4 of 37 people found the following review helpful
Product not suitable for vegans,
This review is from: Kikkoman Instant Tofu Miso Soup (Soybean Paste Soup with Tofu) -(9 Pockets in 3 Packs) (3.15 Oz) (Misc.)
I researched some of the ingredients on this item and i found that powdered bonito is a fish derivative however the ingedients listed on the page here only says powdered bonito but on the actual package it says powdered bonito(fish).I think the people who sell this item should modify the ingredient listing on this page.
Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 20, 2007 7:34:30 PM PDT
Daniel Eltringham says:
That's like suggesting that next to beef it should say (mammal). I think most people that eat this sort of food know what bonito is.
Posted on Aug 16, 2009 12:10:55 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 18, 2009 7:08:44 PM PDT
R. Slape says:
A lot of different Miso preparations would not be suitable for vegans as it is not uncommon for bonito to be in the recipe. Amazon shouldn't have to put a little flag up on any item that isn't okay for a specific way of life. Its your responsibility to make sure that your diet/ lifestyle is vegan, kosher, halal, or whatever else.
Posted on Oct 25, 2009 9:04:21 PM PDT
I dont remember it saying it was for vegans...if you thought that it was your own fault for jumping to that conclusion.
Posted on Sep 1, 2013 12:05:10 AM PDT
A Human says:
Just because it has tofu doesn't mean it's safe for vegans or vegetarians
‹ Previous 1 Next ›