ARRAY(0xb07832b8)
 
Customer Review

187 of 245 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delightlfully Trippy Movie, But Don't Be Enticed by the 3D Feature Alone, August 4, 2009
This review is from: Coraline (Single-Disc Edition)[Anaglyph 3D] (DVD)
My husband and I rented the dual sided version of the film a couple days ago as well as bought two pairs of the dual color 3D glasses.

The film was absolutely beautiful designed and animated. It was also delightfully balanced between trippy and creepy. I'd definitely say that if parents have young children, they should preview the film prior to showing it and use their personal judgment. The narrative has the same threads of menace that haunts original Brother's Grimm tales. The film at times can be rather disturbing. My husband and I humorously traded off with the line, "That is messed up!" several times through out the film. My only critique with the film is that the resolution falls too swiftly and maybe too neatly into place.

The reason my review is three stars is that I fail to see the reason behind packaging the DVD with a 3D version of the film. Even on a HD plasma with unimpaired vision, the dual colored glasses just did not work for me at all. I knew going in that the home television would lose the incredible effect of what dual projection in a theater could create, so I didn't have high expectations. I was merely curious if the industry had gotten better at implementing it over time.

I went in to watching the 3D version expecting to at least get a sense of scene depth similar to an old school View-Master. Unfortunately, I didn't even get that. None of the 3D effects worked for me. Even with a darkened room, my eyes would water while they constantly fought to refocus and make sense of the dual colors. I had to stop watching after about twenty minutes in, because my eyes were just exhausted. The 3D versions also dulls the color scheme. This really doesn't do the original film justice at all. It was rather shocking to see the vivid color difference switching from 3D to the 2D version.

In Conclusion: Skip the 3D gimmick and enjoy the 2D version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 25 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 7, 2009 2:10:13 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 7, 2009 2:11:32 AM PDT
Shiloh True says:
Nice review, K. Carlson! I agree with your assessment of the 3-D view. There were some scenes that were fun, and really came out into the room, but overall, it just tended to hurt my eyes. It also was a distraction, from what is, a really cool and 'trippy' story.

Posted on Aug 8, 2009 7:08:06 PM PDT
W. Warshauer says:
so you gave it a 3 because it had an EXTRA feature in it that you didn't care for? It's just an extra...

Posted on Aug 9, 2009 4:51:47 PM PDT
george says:
As you may already be aware, 3-D display requires that each eye sees something different. Usually (as you seem to know already) they do this using two projectors, with mutually perpendicular polarization. In the home this is not possible. One way I've seen it done is with shuttered glasses: the TV displays frames for each eye in succession, and the glasses ensure that each eye only sees the frames it's supposed to. The only other way to do this without a special TV is the way that this DVD does it. Therefore, you will not see better technology until they start selling TVs specifically designed for display of 3D images (many companies already have these, although press reports suggest that none of them are any good), green and red glasses are what we're stuck with. In case you're wondering, you will know that TVs are designed with 3D in mind because they will advertise this fact.

In any case, I thought it worked quite a bit better than I expected it to (better in some ways than the theater, which I think may have had some synchronization issues), but maybe that's because I was expecting less than you were. I agree with the other commenter that it seems silly to dock points because the bonus material isn't perfect. Do perfect products always get 3s from you unless they bundle it with excellent extras?

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 20, 2009 4:53:02 AM PDT
True, but the point is it's an extra that costs us extra money. And why include it if it sucks so bad? If the 3D looks like crap or doesn't work at all?

Reviewer made a good point and I appreciate sending the signal that we consumers don't appreciate this kind of thing. Of course, if they offered the bluray without it at a lower cost the complaint would be a bit less valid.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 2, 2009 8:05:42 AM PDT
Go Heat! says:
How does this feature "cost us extra money?" A regular DVD release without 3D is the same price. FAIL.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 15, 2009 11:28:02 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 15, 2009 11:29:36 AM PDT
Wayne says:
People buy a disk with the advertised features and expect a certain experience. If the disk does not give them the experience they expect, it's disappointing. The movie was shown in 3D at theaters. Many people expect the same experience at home. It's not the fault of the disk because it's technically impossible on an HDTV since a TV cannot display multiple images with different polarity. However, that will not prevent consumers from being disappointed unless they are told what to expect. A disappointed consumer has every right to give a product a low rating. Ratings are supposed to be subjective. Furthermore, the review gives valuable information that other consumers want to know. It also tells them why the stars were lower, and they can decide for themselves what to make of it.

Yes, it should be downgraded for an "extra" feature. If it were sold without 3D, users would get exactly what they expect and it should get a higher rating. However, 3D is not an "extra" feature. It's an included feature. Consumers pay for disks and get exactly the features that are on it. It's absurd to say that you are paying for the digital data in this track but not that one.

There are con artists who sell a package of something, and claim that you are paying for one part of it and the other part of it is free. That's nonsensical. You pay for a package and get whatever is inside. There's another con called "handling." All items have a shipping and handling component. If you buy a loaf of prepackaged bread at a supermarket, somebody shipped it there and somebody handled it. They could split the price into two pieces and tell you that the bread is free, and have the cashier charge you to handle it. But most consumers would never accept that. If you buy something on TV that is "absolutely free" and you just pay $5.95 shipping and handling, you are really paying $5.95 and the spokesperson doesn't understand what "absolutely" means. Whenever you buy anything, the price you pay is the total amount of money you expend, and what you pay for is whatever is included in the purchase. The exception is sales tax, since merchants collect it, not charge it, and it does not go to them.

Even Amazon's "free super saver shipping" on orders over $25 is really another way of saying "small order fee" for orders under $25. You can't split the price of something into pieces and pretend that only one piece of it is the price when the consumer pays both pieces. You can't put features on a disk and claim that some of them are free and others are not, since all are included in the price and you have no intention of selling a disk with them missing at the same price some time in the future.

You can't even claim that it's a free feature due to the price compared to 2D disks. The consumer sees a 3D disk at a bargain price and gets a 2D disk at a typical price, plus a poorly executed 3D feature. They expected a "more expensive" disk for no extra money. They expected a bargain and did not get one.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 16, 2009 4:16:42 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 16, 2009 4:18:26 PM PDT
Wayne,
BRAVO!! Well said!! I agree, 3-D is not an "extra" feature. It is the reason most people would opt to buy this 3-D disk..

Posted on Oct 24, 2009 11:55:54 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Aug 17, 2012 12:27:41 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 27, 2009 7:58:24 PM PST
Sloopydrew says:
You are entirely wrong, mp101. Coraline 3-D Blu-Ray and DVD were made to feature ONLY anaglyph 3-D. Having a HDTV with "3-D capability" (those aren't even out until NEXT YEAR) would make absolutely NO difference. The DVD/Blu-Ray release does not have the eclipse method of 3-D, nor does it have interference filter tech, linear polarization, circular polarization, etc. It has anaglyph 3-D and no 3-D specific TV (again, not yet available) or 3-D projector (available) will change the form of 3-D on the Coraline Blu-Ray or DVD.

I can't believe the ignorance of people when it comes to 3-D viewing. I've literally watched people put on Real D glasses for movies that were in 3-D at the theater, thinking it will make the movie 3-D on their televisions. Sorry if this sounds a little harsh, mp101, but you are misinformed and are misinforming others by acting like an authority on the matter. Thanks for reading.

Posted on Nov 27, 2009 9:12:00 PM PST
M. Schenkel says:
Did you buy the CORRECT glasses?! Most videos use red/blue glasses, but the Coraline 3-D effects work only with green/magenta glasses (http://www.amazon.com/Coraline-Original-knock-offs-Glasses/dp/B002HPWF18/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (763 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (482)
4 star:
 (150)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
$14.98 $12.77
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 5,233,820