Customer Review

28 of 243 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insane Kindle pricing, November 10, 2012
By 
This review is from: Iron Curtain: The Crushing of Eastern Europe, 1944-1956 (Hardcover)
Having travelled recently as a tourist in this part of the world, I was very excited to buy this book after reading a review. When I saw the outrageous Kindle price I was mightily offended. Pass on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 28 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 10, 2012 2:01:03 PM PST
Mark Twain says:
Dean L,

Really? This is your considered review of this book? An author works for decade to produce pioneering research and the best you can do is complain about the publisher's pricing?

I happen to agree, by the way, but if someone gave a film a one star review on Netflix because you disapproved of the Netflix pricing strategy, I doubt you would consider it a thoughtful film review.

Complain. But not here.

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 12:39:55 PM PST
Especially when I just got the unabridged audio version from Audible for 1 credit, for which I paid $9.79.

Posted on Nov 12, 2012 12:02:00 PM PST
S. L. Parker says:
Your stupid review offends me.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 14, 2012 5:53:52 AM PST
Abraham Leib says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Nov 19, 2012 12:37:12 PM PST
Pauline Cote says:
Reviews should be for book content, not Kindle pricing. So you got suckered into buying a Kindle, your at fault not the author.

Posted on Nov 20, 2012 5:38:16 PM PST
MikeMc says:
Hopefully you are aware the the publisher set that price not Amazon. That being said you shouldn't "punish" the author with a one star review because the publisher set the Kindle price too high.

Posted on Nov 23, 2012 12:24:42 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 26, 2012 1:16:12 PM PST
Peter says:
I had thought that the practice of giving a poor review to a book because of its Kindle price was over when the novelty of the Kindle died out. Not the first time I've been wrong. But to those of you who think that it makes sense to pan a book because you don't like the price, let me ask a question. If a book, paper or electronic, were offered at an absurdly low price, say, a buck, would you give it a five-star review (without having bothered to read it, of course)? If not, why are you giving poor reviews because the price is, in your estimation, too high? This isn't just a rhetorical question, I'd really like to hear your answer.

There are better ways to voice your opposition: (1) Give a crummy review to the Kindle because you don't like book prices (and yes, I know that it's the publisher that sets the price, but at least your venom is hitting a little closer to home), and/or (2) DON'T BUY THE BOOK. That's how market signals are usually conveyed by consumers. Why take it out on the author or, especially, on prospective readers who are looking for recommendations about books? We can make our own decisions as to how much we're willing to pay, thank you.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 25, 2012 6:07:54 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 25, 2012 6:08:45 PM PST
I must disagree with Pauline and Peter. These are product reviews, not literary book reviews. The Kindle version, its formatting, and its price are legitimate targets for criticism of the product that is "Iron Curtain." If you do not like that then don't read product reviews on Amazon. Go to a book review site instead.

I do really wish that Amazon would keep the reviews of Kindle and print versions separate, just like they should separate reviews of various forms and releases of movies so that the negative reviews of a bad DVD version don't drag down the rating of a great Blu-Ray version or vice versa.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 26, 2012 10:09:36 AM PST
L. A. Wayte says:
You say these are product reviews, not book reviews. But the product IS a book, no? So the review should ideally be about the value of the book. If the reviewer hasn't purchased and read the book, how can they comment on its value? Books are not commodities like gold or pork bellies. And why should there be different reviews for Kindle versions of a book? Unless the author changes the words for the Kindle edition, it's the same book, right? If somebody asked if you'd read a book and what you thought of it, would you reply by asking whether they meant the Kindle version or the paper version?

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 26, 2012 1:45:17 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 26, 2012 1:52:50 PM PST
Sorry @L. A. Wayte. The content of the book is only part of the product. The cover, the binding, the paper, and the price, taken together comprise the entirety of the product. And if I buy the Kindle version, the the electronic formatting is part of the product. These are thus in the minds of many legitimately subject to product review.

If someone specifically asked me what I thought of the contents of a book, I would limit my comments. I suggested a separate Kindle book review section because it is legitimate to review the formatting of the electronic version if it interferes with enjoyment of the contents. But Amazon puts them together so the formatting and price of the electronic version will affect the overall product rating.

The bottom line is that you and other "review only the words" types can whine all you like, but a lot of people will continue to consider all aspects of the product on Amazon review. People who don't like that need to stop go elsewhere for "pure" content-only reviews, because it ain't changing here. I used to think like you did, but I gave up.

You cannot win the debate. You think the words are the entirety of the product, but a lot of other people believe and always will believe that the product is much more than the words. Your failure to accept that will not stop such reviews, and Amazon will not delete them.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (213 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
$35.00 $22.79
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 24,878,742