Customer Review

552 of 559 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice buy, works just how it should!, September 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fotodiox Canon EOS Macro Extension Tube Set for Extreme Close-Ups (Camera)
At this price, why not give macro a try? Do a little research first since it's not exactly and plug and play accessory for the camera, but they really aren't tough to use and can get exactly the same result as the name brand tubes costing 10 to 20 times more. The main thing to keep in mind is that you lose autofocus as and you lose aperture control, otherwise it's just adding air space so there's not really much difference when you step up in cost. If you need to set you aperture, use the DOF trick. Just set your aperture and then press the DOF preview button. Then keep holding it down while you release the lens and it stays set. As far as focus, manual isn't as bad as you'd think for non-moving subjects.

As far as the product itself, it's pretty nice for the price. Doesn't have the finely machined feel of an expensive lens or filter, but it's not cheap junk either. The threads all turn smoothly with no resistance, and the lens and camera mounts fit tightly.

And as a final note, don't even think about trying to use this without off camera lighting. Even in daylight, the pics will likely turn out underexposed when focused in this closely unless you have some extra lighting to hold up to the subject. The on camera flash is useless when you're focused on something half an inch away from your lens as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 16 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 36 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 12, 2010 12:10:20 PM PST
Can you further explain the DOF trick? My aperture is set at 00 and I get about 1 millimeter DOF range on any lens I use and it's VERY hard to work with. Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 12, 2010 2:59:58 PM PST
elogical says:
Sure
The "DOF Preview" trick is a way to force the lens to adjust to a specific aperture. On many or most canon cameras (possibly other brands as well, but I only have canon) there's a button on the body call "DOF Preview". It's usually located on the front side of the camera near the lens mount.

The real purpose of the button is to test what your depth of field will be at a given aperture before taking a shot. When you have a lens attached to the camera, it will be all the way open to the widest aperture (F/2.8, F/4, etc) until right when you take the shot. For example, if you're about the take a picture and have the aperture at F/11, the lens stays open to F/4 or whatever its max is until right when the mirror drops so that the viewfinder is brighter and it can focus easier since its letting more light to the sensor.

The trick to force it is to set your aperture to whatever you want for macro, hold down the DOF preview button, then detach the lens while still holding it down. This way it stays closed to whatever you set. Also, when your aperture reads "00" on the camera, that isn't the real aperture, thats just what the canons say when they have a lens attached which isn't electronically connected to the camera.

There's still a few issues with using these though, so don't think tubes are the greatest things ever, but my glowing review is because it's a great deal compared to either $100+ canon tubes or compared to spending $500 for a real macro lens just to try it out. One problem is that the viewfinder will be very dark with a small aperture to the point where its hard to focus. Also, the tubes force you to focus extremely close to the end of the lens vs a real macro lens where you can be a little further away and still focus.

I was also surprised about the extremely narrow DOF when I got this as well. I knew it would be small, but didn't realize just how small. This is an issue with real macro lenses as well though, it's just a factor of focusing so close. If the different apertures still don't work well enough for you, you can try searching google for a technique called "focus stacking". It's relatively difficult and I've never done it myself, but some people have good luck with it.

Posted on Jan 18, 2011 8:40:40 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jan 18, 2011 8:57:45 AM PST]

Posted on Aug 18, 2011 7:08:56 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Aug 18, 2011 7:09:20 PM PDT]

Posted on Sep 17, 2011 9:54:46 PM PDT
J. Russell says:
Hey, thanks for further explaining the DOF trick. I've never heard of it, but I'll have to give it a try. I bought these tubes a few months ago, and I'm very happy with them. I don't even use any extra light sources like you recommend. If I need to, I'll just set my iso up higher or slower the shutter speed, and I get great results. If this link will work, here's a cicada I shot today using these tubes with a 75-200mm lens on a Rebel XS, natural lighting - http://twitpic.com/6mdqw2

Posted on Sep 30, 2011 1:59:02 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 1, 2011 12:17:02 PM PDT
Vadim T. says:
Please put more detail on how I should use this extantion tube. I tried it on my camera Canon EOS Rebel Digital 300D and everything is blurry. I dont want to blame the tube because it is a good product but i dont know if im using it properly. Thanks in advance for your help and any advice

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 23, 2011 5:48:30 PM PDT
Jeff says:
Vadim:

Everything is blurry because it is out of focus. An extension tube makes it so that you can't focus to infinity. I don't know how close you will need to get to focus, but it might be pretty close. Don't forget to manually focus the lens too - as there is no autofocus you will probably need to work at getting the focusing right. You will also need to use manual exposure too, if you aren't already.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 23, 2011 7:22:32 PM PDT
Vadim T. says:
Thanks Jeff for your help. It works as it should.

Vadim

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 26, 2011 2:44:56 PM PST
CQ914 says:
I have a similar problem, i mounted it with my 18-55mm kit lens and 50mm f1.8.... camera is Rebel T2i/550D, no matter what I do, i can't seem to focus it, is there something i am doing wrong??

Posted on Dec 15, 2011 10:47:37 AM PST
elogical says:
if you're using the 18-55mm you probably want to keep it zoomed to 55mm. You'll have to manually focus the lens. I suggest for very close up macro work like this it's easiest to first focus the lens (probably to the closes setting) and then move the camera slowly back and forth until the object comes into focus.

Start with the shortest tube, the longer a tube you use, the tougher it gets and the closer to the lens you'll be focusing.

Keep in mind you're going to have to be really really close. I mean closer than you think, like practically touching the glass of the lens. You'll also either need a tripod and long shutter speed or flash (unless you're outside in good sunlight). You'll need a lot of light for these kind of shots.

These definitely have a steep learning curve but I still think they're a good buy to play with for how cheap they are.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Minnesota

Top Reviewer Ranking: 15,362