Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports
Customer Review

159 of 164 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has Impeccable image quality but also operational quirks., March 9, 2012
By 
This review is from: Fujifilm X-Pro 1 16MP Digital Camera with APS-C X-Trans CMOS Sensor (Body Only) (Electronics)
Update 27 Sep 2012: I've to rewrite a big portion of the review because firmware 2.0 is a rather significant improvement.

The image quality on this camera is sublime. The colours are absolutely gorgeous, mesmerizing.

It has the best image quality compared to previous cameras I've used, namely Canon 7D (sold), GF1, GH2 and X100. 7D is quite good, except in high ISO, relatively speaking. X-Pro1 is significantly better in image quality than the GH2, which I use frequently for videos. I've also borrowed an Olympus OM-D E-M5 to try out and the Olympus camera is close but the X-Pro1 is still one notch better. I've read that many say that E-M5 is as good as X-Pro1, but you really need to have used both to see the difference.

I don't post-edit much with the X-Pro1 because the jpeg quality is just too good. That's just JPEG. Since I don't need to do post editing, I guess I'll be shooting just JPEGs from now. I've read many complaints regarding the RAW files and photo software being unable to process them to the best of their potential. I can't comment much since I don't shoot a lot of RAW.

After a series of firmware updates, latest being 2.0, AF speed for the three prime lens have improved. The AF speed is now more satisfactory, although still not as fast as DSLR or Micro Four Thirds. I've two tips on even fast AF. Turn Power Save Mode off to have faster OVF AF speed. Another tip is not to pre-focus and hit the shutter all the way - the camera will get the focus most of the time.

The AF speed could be a source of frustration and potential deal breaker for many. But it comes down to what type of photography you're into. This is not a sports camera, that's for sure. So it's not that suitable for shooting subjects moving faster than walking speed. It's definitely not a general purpose do-it-all camera. Depending on what you shoot, you might actually need another camera. It's also not a beginner's camera, although if you're willing to learn, you'll learn a lot. I'm learning a lot.

Speed is quite subjective. For example on the GF1 & X100, I expected them to be slow, so their speed is satisfactory. I expected X-Pro1 to have faster AF speed, so it's slightly unsatisfactory in that sense. But since I'm already used to the X100 speed, this again becomes satisfactory. When you consider the price, it becomes borderline satisfactory. It's all about expectations.

Manual focus is responsive to the turn of the focus wheel. The 3x magnified view is useful as it's large enough to see the subject clearly, but not too large as to have the subject move too much, such as when you're using a long telephoto lens. The overall focus-by-wire implementation has improved a lot, way better than X100, almost as good as Micro Four Thirds.

Handling is excellent. All the things you need to shoot are there: the aperture ring, shutter speed dial and exposure dial. It's taking photos at its simplest form, with no need to go into menus.

After using the camera since March 2012, I've had a lot of people telling me they really like the design of the camera. The design may not be as discreet as I thought. Most people are so used to seeing DSLR and P&S cameras that this rangefinder-shaped camera actually stands out as a result! I've also noticed that people are generally less guarded when being pointed with this camera than with big DSLRs.

So to buy or not?

In my opinion, if you're coming from the best Micro Four Thirds camera, you're gaining high ISO performance, colour rendition and a huge step in image quality.

If you're coming from a heavy DSLR camera, you're gaining high ISO performance and a lot of weight advantage.

This is a camera that challenges expectations, in the most literal sense. You'll either love it, or hate it. I like it very much. There are still some quirks but Fujifilm has shown themselves to being able to listen to customers and release the appropriate firmwares.

5 out of 5 stars for image quality and handling.

4 out of 5 stars for everything else.

+ Excellent build quality
+ Nice weight for body (450g) and lens
+ Discreet just-a-piece-of-black design
+ Lens have aperture rings
+ Rubber hand grip works well enough
+ Exposure dial is tighter, less prone to accidental hits
+ Buttons have nice tactile feel
+ Hybrid viewfinder (OVF and EVF) works nicely
+ Sharp 3-inch LCD
+ Shutter dial has a lock at A
+ Shutter sound is soft, blends with ambient noise
+ Impeccable image quality
+ Legendary high ISO performance
+ Amazing quality JPEG at default setting
+ Auto White Balance is almost always correct
+ AF speed is satisfactory
+ Able to focus in extreme low light, although it takes more time
+ AF accuracy seems slightly improved over X100.
+ Manual focus is responsive
+ Start up is fast
+ Menus have tabs that show everything in plain sight
+ Writes as fast as your SD card can write
+ Average to good battery life. Get an extra battery.
- OVF is smaller than X100
- Not sealed. I've dust inside my EVF (not OVF) after 1 week.
- No way to adjust diopter
- Triangle rings causes lug wear. The ring is more durable than the lug.
- 18mm lens framelines covers less than 100%. Your photos will cover more.
- Drastic parallax adjustment for 60mm lens in OVF for closeup subjects
- Battery lid feels filmsy and placement is bad
- Shutter dial lock is not necessary - Yes, I contradict myself
- Still has slight tendency to back-focus (Shooting with EVF reduces that)
- Strangely, OVF focuses slower than EVF
- No ability to set minimum shutter speed in AutoISO
- Lacking in video settings and lens aren't optimized for video.
- No manual aperture control during video recording
- No digital zoom during video mode (compared to X100)
- Moire effect is easy to create in video
- Video is only 24fps

FIRMWARE REQUEST

- Have the ability to set minimal shutter speed
- Ability to turn the arrow buttons into function buttons
- Ability to turn on depth of field preview ALL THE TIME. E.g. When I turn to f/8, the aperture should close down.

Update 24 April 2012:
Firmware 1.01 removed the noise from chattering aperture blades

Update 8 June 2012:
Firmware 1.1 makes manual focus easier. Images are sharper in OVF/LCD during manual focus zoom in mode.

Update 27 Sep 2012:
EVF no longer freezes while the lens autofocus. MF lag is almost gone now. The focus-by-wire MF has improved significantly and is now more responsive to the turn. A 3x magnification mode during MF is added to the original 10x and the magnified view is more useful now. Autofocus speed has improved for the three lens after the lens firmware. Auto ISO at 6400 has been added but there's still no ability to set minimum shutter speed. Write speed has also improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 31, 2012 8:52:31 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 26, 2012 9:37:53 AM PDT
Parka says:
Links to photos I took:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/teohyc/sets/72157629224687668/detail/
http://parkablogs.com/picture/sketchwalk-bukit-brown

Video:
Penang Trip: vimeo.com/45560650
SAM Sketchwalk: vimeo.com/48222615

Posted on Apr 3, 2012 11:14:06 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 3, 2012 11:14:35 AM PDT
KW says:
Compare it with the NEX 7 and it is no longer in a class of its own. They are both very close going by DxO tests.

Posted on Apr 3, 2012 11:19:52 AM PDT
acolyte says:
I would also be interested in a customer's (not 'online tech reviewers') comparison between the nex7 and fuji x-pro 1.
They're different systems and the only ones in their class so it'll be informative.
This system is not in a class of its own, because it's the same class as nex 7.

Posted on Apr 10, 2012 12:21:36 AM PDT
Haofeng Deng says:
come on, X-pro 1 can't compare with the GF1 & X100, ok? they are not in the same level! the price of GF1+X100 can only buy the body of X-pro 1!

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 10, 2012 2:35:56 AM PDT
Parka says:
The point of this review is also to give those who have the GF1 and X100 context in case they are thinking of buying. Those points are what they can expect.

Posted on Apr 18, 2013 4:53:13 PM PDT
Please share your thoughts in comparison to the full frame beast RX-1. How would you judge these cameras if you could afford any?

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 18, 2013 6:50:25 PM PDT
Parka says:
The X-Pro1 is just more value for money.

I've not used the Sony RX-1. Main concern would be the focusing speed, and there's no viewfinder. Those are just from what I read from reviews.

Image quality both are top notch from what I can see.

Fujifilm is coming up with the 23 f/1.4 lens soon and the DOF will not be too far off from the RX-1.

You have to know what subjects you normally shoot. The Sony lens is not wide enough for architecture and too wide for portraits. I've used the X100 and love it but the 35mm field of view is more for general purpose.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 18, 2013 7:34:25 PM PDT
Thanks for the response.

I liked the warm color in photos of the Fuji. I don't know if it's my misconception. However, I also plan to take a lot of photos without too much manual intervention -- wedding / street / out with friends. So I'm curious is Fuji meant more for Pro Shooters than RX-1? Does it take significant effort to get those nice shots?

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 18, 2013 7:48:49 PM PDT
Parka says:
I won't say the Fujifilm is more pro. But because it can change lens, you can shoot more specific subjects, like architecture, portraits.

As for lack of manual intervention, not sure what you mean. But you just have to set the menu before you head out, and there's not much need to revisit the menu during the day while shooting because of all the manual dials.

As for getting nice shots, it really is about the composition and framing. Colours are wonderful. I'm very satisfied with jpeg but you can get even better results working with the RAW files.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›