Customer Review

117 of 126 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 5: 10 Things to Know, March 25, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I just beat Resident Evil 5 for the Xbox 360, so I decided to post a review of the game. Here are ten important things you need to know:

1. Graphics - RE5's graphics are amazing, and they are some of the best you'll find on a console. They are sharp, the characters are highly detailed, and the lighting makes the environments really stand out and feel real. The cut scenes appear to ramp up the contrast and brightness more than necessary, but that's no big deal.

2. Controls - I embraced RE4's control scheme, but the same scheme today feels a bit outdated. You still cannot walk with your gun or knife ready. The developers say it is more realistic this way, but even in cut scenes Chris walks with his gun pointed forward. And now that I think about it, why can't I simply walk up and punch or kick someone? Why must I wait for them to be stunned?

3. Sound - A lot of the sounds including the music are very similar to RE4, which is a good thing. It helps make the game keep familiar. I noticed nothing about the sound to complain about, except that it often wasn't creepy enough.

4. Co-op - Some of the best fun I had with RE4 was getting together with friends and watching each other play through parts of the game. With RE5, we can now play together. Awesome! One problem with co-op is the fact you can't give weapons to your partner. That doesn't make any sense at all. Also, watch out when using an AI partner for Sheva. She sometimes wastes ammo, refuses to use her powerful weapons, heals you unnecessarily, and dashes off. Surprisingly though, she isn't bad enough to ruin the game.

5. Items - All items have been needlessly streamlined. The weapons are less complex, there are no more combinable treasures, and yellow herbs are nowhere to be found. Also, you can buy items anytime between chapters. I liked the merchant in RE4, but he's gone this time around. So who are you buying items from? Apparently, just a menu system. Also, RE5 redesigned the item management system in order to make it more realistic than RE4. I like how it no longer takes me out of the game, but sometimes it is hard to use. The fast equip feature via the D-pad is greatly appreciated, but it doesn't make up for the fact that the process of trading and stacking items can be cumbersome and illogical.

6. Horror - RE5's biggest issue is the fact it continues the series' trend of removing all aspects of "horror" from the survival horror genre. In fact, I would just call RE5 an action game with elements of adventure. There is rarely any suspense, the action is almost nonstop, and many of the potentially scary settings occur in daylight. The slogan for this game is "Fear you can't forget." It's more like "Fear you'll never notice."

7. Bosses - Simply put, the boss fights in this game are not as original or exciting as RE4's boss fights. Most are easy, unvaried, and unnoteworthy. Some of the boss fights don't even feel like fights, but mere struggles instead.

8. Puzzles - Unfortunately, RE5 offers virtually zero puzzles. There's not even the task of combining treasure. If you're ever confused about anything, Sheva will tell you what to do. The only thing remotely close to a puzzle is finding the blue BSAA emblems. Shooting them is a cool way to unlock bonus features. It makes you pay much more attention to your surroundings and get immersed in the environment.

9. Saving - I like being able to save my game at various points, and I like being able to start a brand new game, but these features are gone. RE5 keeps track of all items and money you have so that to play previous chapters, you always bring your latest gear. It almost makes it too easy. I miss the typewriters.

10. Charm - RE5 lacks a lot of the charm found in RE4. Chris is almost emotionless, whereas Leon was witty and classy. The quick time events in RE5 are overdone and predictable, whereas in RE4 they were fun and surprising. The only character with real "character" in RE5 is Irving. It seemed the whole cast of RE4 stood out.

Conclusion
Resident Evil 5 is a short, fun action game, but it lacks a lot of what made its predecessor so great. The only improvements are the graphics and the addition of multiplayer. The rest of the changes negatively impact the overall fun of the game. Still, it is a fun game, and I recommend it for any Resident Evil fan or those who are looking for a good action game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 15, 2009 2:54:52 PM PDT
Marc says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Apr 17, 2009 9:43:31 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 17, 2009 9:44:23 PM PDT
W. Harris says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 22, 2009 9:18:31 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 22, 2009 9:19:40 AM PDT
Messi10 says:
To W. Harris
So you think negative reviews ruin the video game industry? Explain how? Should we embrace every game even if it falls short because that's called being optimistic? Explain how that action can be justified in your world and being a critic can't be?

I think the reviewer had very clear points that are well reasoned. You on the other hand are flaming the reviewer with arguments that make no sense at all. The tone of the review was very informative, and yet you are claiming that he was 'whining' about flaws to readers. Explain what parts because I don't see it. You then go on to contradict your own standpoint by saying that 'people thinking about buying the game deserve to know the "unbiased truth,"' which can only mean that you consider this review to be biased, and judging from your tone you seem to believe anything less than 5 stars to be biased. Your intolerance level is ridiculous, and I can safely assume that you are the one who is actually biased if you cannot bear to see a 4 star review on this game!

And finally, why are you telling him to email game companies? Isn't this the review section for reviewers to post their opinions about a product? So why are you telling the reviewer that he can't write reviews here if he won't give 5 stars? How ridiculous are you? And why are you whining about this review if it really doesn't matter like you said? You said it's crap, and if that's true, most people have enough intelligence to distinguish between what is crap and what is not.

It seems you have too much time and too little brain and I think you should start emailing those game companies like you mentioned so people on internet don't have to bear with your unorganized stream of thoughts. I think big corporations actually pay people to read emails so you'll be contributing to the society by keeping the emails coming. (more emails more job positions)

Anyways Harris, you'll see that the general consensus is that this game falls short of the masterpiece that is its successor. You'll have to recognize this when the game of the year awards are given this year... You seem incapable of distinguishing between what is truly genius and what is moderately fun. RE4 completely changed how RE plays. Mikami Shinji, the original creator of RE, took the director position after a long absence from the development of RE games and re-invented the series. RE5 did not have Mikami Shinji, and a mediocre producer that I forget his name tried to mimic RE4, because that is the easy way to make money, but in many aspects he failed to understand why RE4 was so good. So the outcome is RE5, which has amazing graphics and production value because Capcom distributed a really large budget for this project, but a lot of levels in the game are so poorly mapped it is evident to me that the development team lacked the genius that made RE4 shine.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 26, 2009 9:17:46 PM PDT
Thank you panda, I was just about to post a similar piece against Harris to see you put the words right out of my mouth. Harris berates being biased, but his opinion that resident evil is awesome and everyone who thinks otherwise is crap is the most biased thing I have read.

I have not played RE5 and am still not sure if/when I will get it, so I think my opinion of this review and harris's response is the most unbiased of all. Harris, quit being a diehard fanboy, no game is perfect, and sugar coating everything is never going to help anyone shape their opinion about a game.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 5, 2009 1:17:56 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 5, 2009 1:18:53 AM PDT
Hold up, W. Harris. Reviews are not pitches to game designers. He is reviewing this game as a final product, which happens to be a flawed product. As such, he is doing his part by warning other potential buyers of the faults of the product. I dont understand your reasoning. Why should he be trying to improve the game? its not his job! In fact, his job IS to complain about the flaws! THAT IS THE PURPOSE OF A REVIEW!

Posted on Jul 31, 2010 11:55:14 AM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 25, 2010 6:56:59 PM PDT
T. Flynn says:
What? So you are saying that we should only give game developers positive feedback on their games? Then how would they know how to make the next game they develop better? Ill tell you. They wouldn't.

You see, it is people like Zack that make the video game industry better, not ruin it. Instead of kissing Capcom's rear like you obviously do, Zack gives fair feedback on the game. He complimented them on the graphics which is obviously a step-up, and adding multiplayer always makes a game sequel better. But in truth, resident evil 5 has a lot more things wrong with it than right. This game would have been fine if there had never been a Resident Evil 4, but there was. That gives us something to compare this game too. He gave positive points, and also the obvious negative points on this game. That makes for an unbiased review, not a biased one.

According to you, we should all dismiss anything negative about a game and just buy it, because there must be something good about it right? If you have enough money to buy every single game that comes out then good for you. But for us average people who have to watch how much we spend on entertainment, a review like this is much appreciated.

I will probably get this game eventually, because i loved Resident Evil 4. But thanks to Zack's review, I can focus on some other titles that might be a little bit better first. So, seeing that you are the biased one, I'd say you need to think about what the game industry would be like if everyone went around kissing @ss and only commented on the good parts of a game. Developers wouldn't know what to fix, and sequels would be no different than the originals.

You are an idiot, truly. :)

Posted on Oct 6, 2010 4:35:53 AM PDT
YES Zack! THANK YOU very much!!
"Nice!" to read a review AND NOT have to READ The word: "AWESOME!" 1 to 5 times!! appreciate the honesty & the breakdowns!! i.. unfortunately WILL NOT be Picking-up this title.. as i expected when i got RE4 .. "They can't do much better than this!!" ..and that's about what it sounds like.. I MEAN: "The Red dot" .."GENEIUS!" ..although The BOSS FIGHTS are Getting (to me) to be rather: "Old" ..
Time for "SOMETHING NEW" .. and this doesn't sound like it i'm afraid.. still loking forward to RE6 .. seems that about Every other one (RE title) impresses me.. yet again.
THANKS AGAIN!!
Best,

Posted on Jan 7, 2011 10:09:46 PM PST
P. Harnois says:
Yeah, Irving is the only character that I really liked. This game was good, but it's nothing compared to RE4.

Posted on Oct 7, 2011 10:22:57 PM PDT
Saint305XL says:
Dang man, you just straight killed my mood. I was going to go and buy this game tomorrow and now I feel like it is just utter trash. Even though you gave it 4 stars, you really bashed the heck out of it. The game doesn't seem worthwhile to buy now, thanks a lot.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (316 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
$14.99 $7.45
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 558,897