Customer Review

477 of 491 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Runs laps around the Flip Ultra, May 29, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Creative Labs Vado Pocket Video Camcorder (Silver) OLD MODEL (Electronics)
Length:: 2:25 Mins

Creative Labs Vado Pocket Video Camcorder (Silver)
I did a comparison of the Vado vs. the Flip Ultra, and I'd say the Vado beats the Flip in every way, except the mic. The mic recorded lower for me on the Vado than the Flip when I tested the two of them at the same distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 4, 2008 10:43:33 PM PDT
Holy Smoke says:
I thought the color balance on the Flip was much better than the Vado, which bleached out color and was darker.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 7, 2008 7:16:48 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Jun 7, 2008 7:18:04 AM PDT]

Posted on Jun 7, 2008 10:16:40 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 7, 2008 10:17:06 AM PDT
Ann Stark says:
Thanks for doing the comparison! I like the color of the image on the flip much better. I'm going for that one. Plus I like the color options on the flip. I got the orange one.

Posted on Jun 17, 2008 9:42:03 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 17, 2008 9:42:57 PM PDT
C. Kim says:
thanks for the comparison. Picture quality wise, are they the same? the you tube screen seems a little too small to judge.. out of curiosity, why did you give this rating a 4 and the flip a 5?

Posted on Jun 17, 2008 9:43:08 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 17, 2008 9:44:07 PM PDT
deliot says:
I very much appreciate your effort on the review, however, I think the video comparison has a couple of flaws. (1) The skin tones on the Flip video look better, something you didn't notice/mention. (2) It's obvious that the flip video was shot at an odd angle and/or was distorted in "post". I think for a fair coparison, the two cameras should have been as close as possible... no more than an inch or two apart.

Posted on Jun 23, 2008 11:18:26 PM PDT
Mark says:
Hi Shawn,

thanks for a great review.

Just curious, when you did the side by side of the Vado and Flip Ultra, which one did you use for the audio track? I can see the differences in the video quality, but since we only hear one of them on audio I'm wondering if you used the Flip's audio there (since you mentioned it was better in your review).

Thanks for the review and the information.

Posted on Jul 20, 2008 11:04:50 AM PDT
rob says:
Interesting stuff. I agree with most commenters that the skin tone on the Flip looks better, although I very much doubt that anyone would criticize the Vado's skintones outside of the context of an A/B comparison. More troubling to me is that the two cameras are not very well in sync with one another at all, leading me to wonder which of the two cameras is having a big problem with dropped frames-- with no reference point it's impossible to tell and it would be good to have some further commentary from you on this since you have access to the source video.

Posted on Aug 9, 2008 2:35:37 PM PDT
Howard Sheen says:
yah each has different styles but the sound quality are similar and the color picture quality of the flip is kinda cool but vados picture is not too bad ...

Posted on Nov 30, 2008 3:21:34 PM PST
OneTreeMore says:
Thank you for the comparison I will buy the Vado due to its smaller size.

Posted on Dec 21, 2008 7:48:22 AM PST
Thanks for posting the side-by-side review. The skin tones do look enhanced on the Flip, and there is some funny narrowing on the Flip image. But $60 for the Vado today put me over the top.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.0 out of 5 stars (146 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
Used & New from: $28.45
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Austin, TX

Top Reviewer Ranking: 173,517