Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Pop Ups Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro
Customer Review

24 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stunned, October 4, 2013
By 
This review is from: David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants (Hardcover)
I am always stunned that readers still think that Gladwell's books are anything more than entertainment. I spend so much time trying to teach undergraduates critical thinking skills that are undermined by this type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 4, 2013 10:55:40 AM PDT
J. Mancini says:
I am always stunned that people who claim to have critical thinking skills think they should write a "review" for a book they obviously haven't read. The key part of any book review, for me, is what specifically you did and/or did not like about the particular book in question, therefore I can't say I find your review helpful.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 5, 2013 7:07:37 AM PDT
Jackal says:
How would you grade a student assignment consisting of one statement without a shed of evidence. At least provide three examples; shouldn't be too hard.

Posted on Oct 5, 2013 12:06:21 PM PDT
TIMOTHY says:
What book would recommend instead?

Posted on Oct 8, 2013 4:48:14 PM PDT
Aristotle says:
I am stunned that a teacher of critical thinking would consider such a sentence a critical analysis of an author that oftentimes fills auditoriums across different universities every time he holds a conference. I feel sorry for your students and hope that they can pick up a book on critical thinking that would at least arm them against ridiculous cliches and equivocation fallacies that their teacher apparently seems unaware of.

Posted on Oct 9, 2013 6:24:05 AM PDT
Thank you for this review! I am weary of the Cult of Gladwell also; it's becoming Oprah-esque in its cloying acolytes who support and parrot anything Gladwell writes. The responses to your review only reinforce my point. It all has that Apple Fan Boy / Boi energy about it.

Embarrassing.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 9, 2013 6:31:49 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 9, 2013 6:32:10 AM PDT
Jackal says:
What is embarrassing is writing two line reviews and then praise such a review.

We are no fan boys. Gladwell has a tendency to write so elegantly that his points disappear.

But please provide examples.

Posted on Oct 9, 2013 10:38:34 AM PDT
BruceK says:
One of the reasons I like Gladwell is that I often find things in his arguments or reasoning that I disagree with and have to think about how to attack or criticize his thesis. These books are wonderful for stimulating critical thinking, it is Gladwell's strength, not a weakness. There is no harm in hearing someone else's thinking process, whether you agree or disagree.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 9, 2013 10:42:07 AM PDT
BruceK says:
If no one deserves to have "fan-boys" or acolytes ... cloying or not, then no one deserves to be attacked, ridiculed or character assassinated because of what other people say about their work, positive or negative. This country has polarized to the point it is almost at war because instead of thinking people just jump to battle stations because some other person of what they say has a certain "energy about it" ... engage your brain and use what you probably already know but have shut off.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 11, 2013 6:16:08 AM PDT
J. Mancini says:
So let's see, 3 people told the reviewer that they shouldn't review a book they didn't read, with no mention of the author and no attempt to defend him. And 1 person asked for a recommendation. And, to you, that is evidence of Fan Boy/acolyte parroting?

Yes, that's embarrassing.

Posted on Oct 22, 2013 5:46:51 PM PDT
S. Atoyan says:
Reader "reader": I find it odd that an anonymous professor would display his displeasure with Gladwell in such an incompetent manner. As a professor, I believe it's your job to promote such thinking amongst your students: to take the ideas promoted in your lectures and identify current situations for which relationships can be established; this is what Gladwell does. He might be far fetched at times but he takes sociological ideals to the masses.

I applaud Gladwell for his ability to reach the masses with his ideas. He's thinking outside the box of current education: I don't know if you are doing the same.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›