Customer Review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another page turner from Lee & Miller, March 6, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Balance Of Trade (A Liaden Universe Novel) (Hardcover)
Well, Lee & Miller have done it again. Fans of Lee & Miller don't need me to convince them to buy this book. If you were somewhat disappointed with "I Dare", you certainly won't be disappointed with "Balance of Trade." You will be introduced to a very earnest (also honorable and likable) young man, terran Jethri Gobelyn, as he is apprenticed to liaden Master Trader ven'Deelin.
The story is set when terrans & liadens have recently encountered each others: well before the time of the recent Korval novels. Prior exposure to the liaden universe is not necessary for this novel.
The major plotline revolves around Jethri's apprenticeship as he attempts to learn both his trade and liaden culture. Other elements involve his relatives and his dead father's mysterious past.
Not only is this a welcome return to the liaden universe for old fans, but Lee & Miller do a great job in getting us to know Jethri. Quoting the introduction by Lee & Miller, "When Stephe Pagel at Meisha Merlin asked, 'what are you doing next?' Jethri jumped up and said, 'Me!'"
Well, Ms. Lee & Mr. Miller, we've greatly enjoyed Jethri's adventures. He feels like a good friend, and we are very much looking forward to seeing more of him and of Clan Ixin, which was foresighted enough to see in him what you saw (and wrote). You've told an excellent tale and told it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 


Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (44 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Albuquerque, NM United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 103,110