Customer Review

259 of 269 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm so glad I didn't buy a more expensive set!, April 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Energy 5.1 Take Classic Home Theater System (Set of Six, Black) (Electronics)
Paired with inexpensive, high-quality Monoprice 16 gauge speaker wires, these speakers provide amazing sound at a price that can't be beat.

I recently installed an entirely new media center consisting of the Samsung LN46B650 LCD TV, an Onkyo TX-SR606 AV Receiver, these speakers (with Monoprice 16 gauge speaker wires), these inexpensive speaker mounts, HDMI cables that cost less than a dollar each, and a PS3. The sound is amazing! (August 2012 update: These are STILL my primary speakers, I still LOVE them, and I now use a Sony STRDN1030 Receiver with WiFi and Bluetooth. Sept 2014 update: 5.5 years later, they are still my primary speakers, and I still love them.)

I am so glad I didn't buy more expensive speakers than these, because these sound awesome. I was a little hesitant at first because I had never heard of the Energy brand, but after reading the reviews here and on CNET, I gave it a shot and I'm so glad that I did!

Crisp sound, powerful bass... I couldn't ask for anything more. The only complaint I have about these speakers is that the positioning, size, and angle of the 5-way speaker wire connections on the back makes it difficult to use regular sized banana plugs. But I didn't even deduct a star for that because the sound was excellent when I just twisted the wire ends and inserted them bare.

Regular TV sounds awesome. Movies sound awesome. PS3 games like Rock Band sound awesome. Music streamed from my PC to my PS3 sounds awesome.

I recommend these speakers to everyone!

Additional specs you may find useful:
- Satellite speakers weigh 2.9 lbs. each, center speaker weighs 3.2 lbs.
- Speakers are all magnetically shielded
- Recommended crossover frequency on receivers is 100Hz-120Hz. Satellite speakers have frequency response of 115Hz-20kHz, and center speaker 110Hz-20kHz
- Speakers rated at 8 ohms, 100 watts
- Speakers have 1/4"-20 TPI threaded inserts AND old school keyholes for mounting
- Tweeters in all speakers are 3/4 inch Hyperbolic aluminum-dome
- Woofers in all speakers are 3 inch poly-titanium
- Crossover points are 2.9kHz, efficiency room rated 89dB
- Subwoofer has separate volume level, low-pass filter 40Hz-150Hz @ 18dB/octive, Phase setting 0 degrees to 180 degrees, and a power mode switch for ON/OFF/Auto-Off
- Subwoofer is 200 watts with an 8" MPP Cone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 16, 2009 5:43:34 PM PDT
C says:
How high are you able to turn up the db without hearing crackling during explosion scenes in movies?
What do you have the LFE set at? Sub or both.

Posted on Jun 16, 2009 5:44:34 PM PDT
C says:
How high are you able to turn up the db without hearing crackling during explosion scenes in movies?
What do you have the LFE set at? Sub or both.

Posted on Jun 7, 2013 6:29:15 AM PDT
PR-Man says:
How is it possible that you're able to match the SONY receiver that puts out 145W per channel with the Energy speakers that take 100W maximum? Is the 100W only a recommendation and can be ignored? I'd like to match my Denon 1613 (120W per) with the Energy speakers, but was concerned about the extra wattage.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 7, 2013 7:56:09 AM PDT
Juniorverse1 says:
Hi. I didn't even think about it being a problem actually... it didn't cross my mind at the time. I didn't end up having any problems with it, thankfully!

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 8, 2013 12:23:24 PM PDT
PR-Man says:
Ok, thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 25, 2014 9:13:21 PM PDT
Turner Tunes says:
Amps are usually measured at a higher range 1Khz with pink noise for maximum, bloated numbers. When given real world dynamics, they don't put out as much power. Also, speakers rarely break from too much power. Its usually clipping from a amp that can't put out a clean signal that breaks speakers. I have a 300 watt pro amp driving speakers that were rated at 150 watts RMS. I guess technically the crossover network would be he weak link, but my ears will fry before I actually break anything. Its been 5 plus years with this set up. Nothing is broken.

Posted on Sep 26, 2014 7:35:32 AM PDT
Juniorverse1 says:
Over 5 years with this set for me too and I still love them!
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.6 out of 5 stars (768 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (598)
4 star:
 (111)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
$599.00 $398.00
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,019