Customer Review

65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS TOUGH AS IT LOOKS, June 25, 2008
This review is from: Dramm 12703 9-Pattern Revolver Spray Nozzle, Yellow (Lawn & Patio)
The interworkings of this sprayer are made of inexpensive plastic parts, whereas the outside is made of durable metal. Eventually, this sprayer will break because of the inner plastic parts. It will still work with limited usefullness but will suffer from leakage, diminished water flow or inablilty to turn off, etc. I purchased the nozzle about 4 years ago at a garden center, and have found all of the water spray patterns easy to use, and have enjoyed the bright yellow color (although it has faded over time). Be careful not to drop the nozzle, and protect it from the sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 17, 2011 8:18:46 AM PDT
ThatGuy says:
agree. my broke in less than a year.

Posted on May 24, 2011 8:32:13 PM PDT
This is my exact experience with the nozzle as well. Bummer because it was great at first!

Posted on Apr 29, 2012 6:38:34 AM PDT
Vlad says:
I have two of these and both suffered the "can't shut off" problem mentioned above. This makes the nozzle essentially useless unless you don't mind just wasting a lot of water and having it spray all over the place. Does anyone know if it is an internal washer that wears, or is it build up of salts that prevents the valve from closing all the way. I am reluctant to force the plastic parts inside apart and they don't seem to unscrew - so another question is how to get it apart to find out?
Thanks for any advice.

In reply to an earlier post on May 6, 2012 7:46:57 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 6, 2012 7:47:55 PM PDT
A music fan says:
I just took apart my girlfriend's nozzle. The big white nylon inner piece (held by two screws) is a very tight press fit, but can be removed intact if you're lucky and apply the right amount of twisting/pulling motion. Inside you will likely find the return spring assembly rusted/corroded/broken, which in our case is the root problem. Dramm's website isn't very helpfull for support, I would be happy to get the spring assembly instead of having to do the pack/ship/return dance with them. Maybe I should have purchased two, one use while the other is in the "shop"?

In reply to an earlier post on May 22, 2012 4:59:24 PM PDT
I have a watering wand from the same company, after only one year of use, the lever does not work and water came out constantly. I checked their web site and it says life time warranty. So I emailed them, their service was excellent. I was asked to email them a couple of photos of my watering wand, and they sent me a new one in a week. Couldn't ask for better service than that. I was very impressed with the customer service, let's hope the product will impress me too!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 24, 2013 10:46:19 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 24, 2013 10:57:17 AM PDT
xgrep says:
We have at least three of these and all suffered the fate (due to careless dropping on concrete) of the little clip that holds it open falling out and disappearing. We haven't had one survive long enough to fail in any of the ways mentioned here.

But, as I was considering ordering some more, I found these reviews. I can't describe how frustrating it's become to see every single thing that I want to buy loaded with one-star reviews saying "good when it works, but mine broke after xxx". I understand that a certain percentage of any product is going to fail after too short a time, but it's gotten so bad that I've basically stopped buying anything and now just waste my time repairing everything that breaks.

I'm disgusted with the way companies have chosen to "stay competitive" by reducing product quality below all reasonable standards. I would gladly pay more for a product that lasted the way they used to, but you can't get much better no matter how much you pay. And I know this, because I bought two "Watering Gun - 5 Pattern" on Amazon a few years ago for $36 each (they're now $59), and both eventually failed due to hard water (nothing else I own has done that). Just disgusted.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 18, 2013 10:13:19 PM PDT
JJ says:
Amen, brother! I know what you mean. I just finished reading a book about how our clothing has now become "disposable" too. One of the problems is that many people DON'T want to pay more money for products. And fixing things/repairing and sewing clothing/taking good care of your things seems to be a thing of the past.
I'm trying to find a nozzle that works. Why is this so hard?!!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (314 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
$17.99 $13.03
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 19,453,425