Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves Explore Home Audio All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer girls2 girls2 girls2  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS
Customer Review

106 of 134 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars genre / mystery or christian, December 25, 2010
By 
This review is from: Invisible (Ivy Malone Mystery Series #1) (Kindle Edition)
I have nothing against christian books but they should identify themselves as having a religous slant and not be sold as your regular mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 25, 2011 10:08:40 AM PST
Hoosier Lady says:
I don't understand all the uproar. If you paid a lot of money and find it offensive, then okay. But it is a free book and all you need to do is delete it. No harm, no foul.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2011 4:07:42 PM PST
Lady Skye says:
When it skews your Kindle preferences and recommendations, it can be a pain in the butt. There's nothing wrong with Christian fiction. I would like honesty in the description, so I'm well aware of what I've chosen. The price matters not at all. If I emptied my garbage in someone's front yard I would certainly not get off with the defense of shrugging it off and saying "Hey, why are you complaining, It was free."

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 3, 2011 10:02:34 PM PDT
Thank you Lady Skye, I completely agree. I was going to get it because it sounded like an interesting read, but I didnt realize that they left out the religious descrisption.
I too dont mind those types of books, but as you stated they do skew up recommendations.
So even though its free, IT HAS NOTHING TO DO ABOUT THE MONEY-- i will not be getting it.
Thank you very much for you review!

Jessika

In reply to an earlier post on May 18, 2011 8:55:12 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 18, 2011 8:57:02 PM PDT
Thank you very much Lady Skye for the helpful review. I agree they must mention when a book is religious. And Just because a book is free doesn't mean that readers are not entitled to write their opinions.

Posted on Oct 31, 2011 10:12:49 AM PDT
C. Hall says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Nov 26, 2011 8:00:07 AM PST
I absolutely agree with the reviewer. Christian books should come with warning labels. I have mentioned this to my local library. I don't mind books with a christian theme, in fact some of my favorite books such as Susan Howatch's Church of England (Starbridge Series) are entirely christian themed. So is Rumer Goden's In This House of Brede. What I do object is the awkward and heavy handed way that some (many) christian authors make evangelizing their priority and the plot (if any) comes second. Warning labels would allow the reader to look more closely before they plunk down their money.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 16, 2012 9:47:20 PM PST
Chrystal says:
How do you figure its a lie? Because they didn't want to read it? I have nothing against romance novels either but they are not my thing. Doesn't mean I have something against them! Shesh! Defensive much?

Posted on Mar 25, 2012 2:37:23 PM PDT
J I Means says:
I would like to suggest a simple solution to the possibility that you might download a book in sub-genre that contains thoughts/beliefs that you don't like. Amazon graciously provides us with links to a brief author's bio, or even the author's web page. These are on the same page as the detail on the book. Reading these bios take less than a minute, and generally you can tell if their books will contain something on your no-no list. Simple. Less costly. Less discriminatory.

Posted on Feb 24, 2015 2:23:39 PM PST
darski says:
I agree with your principle. I am sick of buying filth because Amazon wants to hide the porn they sell. All books should have warning labels for specific interests. I loved these books because of the Christian view but I do understand how we readers want to control what goes into their eyes.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Apple Valley, CA USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 18,969,820