Customer Review

62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, July 18, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soul Wisdom: Practical Soul Treasures to Transform Your Life (Soul Power) (Paperback)
I happened upon this book in the new release section here on Amazon, and sucker that I sometimes am, thought "wow, look at all the 5 star reviews!!" I was amazed that out of 130+ reviews, all were 5 stars, with the exception of 2 or 3. I browsed to see what the table of contents held and decided to bite. My hopes were for something more along the lines or caliber of the Orin & Daben materials, with an Eastern influence. Got my copy a few days ago, and sat for well over an hour reading, and within the first 2 minutes, I began to get this not so uplifting kind of hunch that perhaps the book I was reading was not the same book that got all the 5 star reviews. For one thing the fundamental principles are basic, yet very repetitiously stated, and I found it became very boring in no time. Think: 20 or possibly 30 pages along the metaphorical lines of "if A + B = C, then C = B + A..over and over and over again". THat's just the early portion of the book, so can only guess what the later part contains, honestly. The feeling though was that he was trying to fill the pages to make it appear that there was more info available to the reader than in all actuality there is.

Well, I gave it another whirl earlier today, and made my final decision that this book is not what I had wanted or hoped for.

Here's the rub: if interested, go to each of the reviews here for this book and click on each individual's "see all my reviews" tab for referencing what other materials these people have reviewed, etc. I won't go on any further except to say I leave it up to each of you to make your own conclusions given a very odd yet obvious pattern as far as the ridiculously large majority of reviewers choices in only reviewing the Dr Zhi material(s)and nothing else. Period.

Perhaps there are some valuable things that Dr Zhi truly has shared in this book, but I don't feel there is anything here that warrants purchasing or actually putting into practice on a daily basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 25, 2008 8:55:00 PM PDT
Jean Logan says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Oct 31, 2008 7:09:13 AM PDT
Sarah says:
I don't appreciate all the fake reviews. It must not be that good if someone feels the need to lie about it.

Posted on Nov 20, 2008 11:02:20 AM PST
Thank the gods! I thought it was just me! I tried to read this twice and came to the same conclusion. The same info, over and over and over.
MEF

Posted on Jan 18, 2009 2:05:14 PM PST
bukhtan says:
I noticed the same thing about the reviews for Sha's stuff (not just this one) that the reviewer noticed. Always good to see what other products a reviewer has reviewed before deciding whether their statements should be take seriously or not. An unusually large proportion of the reviews for "Sha's" products are from obvious shills.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 10, 2009 9:59:26 PM PST
Anonymous says:
do an internet search on "dr sha book campaign" for the full story

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 8, 2009 12:52:45 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Mar 8, 2009 12:55:10 PM PDT]

Posted on Nov 20, 2009 8:56:47 AM PST
H. hamel says:
Thanks for your review. I felt the exact same way. I kept saying to myself - how in the world did I fall for buying this hogwash? Acts like this ruin the author's credibility.

Posted on Apr 24, 2010 3:18:00 PM PDT
Dorothy Rose says:
thanks for the heads up...would have never thought to research the credibility of the reviewer..but you are correct, there is something fishy in Denmark.

Posted on Nov 28, 2010 5:44:24 PM PST
Coregon says:
Thank you very much for saving me the purchase on Dr. Sha's books. I indeed looked up the customer reviews for all his 5 star ratings. They all sound the same, and they ONLY review Dr. Sha's books. One customer claimed a medical healing by Dr. Sha, but the Customer name was only a series of letters and numbers. Also this customer claimed to have read ALL of Dr. Sha's books and watched his videos in less than a month's time and applied them all to his life.

I find this hard to believe that this author would endorse false reviews to sell books. I'm glad we have customers such as you to bring this "to the light". Thank you.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 1, 2013 11:58:08 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 1, 2013 11:58:22 AM PST
jetstream says:
Before a book is due to be published, Sha gets his followers to agree to write rave reviews on the day of publication in exchange for receiving "downloads" for various "healings" or other "gifts." (In truth, these downloads have no real healing or spiritual value - in "normal" situations, he charges hundreds to thousands of dollars for them. Through mind control, followers are made to feel they would be honored to receive the free downloads, for if they don't receive them at all, their spiritual journey will be hindered.) Take a look at his other book reviews and you will see the same pattern. A book release is timed usually to coincide with one of his retreats. At the retreat, besides charging exorbitant fees for useless downloads, in exchange for some of the highest priced downloads he gets his followers to buy large numbers of the book to primarily give away to others. In this way, Sha manipulates the best seller list to try to convince book buyers that he's on the level. It's dishonest, to say the least - he is lying to his followers as well as the public. In a very crafty and methodical way, he coerces his followers, who are well-meaning people who just want healing and the promise of "enlightenment", and offers nothing of substance to them while taking in millions of dollars from them each year. Aside from his inner circle of totally obedient "top teachers," followers will either continue to follow until they run out of money (usually their life savings), at which time they (1) can give Sha their complete devotion for which he will grant them special status and cheap or free downloads, or (2) they hang on broke and in debt, hoping for a healing that never happens, or (3) they finally get smart and quit altogether when they realize that all along they've been swindled. Belief is a very powerful tool. Those who say they heal from his methods are actually doing it through their own efforts, after all, you do have the power to heal yourself (one of the few true statements Sha has ever made). I say to those who are still followers, wake up and smell the coffee. Don't be afraid to leave Sha, even though you've invested so much money and time. You'll be the better for it. Although he may say he's powerful and try to scare you into staying (for fear is a great motivator), he has no power over you - only if you believe it.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Portsmouth, RI

Top Reviewer Ranking: 189,940