Customer Review

138 of 162 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have used and loved Contour for years, but this camera is incredibly disappointing, November 21, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Contour ROAM2 Waterproof Video Camera (Black) (Electronics)
I've owned Contour 720HD for several years and it's been a great camera. The one feature I really wanted to gain was the still photo mode.

Enter the new ROAM2.. perfect on paper! It has everything I want with many improvements over my current one.

Here's the MAJOR reason why I will be returning this camera (and frankly I doubt too many would buy it if they understood this *feature*... which is not explained at all if you just look at specs:

YOU CANNOT CHANGE MODE without connecting the camera to a computer!

You must install Contour software to edit settings including mode (1080, 720, still photo, etc).

So.. if you set your camera to shoot 1 picture per minute and go for a ride, that's the ONLY mode you can use until you connect it to a computer!

That, in my opinion, is absolutely ridiculous!!

I got this camera partially to be loyal to Contour and of course because I already have quite a few mounts for it. The price is exactly the same as the new GoPro Hero3. Specs are identical, but guess what.. big MODE button right on the front of GoPro cam.

Contour rep replied to my question with: "ROAM2 is our budget camera. Look into Contour+2 for additional features".

So I have to pay exactly TWICE the price to gain ability to change mode without hooking the camera up to a computer??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 7 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 25 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 23, 2012 3:36:18 AM PST
xtra_max says:
One star, cause cannot change mode without pc? Really? Omg.

Posted on Nov 23, 2012 8:42:40 AM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jun 30, 2013 8:52:38 PM PDT]

Posted on Nov 23, 2012 5:55:33 PM PST
If it helps, I found a tiny work around on another website. If you plan to start your day taking still photos then switch to movies later on, you can use Storyteller to put the ContourROAM/ContourROAM2 in "Still Photo" mode then later switch to the default movie mode by opening the back of the camera and pressing the RESET button for 10 seconds.

Posted on Nov 24, 2012 11:22:13 PM PST
L. Scott says:
Why not use multiple cards, each set up differently - simples!

Posted on Nov 25, 2012 8:55:12 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 25, 2012 9:05:29 AM PST
Westminister says:
One day, the people at Contour will understand the concept of customer satisfaction. This review is a valid one. Being a Mac user and a Toyota loyalist, I get where the reviewer is coming from. Certain things should be obviously easy to use by design. Hence the definition of functional. Extra steps to achieve basic functionality is absurd. The key word is "Basic".

Example, in the previous versions of Contour cameras you had to buy an additional adapter to gain a standard tripod mount. Fortunately, Contour has realized that this feature is something to be included without purchasing extra equipment. But notice, they have to include it in the new specs of their newest models as if it is a key feature. For most cameras in the world it is a basic standard feature.

Another example. Glad to see the higher end model comes with bluetooth, but don't they at contour think that the Roam2 may need to be aligned using a viewer, i.e. your smartphone. the competitors out there have it so you can and not need your computer to figure this out.

The reality is, we as users want all the features to be convenient not labourious. Imagine if you had to connect to Toyota via satellite every time you wanted to get your mileage reading, or you had to shut down and restart your computer every time you wanted to connect to a different network.

The problem I see, Contour really wants to sell you a high end and a low end camera, which there is nothing wrong with that, it's better than their previous line up. However, their high end camera The Contour+2 should be the low end camera with the added feature of being waterproof up to one meter like the Roam2. Their high end camera should be a 2.5K or 4K camera like the GoPro Hero 3, but with all the features of the Contour+2, including 1080p/60 and 720p/120 frame rates.

Contour does this, and the competitors would be force to match or fade away. The one thing Contour has going for it is they have a better form factor. However, if that were all that mattered then GoPro would not be the perceived leader in the industry...

Those who are bashing this review, simply have lower expectations for what they think possible and convenient in this age of technology.

Some people are OK with manual roll up windows in their cars, and laptops with slow hard drives and inferior video cards. But hey, why not just placate the public with colour variety...

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 25, 2012 12:25:58 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jun 30, 2013 8:52:21 PM PDT]

Posted on Dec 1, 2012 4:09:54 PM PST
Erci says:
Just read all the replies. I've changed 1 star to 4. Contour makes very good cameras (as I mentioned I've had one for years and loved it).

Take a look at tech specs page: http://store.contour.com/ae/us/cameras/contourroam-2/invt/1800/

Tell me if you think it's clearly stated that all modes must be switched via computer. Here is what I see:

******************************************************************
Photo Specs 5MP Still Photo Sensor

Photo Mode: Every 1, 3, 5, 10, 30, or 60 seconds

Video Specs All video settings can be managed with the Contour Desktop Software.

Full HD - 1920 x 1080 @ 30/25fps
Tall HD - 1280 x 960 @ 30/25fps
Action HD - 1280 x 720 @ 60/50 or 30/25fps

Codec H.264/AAC Filetype - MP4.
******************************************************************

Where does it say that a computer must be used to switch from video to still photo mode?

I would have never written this review (because I would have never purchased this camera), if it was simply stated somewhere on the tech page that a computer is required to accomplish this simple and necessary task.

I agree that giving it 1 star is not fair. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this camera if you understand that a computer must be used to switch modes (or one can go with the microSD trick, as mentioned above.. ironically Contour rep did not mention this as an option. He just told me that computer was the only way to change modes).

I would give 1 star to the company for omitting a clear statement on Tech Specs page about the modes, if I could.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2012 9:58:52 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Jun 30, 2013 8:52:14 PM PDT]

Posted on Dec 15, 2012 1:12:26 PM PST
Bossy Boots says:
Thanks for saving me from a huge Christmas error!! My husband is an avid athlete but also a tech geek. What a waste of money it would have been! Your comments were spot on....who wants to buy a camera with such a fundamental flaw? Having read all the comments, I think some are way too defensive for Contour. Sure they wanted to produce a less expensive product but to leave out a function that is so basic to every camera on the market is foolish. Moreover, I am not tech savvy so their oblique note in the specs which is written to make it seem like a positive would have meant nothing to me and frankly it is something I never would have even considered checking to see if it was a function on the camera. It is a bit like focus being an upgrade; some things should just be part of any camera.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 18, 2012 10:25:02 AM PST
J. Berman says:
is this actually possible? have you tried this?
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.2 out of 5 stars (203 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
$199.99 $153.42
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 954,678