Customer Review

510 of 575 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant transition from book to TV series, May 23, 2011
This review is from: Game of Thrones, Season 1 (DVD)
There's no need to rehash the plot of GRR Martin's fabulous "A Song of Ice and Fire" series; everyone remotely interested in this extraordinary piece of fantasy/adventure is familiar with its medieval story-line.

Things I liked in this HBO series...

1.) it's not often a movie-series turns out to be the perfect visual compliment to what many consider to be the gold standard for epic fantasy writing...but this does. It captures the atmosphere, the subtle edginess, those brutal, unexpected moments; it really does grasp the mood and essence of the book.

2.) in addition to presenting a riveting tale, the production gives us acting that brings the books' characters to life in realistic settings.

3.) a computer enhanced animated map is shown as a short cut scene at the start of each episode. Giving those of us familiar with the books a brief refresher and those new to the series a sense of the geography, direction and distances.

4.) a pulsating, musical score to start each episode that perfectly fits the heraldic spirit of this story.

Conclusion:
HBO has done a wonderful job making this first book (Game of Thrones), into a first rate TV series. 5 Stars.

Ray Nicholson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 39 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 23, 2011 7:42:21 PM PDT
Miz Ellen says:
Thanks for this review! I was curious. GRRM would not be easy to translate...

Posted on May 23, 2011 7:42:42 PM PDT
Miz Ellen says:
Thanks for this review! I was curious. GRRM would not be easy to translate...

In reply to an earlier post on May 24, 2011 2:48:51 AM PDT
R. Nicholson says:
Hi Ellen. Thanks for the visit.
If you liked/loved the book, then this TV series will affect you the same way.
Cheers
Ray

In reply to an earlier post on May 24, 2011 7:45:02 AM PDT
Media Man says:
Hi Ray,
I don't have HBO unfortunately but really looking forward to watching the DVD's when they're released!

In reply to an earlier post on May 24, 2011 11:15:16 AM PDT
R. Nicholson says:
Hi D.
Thanks for the visit
I think this is now available on DVD.
Great series...very well done. Think you'd enjoy this immensely
Ray

Posted on Jun 6, 2011 5:59:25 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 6, 2011 6:14:18 AM PDT
jannert says:
Flipping heck. I am SO looking forward to seeing this series, once the DVD comes out. It sounds exactly like the meaty, rich fantasy/sci fi TV that I've been missing since Battlestar Galactica pooped out, but unfortunately I live in the UK and don't get SKY, so haven't had a chance to watch it yet.

Thanks for a perfect review, by the way. It tells me all I need to know in order to decide to buy the series, without revealing 'what happens' as the story progresses. Well done, you.

I will definitely buy the UK version of the DVD as soon as it's available. I'm already on the Amazon UK waiting list...

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 6, 2011 12:22:19 PM PDT
R. Nicholson says:
Jannert
Thanks for the visit.
How many times have we gone to a movie that was made from a book we've read and come away completely disappointed...not the case here...they got it absolutely spot on. Hope you enjoy the series/books as much as I did.
Cheers,
Ray

Posted on Jun 20, 2011 9:35:11 AM PDT
aurick says:
I've watched the opening sequence almost every week. I never tire of it. The animation is in a really original style that's fascinating to watch. There are also subtleties. For example, next to everyone's names during the credits is an attractive icon. I eventually realized that for the actors in the show, these icons were the coats of arms for the house that their character belongs to. Very clever!

As for the score, the drawback to watching the credits every episode is that the song gets stuck in my head for days after. It's catchy, yet as complex as the show itself. It actually feels like two separate - yet harmonious - tunes that are being woven together. Very representative of the kind of storytelling that the series delivers, while also being evocative of the battle for dominance between the various houses. Great stuff!

To me, all this just underscores the production values on the show. If they put this much thought into the small things, it's no surprise that the show as a whole is so incredible.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 20, 2011 9:54:02 AM PDT
R. Nicholson says:
Hi aurick. Thanks for the visit.
Yes, sad it's over, just hope they continue on with the second book.
The score...who'd ever though that drums and cello (I think) would make the perfect introduction combo.
I also never fast forward through the opening...just love the animation and the music...especially that quiet tinkling sound right at the very end.
Ray

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 20, 2011 1:02:11 PM PDT
jannert says:
Interesting what Aurick said ...I said exactly the same about the HBO production of Rome. There is no other show where I always watch all the opening sequences, because they're done so well! Really creative. And, again, the music sticks in your head, in a good way. Maybe this is becoming an HBO signature style? We hope. Can hardly wait for the DVD, so I can see the show!
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (3,754 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (2,945)
4 star:
 (399)
3 star:
 (140)
2 star:
 (99)
1 star:
 (171)
 
 
 
$59.99 $34.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 812