Customer Review

252 of 279 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Visit the Seagate forums before purchasing this drive, December 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seagate Momentus XT 500 GB 2.5 Inch Solid State Hybrid Drive ST95005620AS (Personal Computers)
If you are considering this drive based on reviews from professional reviewers, save yourself a lot of time, money and frustration by avoiding the Momentus XT drive.

This drive sounded just like what I was looking for, near SSD performance at a reasonable price. After installing the drive in my late 2008 MacBook Pro, it seemed a bit quicker and boot up time was noticeably faster. Unfortunately, a few days passed and the system started to hang for 5-10 seconds every 5 minutes or so. The system hangs then became longer and more frequent rendering the machine completely useless. A visit to the Seagate user forum quickly revealed that this problem is well known and very common.

I removed the Seagate Momentus XT drive and put the original Mac drive back in and all of the problems went away.

The drive was purchased and originally installed in October of 2010. After giving up on the drive and not returning it in time I went back to the Seagate site in December of 2010. To my pleasant surprise, Seagate had just released a firmware update to fix the problems. After installing the update, I installed the operating system from scratch. The system ran better than ever... I really thought this was a great drive. Then, the same problems came back, with a vengeance! The lock ups started after 4 days of use. This time there wasn't much of graceful decline. The system started to lock up as before and within 15 minutes, it was unusable. Another visit to the Seagate forums and I discovered others were experiencing the same issue.

While I like the premise of this drive, I would not purchase or recommend it.

Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 8 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 45 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 30, 2010 8:22:29 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Oct 2, 2011 8:34:42 AM PDT
Try the SD24 firmware update that came out in early December. I installed this FW immediately after I installed the drive in my late 2008 MacBook Pro and haven't had any problems (yet).

UPDATE: Had to sell my hard drive. Like others, it became unusable and degraded once having the SD26 firmware update installed. My plan now is to put an SSD in place of my optical drive and place the system, library, and applications folder on a real SSD. I wish this would have worked out, but some things aren't mention to be. with any luck, Apple will make their own Hybrid SSD option available.

Posted on Jan 16, 2011 12:16:09 PM PST
iceblink says:
The SD24 firmware has put a halt to my MacBook Pro drive's start/stop problems, but the same cannot be said for all owners of this drive (PC users seem to report less success than Mac users, oddly). So, check the Seagate forums for details of success or failure in 2011. Perhaps Seagate will need another firmware release, or a new version of the Momentus. For now, probably best to stay with a conventional 7200 rpm drive.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 24, 2011 4:19:26 PM PST
M. Tidrick says:
How has the battery life been effected on your Mac? Not necessarily a firmware question, but a overall swapping the OEM drive with this one...

Posted on Feb 17, 2011 6:57:45 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 17, 2011 6:59:35 AM PST
Kat B. says:
Same problem. Bought mine in October and it ran great for about a month on my 2008 MBP then I'd start locking up when I was running my email program (losing stuff not on my IMAP server). I've been struggling thinking it was the computer itself (c'mon: release the new macbooks already!). Guess it's back to the old drive for me, too.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 3, 2011 3:13:23 PM PST
john john says:
My battery life seems the same as the WD 200 gb 7200 rpm I had before. Some with newer Macbook pros are complaining that they are getting half the battery life.

Posted on Mar 30, 2011 7:10:45 PM PDT
Sorry about that...Apple is extremely proprietory...you'll notice most Mac users have the same issues....stick w/ Apple..! PC users love this drive..that's why out of 152 reviews, 57% gave it 5 stars...( they can't possibly all be professional..! Then 14% .....4 stars...that's 71% which is quite favorable.
17% gave it 1 star.....that, unfortunately is an Apple issue. I run into the same frustration w/ Microsoft
all the time w/ Windows.....they always want to install their stuff on our computers....example..We always get notifications of important updates....half the time it's for a product called Silverlight which only 20% users even care...most use Adobe Flash...it's all a racket to make the Mr Bigs even Fatter.
Peace ON..

Posted on Jun 1, 2011 12:43:21 PM PDT
This lockup issue has been fixed with a firmware update.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 9, 2011 12:25:34 PM PDT
dhanson865 says:
Users are still reporting issues with SD25 and SD26 firmware. I wouldn't say all issues are fixed. I'd say one issue was improved.

Posted on Aug 30, 2011 3:38:47 PM PDT
Here is the official Seagate Momentus XT SD26 firmware update. SD26 is the latest version of the drive's firmware as of the end of August, 2011. If you search around, you will easily see that new Momentus XT drives are shipping with this version of the firmware, but Seagate isn't making it easy to attain this firmware
I talked with Joni Clark of Seagate, and the reason why the SD26 firmware isn't easily available on their website is just due to 'business politics', keeping OEMs happy.

Click on "Regular Download", the blue button, then click on the "Click here to start download from sendspace" hyperlink
Windows version (easiest):
http://www.sendspace.com/file/mhlkbf

Bootable iso version:
http://www.sendspace.com/file/rifiz5

Posted on Aug 30, 2011 3:42:17 PM PDT
@John, those that claim half the battery life don't have a clue.
laptop hard drive simply don't take that much power. The hard drive would have to be literally burning hot/melting before it would effect the battery that much. Laptop hard drives don't take more than ~3.5 watts of power at the most, and usually they stay below 1.5 watts during most activities. It simply won't effect a 50 watt-hour or larger battery much. The momentus XT has been reviewed and was not a power hog.

Perhaps those users that claimed half the battery life were just going by the estimated time remaining algorithm, or they were running a computationally intensive process when testing and didn't know.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,671,548