Customer Review

12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This work has already been done by Peter Levenda, January 11, 2014
This review is from: Hunting Hitler: New Scientific Evidence That Hitler Escaped Nazi Germany (Hardcover)
I read the book Ratline and Peter Levenda did all the leg work for his book about Hitler's escape.Hunting Hitler is a just a remake of a book already done. I always love Peter Levenda's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 11, 2014 2:17:26 PM PST
Obviously did not read the book. While I reference Peter Levenda's book "Ratline," I fundamentally disagree -- arguing instead that Hitler escaped to Argentina, not Indonesia. Why does Amazon allow these reviews that are only "hit jobs" by uninformed people who don't know what they are talking about?

Posted on Jan 14, 2014 12:17:44 PM PST
gesegnet says:
It's always amazing how some reviewers will flaunt their utter stupidity. Take this review as an example. Could you imagine someone giving a one star review on a book on the Lincoln or Kennedy assassinations because "it's been done before?" It's quite obvious that this ignoramus didn't even bother to read the book, but then again she would have to learn how to read first.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 14, 2014 7:30:09 PM PST
jpcooper says:
gesegnet,

I understand your aggravation but I think you're being a little harsh on Miss/Mrs. Matta. She is just defending a close friend or relative's writing. And you have to appreciate such a display of loyalty. Kathy, on the other hand, should recognize that on a topic of such overwhelming interest there really is room for more than just one book.

In an effort to place her review in a fuller context I took the liberty of perusing Matta's other contributions. A full twenty percent of her reviews are related to medicinal mushrooms. I'm from Northern California and came of age in the 70s, this revelation tells me about all I need to know.

all the best,

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 15, 2014 8:37:29 AM PST
F. Hollister says:
Jerome R. Corsi:

People interested in facts and not fiction will probably enjoy:

Hitler: The Survival Myth

And, under another volume of Hitler survival nonsense Grey Wolf: The Escape of Adolf Hitler a very interesting comment:

1.0 out of 5 stars The Rehash of a Fantasy, June 7, 2012
By Donald M. McKale

A search of the numerous 1-star reviews will quickly turn it up.

Highly recommended!

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 15, 2014 10:54:14 AM PST
F. Hollister -- if you bothered to read HUNTING HITLER you would know that I cited GREY WOLF by Simon Dunstan and Gerrard Williams and praised their excellent research efforts. I take exception to your snide insinuation that my book is "fiction" -- I agree both liberals and conservatives comment on books they haven't read and I have no idea which side of the political spectrum you lie (I also don't care). But I do take exception to anyone (and it seems you included) commenting on Amazon.com on a book you have not read. HUNTING HITLER is a thoroughly researched and documented book. You might disagree with my research or conclusion, but you would have to produce evidence to argue your exception. Thank you.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 15, 2014 5:41:03 PM PST
F. Hollister says:
Jerome R. Corsi:

I guess you didn't read Donald McKale's post about "Grey Wolf."

You think it represents an excellent research effort. He eviscarated it.

Based on your body of work, I'm going with Mr. McKale on this one.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 16, 2014 5:19:41 AM PST
M. Morris says:
Perhaps some of these people need to read the book and understand research. This is hardly fiction. Most intelligent people who have actually studied history and the facts understand the Hitler suicide was a farce based on no evidence. Now we have evidence proving the bodies found were not Hitler and Eva. I haven't read Corsi's book but a cursory look through history will show his stance on this is justified.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 17, 2014 6:55:05 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 17, 2014 6:55:37 AM PST
F. Hollister says:
M. Morris:

Speaking of those who fail to "understand research."

In one corner we have Wing Nutz' Daily. In the other, The New York Times.

Jerome Corsi vs. Anthony Beevor.

Hardly a fair fight. Michael Jackson vs. Larry Holmes.

Hitler's Jaws of Death
By ANTONY BEEVOR
Published: October 10, 2009
Lynsore Bottom, England

THE assertion by American researchers that Hitler might have escaped from Berlin because a skull fragment in a Moscow archive was not his but a young woman's is rich in paradox. Stalin went to great lengths in 1945 to conceal the fact that Hitler's body had been identified by pathologists working for Smersh, the Soviet military counterintelligence agency. Stalin even misled his own commander in chief, Marshal Georgi Zhukov, demanding to know why he had failed to find Hitler's corpse. And Pravda declared that rumors of the discovery of Hitler's body were a fascist provocation.

Stalin ruled by creating fear and uncertainty among both subordinates at home and among his Western allies abroad, who were of course seen as potential enemies. Even after Hitler's jaws, with their distinctive bridgework, had been identified by the assistant to the Führer's personal dentist, the Soviet authorities nurtured rumors that Hitler was hiding in Bavaria. As Bavaria was part of the American zone of occupation, the implication was that the Americans had concealed him and were somehow in league with the Nazis. Now, 64 years later, an episode of the History Channel series "MysteryQuest" - with the outrageous title of "Hitler's Escape" - has distorted the revelation of the skull to scare up a similar fugitive ghost, to the furious exasperation of the Russian authorities.
...
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/11/opinion/11beevor.html?_r=0
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 27,558,490