't perfectly fit in with all the vampire lore that's already out there? Which, by the way, someone had to come up with in the first place.

Posted on Nov 26, 2009 9:55:18 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 26, 2009 9:55:46 AM PST
> ... This is NOT a love story. Edward (male protagonist) is obsessive to the point of restraining order. > He watches her sleep, follows her everywhere and is only interested because this is the one persons > mind he cannot read.

Hell, yeah! Glad you pointed that out! I noticed that blatant stalking too!
How come the girls who give this movie a 5 star review don't see that?

This "girl falls in love with stalker" theme almost replays itself in real life,
the kind of irrational insanity that makes silly girls fall for bad men, which they
then complain years from now that they are being conned into "playing head games".
Guess what, that actor and actress are actually dating in real life!
Can you believe that?!
Too much time spent together on screen isn't enough?!

Posted on Nov 26, 2009 7:08:42 PM PST
K. Johnson says:
I don't have any beefs with the original poster's views of the relationship - yeah, Edward is really stalkerish and they are both codependent as heck, but the P.S. kinda makes me roll my eyes. I mean, really? Last I heard, there weren't any rules with fiction. the beauty of fiction is that you can make any character be how you want them to be, and you can call them whatever you want. So he's a sparkling vegetarian - so what? It's one of the things that sets her story apart from any others. About all anyone needs to know is that this story is probably not for you if you're looking for traditional vampires.

Posted on Nov 28, 2009 2:18:23 AM PST
Joe says:
"Why do recent authors think they have personal license to change vampire lore?"

Because they do. And by the way, if you hated the book, why did you choose to see the movie? Librarian, my butt.

Posted on Dec 1, 2009 4:30:41 AM PST
P.S. Why do recent authors think they have personal license to change vampire lore?

Honey they do not really exist you know? All off it is fantasy made up by people at some point or other over time.
So yes anyone and I do mean anyone can make up as many weird and wonderful storylines just as they like! Only dictators like to curb the imagination! Scary thought when people on the street think they have a right to tell people what they can think,dream and write!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 10, 2009 10:42:10 PM PST
blunt says:
I agree with the review on all points, and the point of lore is there is a set path, and no it's not set in stone but it is what makes something like vampires what they are, sexual, violent, evil, prone to death by sun light, cross, garlic and such, sure you can take away some of those like holy water or sleeping in dirt, but completely messing with the lore is bad form

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 13, 2009 2:37:29 PM PST
C. Nerz says:
Have you read Anne Rice? Her vampires are not evil, some of them, like Loius, drink animal blood, after a while, Lestat gets a tan in the sun but doesn't die, he loves churches and crosses (he even wears them), and while they don't eat, garlic doesn't hurt them. Vampires are so much more than what you described. Go read more and figure it out. Fiction is meant to changed. I'd be sick of vampires if they never changed. How many stories can you write where all the vampires are evil. They have personality. They are bound to differ. They can't all be evil. The only consensus is that they are immortal and drink blood. Everything else differs from one culture to another. Oh, and Stephenie Meyer wrote the books because she had a dream. He sparkled in the dream. Makes an interesting twist I say.

Posted on Dec 14, 2009 3:09:15 AM PST
[Deleted by Amazon on Dec 27, 2011 2:02:06 PM PST]
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (2,474 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1,382)
4 star:
 (341)
3 star:
 (245)
2 star:
 (165)
1 star:
 (341)
 
 
 
$19.98 $8.27
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Chicago, IL

Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,163,352