Customer Review

365 of 384 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful for PC gaming or xbox parties, June 21, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wired Controller (Video Game)
PROS:
Wired xbox360 controllers work well with windows7 right away and the driver for XP isn't hard to find.
No need to worry about relinking your controller when you go from xbox to xbox; just plug it in and you are good to go!
No need to charge or replace your batteries before you can play.
Most PC shooters made after the 360 have plug and play support for the 360 controller (in my experience). I've used mine for L4D, L4D2, and portal2 recently and I only needed to plug in the controller before launching the game for it to work.

CONS:
Cords are so 90s.
Since the two triggers aren't actually buttons a lot of older games can't map them as 'fire' buttons. This means that if you do any emulation or DOS gaming you will want to do research before buying this controller for them since you may not be able to use it in the way you hope.

Please note that if you want to use a 360 controller for PC gaming you CAN'T just use a 360 wireless controller and plug in a charge kit USB to your computer. The charge cord only provides power across USB; it doesn't communicate with the computer that way. If you want to use a 360 controller with your PC you need to buy this OR a wireless one that specifically comes with a plug for the computer.
I hope this review is helpful for any potential buyers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 17, 2011 9:33:52 AM PDT
You can use a key-mapper to remap the triggers as buttons. The problem is the games aren't using something like XInput to support the gamepad directly, it's not their fault as they're older games.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2012 5:04:32 PM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Feb 10, 2013 11:37:07 PM PST
Jeremy Jones says:
"Please note that if you want to use a 360 controller for PC gaming you CAN'T just use a 360 wireless controller and plug in a charge kit USB to your computer. The charge cord only provides power across USB; it doesn't communicate with the computer that way. If you want to use a 360 controller with your PC you need to buy this OR a wireless one that specifically comes with a plug for the computer.
I hope this review is helpful for any potential buyers."

Thank you so much for writing this. The power-only connection was what I suspected was the problem. Guess I'll have to pony over the money. You win this time, Microsoft. :)

Posted on Apr 12, 2013 6:57:48 AM PDT
"Please note that if you want to use a 360 controller for PC gaming you CAN'T just use a 360 wireless controller and plug in a charge kit USB to your computer. The charge cord only provides power across USB; it doesn't communicate with the computer that way. If you want to use a 360 controller with your PC you need to buy this OR a wireless one that specifically comes with a plug for the computer."

Thank you for clarifying this, this is the information I was looking for in all these reviews.

Posted on Aug 16, 2013 10:10:17 PM PDT
Flick75 says:
I almost bought a play and charge kit for my wireless controller, thank you for the heads up!

Posted on Sep 19, 2013 7:09:56 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 19, 2013 7:10:33 AM PDT
D. ONeal says:
Thanks for the review. I hate to ask a dumb question, but I'm new to the X-Box and its controllers.

(Is this a USB controller? Or do I need a USB connector for this to work on my PC?)

I want to be absolutely sure before I buy one. I've pieced together from reviews that this should be a USB controller, but no one has said it straight out. In the product description on this controller it doesn't say weather it is or isn't a USB controller even though I believe it is. I understand what "Plug and Play" means, but the product description is very vague and only says it's wired. Thanks
Also.. How responsive is the controller and how well is it holding up after hours of use? Thanks again.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 19, 2013 7:45:02 AM PDT
D. ONeal says:
Hello, I know this is an old post, but I am interested in this controller for my PC. You mentioned using the Xbox 360 controller with older games.. Does the Xbox 360 controller work with PC game emulators such as Project64, SNES emu's etc? Are there any problems with using this controller with any of these while playing old console games on the PC that can't be worked around? I am wanting to use this controller with my Windows XP PC. Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 19, 2013 7:48:45 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Sep 19, 2013 7:50:12 AM PDT]

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 19, 2013 7:50:23 AM PDT
The_JoE says:
If you don't ask, you won't know!

Yes, this is a USB controller. To be more specific, there's a plug on the end that can detach that ends in USB. I'm not 100% sure why it's designed like that but I think it's because if you yank on it, it will come apart before the USB plug. This means you are less likely to break or damage the USB port itself. The Xbox360 itself has 4 USB ports and this controller plugs into your PC just the same as it does to the console.

I've mostly used this on windows 7 and 'installation' was just plugging it in and waiting for drivers to install automatically. I've used it for both steam games and 360 games a lot since purchasing it and it's held up well. It's been very responsive on the computers I've used it with regardless of the computer's specs. It's currently my primary controller for the 360 which I mostly use for xfinity streaming nowadays. Over time, the top of the joysticks have worn down slightly but no more than expected. Specifically, they had a grip texture which has smoothed out after a year or so of use.

Hopefully that's helpful!

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 19, 2013 7:56:51 AM PDT
The_JoE says:
It does work with all emulators that I've tried and with windows XP SP2 and above but there are some things to be aware of:

First, you'll need to download drivers for it. http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-us/p/xbox-360-controller-for-windows#support

Second, the triggers likely won't work the way you expect them to. They are an axis rather than simple push buttons. This may be able to be worked around but it would probably involve some tweaking on an emulator-to-emulator basis.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (1,303 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (994)
4 star:
 (168)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (64)
 
 
 
$39.99 $30.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 276,967