Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Valentine's Day Cards Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale
Customer Review

213 of 238 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-pumping, exhilarating emotional journey, August 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hanna [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a terrific movie. A really likeable central character, whose coming-of-age journey is paralleled by a manhunt across Europe (where she is being hunted), during which she starts to learn more about the world and comes to reject violence. But that's not to say that the action scenes aren't thrilling stuff, and really enhanced by the wonderful score from the Chemical Brothers, which fits every scene in the movie where it's used (a lot of the time there's no background music, but when there is, it really adds to it) like a glove. Superb cinematography and beautiful directorial touches add what it takes to make the movie more than a clever thriller and elevate it to the status of art.

Be warned that not all of the plot is spelled out for you like in a typical Hollywood flick, so if you're not used to paying attention to subtlety, you might feel lost in the plot. If that happens, forget the plot and you'll still enjoy the movie for all of the above reasons.

No movie, however brilliant, will be treasured unless we feel we can make an emotional connection to the characters. Fortunately, Hanna won't disappoint there. We identify with Hanna and root for her, sympathise with Eric; we feel at home with the English tourist family, we hate Marissa with childlike passion, and Isaacs is all of our dark repulsions and fears covered by the thinnest social veneer. Even the old clown reminds us of some old uncle, even for those of us who never had uncles...

Wish I could give it 7 stars out of 5, but I'll just have to settle for actually watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 21, 2011 10:43:27 AM PDT
LarsAnna says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Sep 9, 2011 7:26:38 PM PDT
Sam says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 11, 2011 6:00:56 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 11, 2011 6:04:33 PM PDT
E. Stoddard says:
@ Sam:

Why should we trust you? The comments were thoughtful by this reviewer. There are all kinds of people in this world with all types of minds. Simple thinkers rarely agree with more sophisticated, appreciative thinkers. Some see black and white while others see, not only that, but all sorts of shades of gray, as well. I tend to think this reviewer is of the latter mind set - I will trust his/her review, as I think that way, too; but I thank you for your opinion, nonetheless.

Posted on Sep 27, 2011 12:25:30 PM PDT
Excellent review, laddiebuck. You've touched concisely on what separates this movie from most other action thrillers.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 2, 2011 11:01:12 PM PDT
T. Hunt says:
Yes, leaning on a Sam with nil arguments to the contrary hardly garners my trust. Limiting your response to, "terrible" doesn't really do much.

I enjoyed the movie because Michael Bay is out of control.

And no, my response isn't doing much, either. So sorry.

Posted on Oct 20, 2011 7:48:40 AM PDT
J G says:
I will offer a rebutal. The plot is overly simplistic and in my opinion you could see the twists coming from a mile away so there really were no twists. The plot had minor flaws ( like Eric changing into a business suit while still in the forest. Why? He was a hard core agent who had miles of wilderness to trek. He would know that he would keep his winter gear and then change when he got to civilization. Just plain did not make sense) to major plot flaws ( the English family is given a central part and then dismissed after being questioned. Were they killed or released? If they were killed why wasn't it shown to give Hanna more reason to fear / hunt Marrisa? If released, why wasn't it shown that Hanna would try and rejoin them to recapture that sense of family?).

The action is fine but disjointed. While Hanna can fight a dozen well trained agents with ease she struggles in her final face to face with Marrisa who has become a high level bureaucrat. Really? You can fight field ready agents and soldiers but an older agent who was removed from the field gives you trouble?

And Hanna is a skilled survivalist. She can run through the tundra or desert with ease. But when facing Marisa, somehow Marissa easily circles a fleeing Hanna to get well in front of her?

The plot is simplistic, disjointed with abrupt starts and ends to various characters, is riddled with flaws, and in the end we are left looking at the heroine as an unbalanced person unable to relate to others willing to beat up and abandon the only father she has known and then coldly kill using the same line she used to kill a deer. She is a hunter looking at humans as prey and somehow we are supposed to relate to her or feel compassion.

I give it one star. They abandoned the English family in the plot, disconnected Hanna from the person who raised her as her Father, gave her an instant connection to a strange/weird older man living in an amusement park (whom she just met and only knew for about 15 minutes), and then gave no closure or purpose at the end.

A poor copy of the Jason Bourne series using a young girl.

Posted on Jan 2, 2012 4:35:28 PM PST
Enio says:
Great review laddiebuck. It perfectly reflects my impressions. The film may be a thriller, but at the same time it also feels like an independent movie. The central characters are indeed very likable, while the villains are a bit too stereotypical.

Unfortunately, I must disagree with J G`s remarks. Hanna couldn`t possibly know if the English family was released or not.

Posted on Jul 5, 2012 2:20:37 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 5, 2012 3:44:36 PM PDT
Star Bux says:
Very creepy movie... She's like a super-soldier, but in the beginning
of the movie, she misses the heart of the deer with her arrow, and
then shoots it with a gun... Seems cruel... Like she did not miss,
but desired to see that deer suffer... Hanna is no Merida.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 30, 2013 8:15:38 AM PST
SUPERMAN says:
It is funny how angry stupid people are at this film.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 2, 2014 9:35:58 AM PST
Why should I trust you? Who the hell are you?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: San Francisco, CA, USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 747,345