Customer Review

An Amazon.com official commented on the review belowSee comments
564 of 675 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Prime Members BEWARE, December 14, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Amazon.com Gift Cards (Paper Gift Certificate)
I am a dedicated Amazon.com shopper, and, am almost always happy. That being said, please note the top of the page should you be an Amazon Prime member. I NEVER thought that Gift Cards from Amazon.com would be subject to additional shipping and handling... The charge to me for two cards? Over $13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

 
stem
An Amazon.com official commented on this review(What's this?)
Posted on Aug 28, 2009 1:30:58 PM PDT
Amazon gift cards are now prime eligible, allowing Prime customers to enjoy FREE two-day shipping.
As always, standard shipping is FREE for all customers.
 
 
[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 19, 2008 11:01:46 PM PST
manleyphoto says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Jan 2, 2009 5:35:51 PM PST
PD says:
Weird. I just added one to my cart and the checkout page said this:

=====================
Items: $100.00
Shipping & Handling: $0.00
Total Before Tax: $100.00
Estimated Tax:* $0.00
Order Total: $100.00
You got free shipping!
=====================

I'm not an Amazon prime member, not sure why you got hit with shipping. Are you in the USA?

Posted on Jan 2, 2009 11:55:46 PM PST
Amazon has several check points through out the purchase process to verify your sale, including, tax, shipping, etc.
Your shipping charges are excessive, but all you had to do was NOT BUY IT. NO ONE FORCED YOU to CLICK your mouse.

Posted on Jan 3, 2009 5:19:18 PM PST
i, too, bought a couple of Amazon gift cards for Christmas gifts and the recipients were thrilled. The difference was that i bought them from a gift card kiosk at a local grocery store. The store personnel activated them in front of me so there were no glitches or shipping delays/charges. I just lucked out - it never would have occurred to me to check reviews on gift cards from Amazon. I just stopped to look at the gift card display in the store and was pleasantly surprised to find Amazon cards as one of the choices. It's ironic that the whole joy of the Amazon shipping experience for me is the online ease and fast, efficient delivery and that's the very thing that caused so much frustration for so many people this holiday. Now, I'm inclined to wonder about some of their electronic systems. I subscribe to video on demand for one particular TV show that I am not able to see in real time (don't own a TiVo). It's a big $1.89 a week and one week I got an email telling me that my debit card was declined. Threw me into a panic, I talked to my bank and my account was ok. Turns out it was a computer problem with Amazon. I've never had a problem with ordering or shipping actual merchandise. In fact, shipments routinely arrive before they're scheduled, so this kind of thing is surprising. I hope they work out their problems..

Posted on Jan 3, 2009 9:37:34 PM PST
Kellie says:
I've ordered Amazon gift cards before, both actual gift cards that were mailed to me and electronic codes that were e-mailed to me. I was never charged any additional fees. I would actually e-mail them and ask why.

Posted on Jan 23, 2009 3:49:14 PM PST
Perhaps, you forgot to select free shipping?

Posted on Jan 27, 2009 10:57:10 AM PST
H. Seelke says:
I think someone is bitter they forgot to check free shipping. Besides, wouldn't you have noticted the extra charge *before* you hit buy?

Posted on Feb 11, 2009 7:50:48 AM PST
James Hite says:
Ya that's bad business. There are a few people trying to blame this person for not clicking free shipping.
1. The software Amazon is using should automatically chose free shipping on a gift card, (with the options of overnight, etc. shipping being more)
2. Even if they are made to chose whether they "want" to be charged for shipping... $13 for two cards??? Come on...

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 27, 2009 8:25:47 AM PST
S. Burton says:
Right you are, James Hite. Prime members don't have to click on "Free Shipping." It's automatic. I can understand how you could miss that if you're in a hurry and not expecting it. Just shows you always have to beware and sometimes they get ya anyway.

An Amazon.com official commented on this review   (What's this?)
Posted on Aug 28, 2009 1:30:58 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 28, 2009 1:31:23 PM PDT
Amazon gift cards are now prime eligible, allowing Prime customers to enjoy FREE two-day shipping.
As always, standard shipping is FREE for all customers.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.1 out of 5 stars (658 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (451)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (113)
 
 
 
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Tampa, Florida

Top Reviewer Ranking: 515,158