Customer Review

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life saving facts -- the life work of an earnest, careful, caring, bold expert, December 30, 2011
This review is from: While Science Sleeps (Paperback)
This work is the culmination of a professional lifetime dedicated to elucidating the key biochemical details of methanol (formaldehyde) toxicity, starting with a comprehensive warning review in 1984, with 62 references, by the earnest, careful, bold Woodrow "Woody" C. Monte, retired Prof. of Food Science and Nutrition, Arizona State University.

His work is backed up by 745 free online full text medical research references, so experts can quickly peer review his logic and evidence.

Aspartame is indeed 11% methanol (wood alcohol), which the human body quickly turns into formaldehyde via the ADH1 enzyme, concentrated in many tissues: liver, kidney, brain, retina, skin, muscle, lung, prostate, breast, womb, fetus -- forming cumulative micro lesions, binding to and disabling DNA, RNA, and proteins, and so causing a wide variety of diseases.

Other methanol (formaldehyde) sources include wood and cigarette smoke, some dark wines and liquors, fruits juices vegetables preserved wet in sealed metal glass plastic containers, smoked fermented spoiled foods, and aspartame, as well as a variety of products ranging from medicines to new carpet, drapes, and furniture to mobile homes.

People vary enormously in individual vulnerability.

Google "While Science Sleeps" to reach his website, where you can download for free his 1984 and 2010 reviews, chapter 9 re multiple sclerosis, and the final chapter 12 re birth defects and autism type diseases, with 100 mainstream full text research paper references -- 25 pages.

1. Monte WC. Aspartame; Methanol and the Public Health. Journal of Applied Nutrition 1984;36(1):42-58. 16 pages

586. Monte W. Methanol: A chemical Trojan horse as the root of the inscrutable U. Med Hypotheses 2010;74(3):493-6. 4 pages.

Search Google for other research and news:

Amid health fears, Diet Coke sweetener [aspartame] in safety spotlight, Sean Poulter, UK Daily Mail 2011.05.27, 141 comments:
Rich Murray 2011.05.30

Pass the good words, friends !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 12, 2012 4:26:19 PM PDT
Just Me says:
My father past away very recently from complications to MS. We watched him suffer exteremly for many years and he past away at the young age of 53. I knew in my heart that there was something behind this. He worked for 13 years for a company that delt alot with formaldehyde and methanol. Not only did my dad suffer but many other co-workers of his were diagnosed with brain tumors, alzheimers and gait distubances starting in their 40's which is ATYPICAL! So as I began my research and came across Dr. Monte's chapter 9 on Multiple Sclerosis. I was shocked to read his well informed explanation of this disease secondary to methanol/formaldehyde exposure, which only made my thoughts more concrete. He may have discovered the cause to many of these serious diseases. But these multibillion dollar industries and ,unfortunately, some government agencies are trying to prevent this information from coming to light in fear of losing money. What a shame that the human race is suffering due to their greed. As a nurse I am naturally a caring person. After this hit home with my father and my friends fathers who worked with him I am going to work on getting this through to as many people, goverment agencies and federal agencies as possible. I work for the largest hospital in my state, which is also a teaching hospital. I am going to distribute this information to many nurses, doctors and researchers as I can. I am going to reach out to many MS groups and share this information because they are strongly dedicated to finding a cure but we must also find the CAUSE and this could be it! I will never give up and I am willing to go against these powerful agencies until something is done on behalf of my father and everyone who is watching a loved one suffer or has lost some one dear to them.

In reply to an earlier post on May 21, 2012 8:00:06 AM PDT
Prof. Resia Pretorius letter re aspartame to EJCN cites Prof. Woodrow C. Monte "While Science Sleeps" text, re methanol/formaldehyde toxicity paradigm: Rich Murray 2012.05.21
http://rmforall.blogspot.com/2012/05/prof-resia-pretorius-letter-re.html
http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/aspartameNM/message/1649

"In a Science article late in 2011, Wu et al. 1 discussed the fact that various dietary factors have an impact on gut bacteria, including the controversial dietary sweetener, APM.

Recently, in the October 2011 Science Perspective Section, Uri Gophna 2 commented on this observation, stating that it is surprising that even minor concentrations of the artificial sweetener APM, can modify bacterial communities."

"The observations of Wu et al., as well as a renewed interest in the APM debacle, spurred on by a new prepublication book released by Woodrow Monte 4, entitled `While Science Sleeps: A Sweetener Kills' might urge scientists and regulatory bodies to look at APM again."

Eur J Clin Nutr. 2012 May 16. doi: 10.1038/ejcn.2012.47. [Epub ahead of print]
GUT bacteria and aspartame: why are we surprised?
Pretorius E.
Department of Physiology, School of Medicine, Faculty of Health Sciences,
University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa.
PMID: 22588636

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 4, 2014 6:30:34 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Aug 4, 2014 6:56:55 PM PDT
Citing WC Monte twice, well funded RQ He 3 year study in China shows Alzheimers harm in monkeys from chronic methanol becoming formaldehyde, Part 2/2: Rich Murray 2014.07.27
rmforall.blogspot dot com/2014/07/citing-wc-monte-twice-well-funded-rq-he.html

"In addition to concerns about exogenous methanol toxicity, such as a side product of food additives like aspartame being consumed as part of the diet [31] leading to increased formaldehyde levels, there are equally dangerous aspects of dysfunctional endogenous metabolic pathways that may increase formaldehyde levels in the blood and brain that correlate to AD progression."

[ [31] Monte WC
(2011) While Science Sleeps: A Sweetener Kills.
Amazon Create Space Publishing, San Francisco.
[ WhileScienceSleeps dot com ]

[32] Monte WC
(2010) Methanol: A chemical Trojan horse as the root of the inscrutable U.
Med Hypotheses 74, 493-496.
[ www.whilesciencesleeps dot com/pdf/586.pdf free full text ] ]

[ see also Part 1, with many additional links to related posts:

WC Monte paradigm cited in well funded mice study -- methanol forms formaldehyde Alzheimers brain harm -- humans are far more vulnerable -- eminent Rong Qiao He in Beijing, China: Rich Murray 2014.07.27
rmforall.blogspot dot com/2014/07/wc-monte-paradigm-cited-in-well-funded.html
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.5 out of 5 stars (33 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
$48.38 $40.16
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Santa Fe, NM USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 3,744,824