Customer Review

6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars delightful historical biographical fiction, February 10, 2008
This review is from: All For Love: The Scandalous Life and Times of Royal Mistress Mary Robinson (Paperback)
Mary Darby was born in 1758 to an affluent merchant who not long afterward abandoned his family. Mary received an education especially in the fine arts and at fifteen planned to perform on stage shortly. However, her mother persuaded her to marry Tom Robinson, the heir of a rich uncle. He proved the second disappointing male in her life; others followed as she seemed to find a lifetime of losers although she hid her disappointment inside her poetry. Ultimately Tom's wastrel ways led to Mary going on stage where the Prince of Wales saw her and made her his.

Mary Robinson's words from her poetry, essays and letters enhance this delightful historical biographical fiction. Amanda Elyot pays homage to the royal mistress while allowing the audience to understand the motivators of her life, which in turn spotlights the limited options women had during the latter half of the eighteenth century even in relatively enlightened England. Regency romance readers will appreciate The Scandalous Life and Times of Royal Mistress Mary Robinson.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 11-20 of 72 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Jul 7, 2008 2:34:23 PM PDT
Nick Brett says:
You ladies think you are funny don't you? I should have learnt my lesson when I saw the hard core right wing of the romance readers - a pit of vipers I tell you.
And our diesel has gone up again £5.92 a gall now ($11.83 to you lot). It's been a very bad day.....
Nick

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 7, 2008 3:02:56 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 7, 2008 3:15:04 PM PDT
Misfit says:
Nick, sorry to have ruined your Monday --- or is it Tuesday for you? $11.83/gal I guess we'd better stop complaining around here. Not!

All, this is getting to be fun. Sometime within the last hour of so a new review (glowing five star of course) has been posted by a one review wonder, La Rive Gauche. Now let us investigate further and look at said reviewers profile, most specifically the wedding registry, http://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/registry.html/ref=cm_pdp_profile_full_reg?ie=UTF8&type=wedding&id=2A72L1RNEH6GK.

Oh, and just in case ***cough*** something happens and the registry disappears I'll copy the most pertinent part,

"Leslie and Scott's Registry

Hello. If this is your registry, click here to sign in.
COUPLE: Leslie Sara Carroll and Scott E. Gilman"

My my my.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 7, 2008 3:24:49 PM PDT
Nick Brett says:
Misfit,
You are one impressive detective! As a reward I am going to forgive you your part in Judy's crime. She, of course, is still very guilty.
Nick

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 7, 2008 4:14:26 PM PDT
LOL!
Misfit, you're a gem!! =)
Very interesting....I speculate it's either:

1) a close friend or relative of the author, Amanda Elyot (aka Leslie Carroll) OR
2) Leslie Carroll, the author.

Either way, it's a pretty biased review.
Sure, I have no problem with the author asking his/her friends to write reviews for their books and rate them 4 or 5 stars.
But it sure would be nice not to mislead people into thinking the reviewer is unbiased.
With these types of reviews, I think it's in the author's best interest to have the reviewer state upfront in their review, "Just to let people know, I am a friend/relative of the author, but this is MY opinion of his/her book."

As I said, nothing wrong with the author getting friends or relatives to write a review, but they should state they do know the author one way or another. =P

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 7, 2008 5:08:29 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 7, 2008 5:35:11 PM PDT
Misfit says:
Nick/L and gang, for posterity in case this review disappears, I'll post the link here (with most recent comments -- we won't be able to see the comments but we'll still see the review in it's glory), http://www.amazon.com/gp/cdp/member-reviews/A2E1E0EYN8JNBY?sort_by=MostRecentComment&display=public&x=7&y=13

She's already sounded in to Nick's comment.

BTW, I know it's against Amzn guidelines for authors to post reviews of their own stuff. Please don't turn this in, this is way too much fun OK?

Posted on Jul 7, 2008 6:48:28 PM PDT
Misfit says:
HOLD THE PRESSES! There's more. Further inquiry into said author's profile (http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A33BUB6IIA71TW/ref=cm_cr_rev_detpdp) has revealed the following,

from wish list, "This list is for: Leslie Sara Carroll"

from wedding registry (sound familiar folks????), Leslie and Scott's Registry

Hello. If this is your registry, click here to sign in.
COUPLE: Leslie Sara Carroll and Scott E. Gilman - See photo of couple
WEDDING DATE: 5/19/2007
SHIPPING ADDRESS: Leslie Sara Carroll - New York, NY

Everyone else look at the two profiles and judge for your self,

http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A33BUB6IIA71TW/ref=cm_cr_rev_detpdp

http://www.amazon.com/gp/pdp/profile/A2E1E0EYN8JNBY/ref=cm_cr_dp_pdp

Posted on Jul 7, 2008 7:58:13 PM PDT
Auntie'sBoy says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 8, 2008 4:45:58 AM PDT
Mr., er, Auntie'sBoy:

Based on past experiences down here in the Harriet trenches, the most useful thing I can say to you is ... "INCOMING!!"

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 8, 2008 4:56:11 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 8, 2008 4:57:49 AM PDT
Auntie'sBoy,
You know, before you start attacking us maybe you should hop on over to Rebecca's 3 star review and read what the author had to say there, then you'll understand.
A person commented there that she didn't feel this author was a good writer.
Author responds, "Well, lets see *you* write a historical fiction book"
Others respond how could the author be rude like that, author responds back in condescending manner as if everyone else was the one that shot off the first remark when it was the author herself.
She continues to be delusional in her mindset that she is the victim and everyone else the bully.
Oh, so everyone else is the bad guy for saying readers should have the right to their opinion to say they don't like the author's book without said author coming on and telling us we can't do that?
The author continues to wallow in her "pity me, the victim" and then creates a fake profile or gets a friend/relative to write a 5 star review.

You know, I have a problem with these authors that game the Amazon review system.
Leslie Carroll isn't the first one to do it and she wont' be the last.
I can give you more examples of authors behaving badly here....Deborah MacGillivray, Victoria Laurie.
Sure, all authors that are small time hack authors so why should we care?
But I care because readers should be able to trust the reviews they read and not get hoodwinked into purchasing these author's books based on reviews that are suspect.

There are a lot more of us readers out there that are determined to make sure these authors can't get away with their sneaky tactics.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 8, 2008 8:44:20 AM PDT
J. Lesley says:
Misfit---when you read the review by La Rive Gauche did it not have the last paragraph where he acknowleges that he is the husband of the author? I did find it very interesting to note how closely his review mirrored the chastisement of another reviewers opinion. Almost word for word in some instances. Huummm!

You do notice that this book has garnered more attention in the last few days than it had received since its initial publication. This is a perfect example of why I would never publish a book (provided I had any writing talent whatsoever). Opinions will vary and criticism is not always easy to take.
Judy

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

Harriet Klausner
(#1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   

Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,285