Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM
Customer Review

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there and there for their very first show at UofD, November 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Crosby-Nash: In Concert (DVD)
I never did an amazon review...I like a low-profile...'swing low, sweet chariot' thru the 21st century. However, this show hit a huge audio nerve. I count it all for my son, yes, on May 22, 2011 he called me, and left a message..."Have you ever heard of Crosby, Stills & Nash?...Dad, they are performing tonight in Stamford..." And where am I? ...in Stamford, Connecticut...it's 6:45 p.m. I call my son back...yeah, he's not interested in going, nor his friend, but he heard they are performing at the Palace, his friend's parents are going...great...it's making me feel real old...so old. I call the Palace, no, it's not Crosby, Stills & Nash...Crosby & Nash are performing, and yes, they have seats available in the balcony...way in the back...and I know the Palace...the seats way in the back of the theatre has the best acoustics, it's an awesome venue...I get in my roadster and sped to the Palace, I get at the box office exactly at 7:29 p.m, I hear David and Graham kick it off exactly at 7:30 p.m. I plunk down my visa, it's denied...I plunk my musician union credit card...it goes thru...who would have thought? (so I got my ticket way in the back in the balcony where you get nose bleeds)...and oh, David and Graham were so awesome...tight band, good vibes...Graham and David performed for nearly three hours with a 15 minute break in between. And to step back in time...I saw and heard David and Graham at their very first performance ever...together at the University of Detroit, Detroit, Michigan in the year of 1971...forty years ago. It was a long time ago. Howlin Wolf opened for them. The concert was a benefit for a voting drive, yes, David Crosby & Graham Nash perform their very first concert for a benefit drive to register young voters, and they performed at the University of Detroit...go figure...and they had Howlin Wolf open for them! As I recalled, all David and Graham had were two Acoustic Martins, and a black baby grand piano...and they both missed Stephen, ah, they would remark between songs, oh, they can't play that guitar part nor that guitar break...and how they miss Stephen, and oh, David and Graham were awesome together...so was Howlin Wolf who opened for them...and together again, David and Graham were awesome on May 22, 2011...amazing...it's something spiritual. 1971 to 2011...forty years...buy the video...you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 1, 2011 12:59:21 PM PST
Nice backstory Carl, I really enjoyed that tale!

Posted on Dec 15, 2011 6:56:05 PM PST
Goose says:
Like the Wolfman said... great back story!

I know I will always have regret if I don't go see C&N at some point before they call it quits. I missed them last time they came near my area. There's just something magical in the way they gel together, the harmonies, the quirky banter between songs that always makes for a good laugh, etc.

Lee Shore, Simple Man, Guinnevere, Cowboy Song.... so many classics! How good is "Don't Dig Here"? Wonder if that ever got any airplay...

Once again, great story!

Posted on Dec 15, 2011 7:09:43 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 15, 2011 7:20:15 PM PST
Goose says:
Hey guys... search the --Live in Amsterdam October 16, 2011-- version of "Laughing" and "Cowboy Movie" on YouTube. F'ing brilliant! Really good.

Posted on Jan 29, 2012 1:08:12 PM PST
John Roberts says:
Great review. Saw them (again) in Manchester England. Fantastic. Thank you for a really warm review.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: New York, New York United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 34,566,779