Customer Review

160 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Scope, September 19, 2007
This review is from: Celestron NexStar 130 SLT Computerized Telescope (Electronics)
I got my Celestron 130 SLT last month and am extremely happy with it. For the price, it's a great scope and the goto software was pretty easy to get the hang of. The sky mapping software that comes with the scope is also a great help and easy to use. A few caveats: Buy the AC power cord....otherwise you'll need new batteries every night. You'll need to reset the date/time on the goto computer every night.....it doesn't remember date/time between uses. It takes a few tries to get proficient with the three star align....it works pretty well, but you need to make sure you've setup your location and the date/time correctly. This scope isn't weighted and is very light. This causes it to shake a LOT when you touch it (i.e. when you're focusing). It takes a few seconds for it to stabilize after any adjustment. Some people weight the tripod tray to add stability. The focuser could have a finer adjustment. It takes a very steady hand to get optimal focus. The scope doesn't come with a Barlow lens, which is a necessity for this scope. You'll want to get one right away. The scope does have a 2" eyepiece adapter, which is unusual and a really nice feature on a starter scope such as this. It's worth buying a 2" eyepiece for wide views. I didn't find the NexStar PC driver software very useful (after buying the $15 cable to use it). Instead, I downloaded a trial version of the pricey NexRemote software, which allowed me to operate the scope from my laptop much more easily. These caveats are all very minor, as this is a solid scope with better optics and software than the alternatives. In short, the scope was way better than cheap toy scopes I'd used and all reviews I read said it had great optics for the price with very few problems/annoyances. I got a great view of Jupiter and its moons the first night I used it. After I got the hang of it, I started checking out Messier Objects, including the brighter galaxies and nebulae, which are easily recognizable with this scope. I'm extremely pleased with it and I'm very glad I got this scope instead of comparable competing scopes, which all seem to have serious issues per the various reviews I've read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 8, 2010 10:18:33 AM PDT
DrWuzer says:
Hi,

I just purchased this scope. I notice in your review that you mention 2" eyepieces, have you actually used a 2" eyepiece with the scope? In a dialog I had with Celestron Tech support about the X-Cel 2X Barlow (which won't work with this scope), I asked about the 2" barlow thats included with their 2" eyepiece kit and they told me the scope isn't compatible with 2" eyepieces. I told them their website clearly shows it as one of the features of this scope on their website and they thanked me for pointing out that their website was in error and said they'd fix it. Are they nuts?

In reply to an earlier post on May 9, 2010 10:52:51 AM PDT
My Celestron 130 SLT most definitely accepts 2" eyepieces. I have a Celestron E-Lux 40mm 2" eyepiece in it right now. To do so, you need to remove the 1.25" eyepiece adapter from the focuser barrel and replace it with the 2" adapter that comes with the telescope. You will note that the 130 is the only model that comes with the 2" focuser. The 114 and smaller Nexstars all have only a 1.25" focuser. Unless you bought a used 130 that someone put a smaller focuser on, you should be able to easily use 2" equipment. As to Celestron's tech support, they are well known for giving inaccurate info. Better to use an online discussion site such as CloudyNights frequented by people who actually use the scopes. I would also note that I have the full line of X-Cel eyepieces as well as the 2X barlow, all of which work fine in my 130. I would add that the Celestron manual that comes with the 130 is the same manual they ship with the 114 and smaller scopes. It does not explain anywhere how to insert the 2" adapter into the focuser. However, it is very simple to do by simply loosening the large silver finger screw knobs. It is possible that Celestron stopped shipping the 2" focuser with the 130, but their online info makes it clear that the 130 should still be shipping with the 2" focuser. Perhaps you actually have a 114 or your 130 somehow shipped with the wrong focuser. If you want, I can provide you with photos of mine showing how to use 2" hardware with it.

In reply to an earlier post on May 10, 2010 7:26:33 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 10, 2010 7:32:44 AM PDT
DrWuzer says:
Yep, I have a feeling they stopped shipping the 2" focuser with it. I definately have the 130, not the 114. I see how I can remove the 1.25" focuser, I'm going to reach out to them and see if I can get them to send me the 2" focuser based on their website still showing that its compatible with 2" ep's.....failing that, I'll see if they can sell me one. Can't cost that much right?

Sorry, just re-read your post...you mention you have the Xcel 1.25" 2x Barlow...is it this model - Celestron 93327 X-Cel Extra-low Dispersion 2 x 1.25 Barlow Lens
Because that definately doesn't work in my 130, I can't get it to focus, I wonder if they've completely changed this scope since you purchased it.

In reply to an earlier post on May 10, 2010 5:25:35 PM PDT
DrWuzer says:
Hi,

You mentioned that you can maybe send me pictures of your focuser, I'm getting nowhere with celestron support and I'm asking them to escalate my issue to a product manager. If you could email the pictures to me at: all4him@gmail.com that would be most appreciated. I've also taken some pictures with my focuser for you to take a look at they're posted here: http://www.smugmug.com/gallery/12138792_dgxkU#863168808_4jz3W

Posted on Aug 22, 2010 12:47:33 PM PDT
John Thiel says:
If there were no price difference, and you could choose either one, would you choose this model over the NexStar 4 SE? I'm just wondering if the 4SE is actually a better telescope or is this one more capable and simply priced lower because it's an older model.

Posted on Nov 19, 2010 6:39:28 AM PST
Hi, good report on this equipment and very excited to buy one, one quick question, is there any way you can actually take a picture of what you actually see on the telescope? lmorozcov@yahoo.com, I will appreciate your comment.

Have a great day,

LUIS

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 28, 2010 2:37:04 PM PST
You can either buy a digital camera mount bracket or you can buy the Celestron NexImage USB camera with processing software (see my Amazon review). I have tried both. The camera mount bracket is almost useless with this scope because of the vibration you introduce when pushing the button on the camera. Unless you have a remote shutter release, it won't work. The NexImage camera works pretty well but, as I state in my review, it is a very technical piece of equipment that requires significant computer and optics skill to master. It took me most of a weekend to get up and running to the point that I could get what I considered good results.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 9, 2010 9:38:47 PM PST
mark says:
I have the same telescope and love it. but when I bought a new laptop with windows 7 my celestron neximage ccd camera will not work. has anyone else had this problem ? The camera worked great with my other laptop , it had windows home edition. I have some decent videos taken with this telescope and neximage ccd camera at utube, just look up 196334super . Does the 2 inch focuser really make a big difference ? I have the adapter that came with my telescope but no 2 inch lens yet. if yall have any images taken with this scope please give me the info on how and where to see them . thanks , Mark Freeman.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 12, 2010 11:44:57 AM PST
I have heard pretty widely that the NexImage CCD camera still doesn't have a 64 bit driver. However, the NexImage CCD is based on a Phillips webcam and will work with other drivers. Visit http://www.astro.shoregalaxy.com/neximage_windows_7.htm for complete details.
As to the 2" EPs, I use one and enjoy it quite a bit. I think it makes a pretty big difference. To be clear, I privately emailed the previous posters who claimed their 130 didn't have a 2" focuser and verified that they DO have a 2" focuser. They just couldn't find or lost the 2" adapter bezel. All 130s still ship with the 2" focuser/adapter and I find it's well worth picking up a CHEAPER 2" EP. Start with the Celestron E-Lux 40mm 2" EP, which is about $50. For a scope of this price/power/quality, its not worth buying a high end 2" EP. Stick with the Celestron E-Lux series or similar 3 element Kellner design EP. You lose the outer 15% of the viewing area to coma, but for the nice, wide view and the eye relief, as well as the ability to scan starfields, I think it's worth it. I have since picked up the 32mm E-Lux and 2" E-Lux Barlow as well. You shouldn't need to pay more than about $60 for any of the E-Lux produces. Hope that helps. MaritimeResearch

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 12, 2010 12:02:38 PM PST
DrWuzer says:
Yes I'm one of those who didn't have a 2" adapter bezel, my scope simply didn't come with it. After numerous frustrated calls with Celstron insisting that the scope doens't come with a 2" adapter, even though its advertised as such(they told me they'd have their marketing deptartment fix it) I thought I had gotten nowhere and gave up. 3 weeks later, someone from Celestron emailed me to tell me they realized I was correct and they shipped me the adaptor.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (80 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
$499.95 $399.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Madison, WI USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 322,196