Customer Review

416 of 434 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Garmin with just the basic features, June 24, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Garmin nuvi 1300 4.3-Inch Widescreen Portable GPS Navigator (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
If you're looking for a Garmin with basic GPS functions, you may want to consider the nüvi 1300.

It works as advertised, but is missing a lot of features found in other GPS models for a lot less cash. A traffic receiver is available from Garmin for a $118, however check out other Garmin models which have this receiver included. A speed limit sign is not available in this model, but can be found on the 1350, $50 more than this one. A USB cable which is inexpensive to buy, should have been included.

Bluetooth is another recommended feature. In the 1300 series, you have to go up to the 1370T model to get both Bluetooth and traffic receiver included--at an additional $200 over the price of the 1300!

A more sensible solution would be to go to another Garmin model like the 265WT which includes: (1) FM traffic receiver, (2) USB cable, (3) Bluetooth compatibility, and (4) Speed limit info. The 265WT is currently on Amazon for $30 LESS than the 1300 but loaded with all these features and latest mapping software.

Yes, the nüvi 1300 works as advertised, but is just not the value GPS that you can find in other models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 8, 2009 9:26:30 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 8, 2009 9:38:17 PM PDT
L. Rando says:
I just purchased the 1300T and it came with the car charging cable which already includes the traffic receiver. I also had several USB cables at home that work with this. One is for my camera and one is for my mp3 player.

Posted on Dec 1, 2009 9:13:45 AM PST
I am helping a friend set up the Nuvi1300 they just purchased and was surprised by the lack of features. I was just online comparing it to the 265WT, and stumbled across this review which confirms exactly what I was thinking. Much better features on the 265WT. I'm recommending they take back the Nuvi 1300 and get the 265WT.

Posted on Nov 30, 2010 8:21:18 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Sep 13, 2011 9:50:15 AM PDT
I'm surprised this review is the so-called "top" review on Amazon for this popular GPS unit, since it does not seem to contain a single sentence that shows this reviewer actually owns the unit and is personally familiar with how it works.

How about some information about how it actually functions, rather than info that you could easily get just off the Garmin model comparison chart? How quick does it start up and acquire a satellite, how accurate is it, how often does it give you bad or longer-than-necessary routing? How are its menus? How is its display, voice prompts, volume, etc...? How current and complete are the POI's?

Sorry, but "It works as advertised" and a brief feature comparison simply aren't enough information to make this a genuinely useful review.

[EDITED 9-13-11] Wow. Apparently out of 18 people who chose to rate this comment thus far, only a minority of them thought it was worthwhile. For those of you tempted to hit the "No" button, please explain how my request for first hand details and information about the actual use of this product somehow means my comment does NOT add to the discussion about this review. Seriously, what is wrong with saying this review lacked information about the actual use of the product - reread the review and you'll see that the reviewer says nothing whatsoever about its function, only comparing a few features like bluetooth, traffic and a darn speed limit sign.

Given that the reviewer hasn't updated his review in the 10 months since I originally wrote this comment, I suspect that he did not do so because he could not - i.e. he never even used the product and simply wrote the review after comparing Garmin's model chart for the features on its various models.

Posted on Sep 12, 2011 9:13:53 PM PDT
M. Regan says:
Apparently the author of this review likes the 265WT but omits the one big difference. You have to purchase map updates for the 265WT and the 1300LM includes lifetime updates for free. Map updates are expensive and one update will cost more than the $30 difference in purchase price. The traffic feature is more of a pain in the neck instead of being really useful unless you just like gadget apps. Get a Bluetooth model if you really want it but there are better options than having it in your GPS.

I was a 265WT user and was really satisified with it but instead of upgrading my maps I decided to just get a new GPS with the lifetime map upgrades. Check the Garmin web site for the current cost of map upgrades.

In reply to an earlier post on May 11, 2013 11:00:03 AM PDT
Johnny V says:
dvdirv's review is right on. My girlfriend has the Nuvi 1300 and I have the Nuvi 1350LT (free lifetime maps). Amazing how basic the Nuvi 1300 is and how many more features the 1350 has. Even though the 1300 gets the job done and acquires satellites fairly quickly I wouldn't waste my time with the Nuvi 1300 when there are more full feature and better performing models for less money.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 10,156