Customer Review

719 of 880 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rip OFF, April 23, 2012
This review is from: Fifty Shades Trilogy Bundle: Fifty Shades of Grey; Fifty Shades Darker; Fifty Shades Freed (Kindle Edition)
on several occassions i have chosen to order the printed version rather than the digital because of pricing. i feel abused when the digital cost is moe than the written. the only excuse for such high pricing is greed. shame on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 24, 2012 11:48:37 AM PDT
kelsi1111 says:
The publisher sets the digital price. The publisher also set the list price at 15.95 but because Amazon gets a discount on the book they can afford to lower the price. They do not get the same discount on the digital versions and therefore cannot mess around with the price. The publishers have to make money too or else what little is left of the book world will disappear.

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 24, 2012 2:38:09 PM PDT
Shelly511 says:
I absolutely agree. Amazon chose to discount paperback below eBook price not the publisher.

Posted on Apr 26, 2012 7:27:56 AM PDT
They charge what the market will bear and if you are unwilling to pay you can always go to the library. These allegations of greed on the part of the publishers and booksellers are rediculous. It's a business, not a charity.

Posted on Apr 28, 2012 8:47:30 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 28, 2012 8:48:36 PM PDT
I still think the ebooks are priced too high and don't really understand readers who defend the publishers. The publishers do make money and would still make profits with a more fair pricing, in my opinion. I will wait until the prices drop or just visit the library.

In reply to an earlier post on May 3, 2012 9:57:06 AM PDT
kelsi1111 says:
I actually work in a book store and meet with publishing reps on a regular basis so I understand why they charge the prices they do. How many cheap or free books are out there... thousands. The authors of those books and the publishers have to make money and if everything was super cheap or free than that is great for the consumer but the industry as a whole suffers. As someone else said, this is a business not a charity.

In reply to an earlier post on May 6, 2012 1:24:50 PM PDT
To understand why people "defend" the publishers is to understand how value is individually determined. Many people do not find the price of ebooks to be "too high" because they make different value judgements. The ebook format is more valuable to me than the paper version, though for you that may differ. "Fair pricing" is a matter of opinion.

Posted on May 10, 2012 11:18:01 AM PDT
I agree with some of the other comments, at least in as far as the slander against Amazon, they are contractually bound to sell the book at the price the publisher sets. If you want to blame someone, blame the publisher not the re-seller. Furthermore, the rating should be about the quality of the book, not the cost. Let people determine for themselves what they feel is a fair price to pay for a quality book. By rating it lower based on cost you unfairly lower the rating of the book itself.

In reply to an earlier post on May 29, 2012 3:07:39 PM PDT
reader says:
Why are you complaining about the price of this book? Just cannot understand your reasoning about $30.00. You spend more on drinks one night out with your girlfriends. And by the way, $10.00 is the average price for a good book these days. How much do you spend to download 1 song on your Iphone????

In reply to an earlier post on May 29, 2012 7:40:36 PM PDT
Wow! Your response seems a bit harsh, but I respect your opinion. I personally do not go out for drinks with my friends or download songs on the iphone which I do not own. $30 is a lot of money to some people. I personally feel it is outrageous for a book bundle which is downloaded, has little overhead or literary value for that matter and will likely not be re-read once read. But, everyone is entitled to their opinion, and this happens to be mine.

Posted on May 31, 2012 7:07:36 AM PDT
T. Kliemann says:
Your talking about $1.28 to me for convienience and not having to store books that is well worth it! I will skip my coffee today if I have to
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 891,977