Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS
Customer Review

33 of 200 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Haven't yet figured out whether or not I like this -- UPDATED (even more!), November 4, 2011
This review is from: Homeland: Season 1 (DVD)
It is clear that the pill-popping, closet-psychotic CIA agent played by Ms. Danes buys in to the whole "war on terror" nonsense as if she were an avid Fox News fan -- as do her fellow cardboard-cutout spooks; but it is not clear whether the object of her obsession is in fact a "threat" or whether we are being led down the merry path to some other reality, which may yet redeem the apparent shallow, propagandistic "good guy vs. bad guy" premise of this show. It is taken for granted, at least on the surface, that "we were attacked" on 9/11 by some entity other than our own CIA*, and that we are waging a "righteous" war against shadowy "Abu Nazir"-types who are deviously living among us, just waiting to open up a can of jihad on our a$$es. Of course, as Noam Chomsky and others have pointed out, our wars of aggression are crimes under international law and the primary reason "Islamists" oppose us is our very presence in their countries, not some garbage like "they hate our freedoms".

*For those who give a hoot about truth and reality, it should be noted that the recent much-ballyhooed (and highly questionable) killing of OBL (a.k.a. "Abu Nazir") was some very sophisticated propaganda. OBL was NOT wanted by the FBI for anything to do with 9/11 (Google his FBI wanted poster).

As Col. Fletcher Prouty wrote in 'The Secret Team: The CIA and Its Allies in Control of the United States and the World (Second Edition):

"Like it or not, we now live in a new age of "One World." This is the age of global companies, of global communications and transport, of global food supply and finance and...just around the corner...global accommodation of political systems. In this sense, there are no home markets, no isolated markets and no markets outside the global network. It is time to face the fact that true national sovereignty no longer exists. We live in a world of big business, big lawyers, big bankers, even bigger moneymen and big politicians. It is the world of "The Secret Team." In such a world, the Secret Team is a dominant power. It is neither military nor police. It is covert, and the best (or worst) of both. It gets the job done whether it has political authorization and direction, or not. It is independent. It is lawless."

UPDATE 11/27/11:

The more I watch this the less I like it, so I dropped another star. In addition to being basically unbelievable in terms of its presentation of the operation and methods of the CIA, we're served up a pantload of terrorist bogeyman propaganda -- along with occasional views of some wondrous female body parts. Sex and Terror, America's new diet, now that Sex and Communism are passe. That so many seem to be falling for this nonsense is a testament to the effectiveness of the government/mass media "war on terror" propaganda effort. "Enemies hiding everywhere -- even among U.S. Marines! War without end! Give up your rights and we'll protect you! Submit to the police state!" Eisenhower warned us about the encroachment of the military-industrial complex, whose hold on this society is now nearly total. Ike is doing somersaults in his grave.

UPDATE 12/6/11:

Wow, is this show really starting to stink. CIA agents acting effectively as street cops! Yeah, uh huh, sure. Naturally, they routinely disregard the law, which is about the only true thing this show has to say about the CIA. I recently watched Steven Seagal in Above the Law [Blu-ray] and it actually had more to say of a truthful nature about the CIA than this steaming pile, which I have now knocked down to a one-star rating. You know that when a Steven Seagal script kicks your rear, you should be hiding your head in shame. Everyone involved with this travesty should be waterboarded, then spend a lovely weekend in a CIA black site prison.

This show doesn't even work as a drama, because virtually none of the personal relationships and situations ring true. And Claire Danes constant histrionics would go over like a lead balloon in any professional setting, particularly the CIA. If she's a CIA agent, then I'm the King of Spain.

UPDATE 1/18/12

SHOW OF HANDS: How many here buy into Carrot Top being married to that uber-hot babe in the first place? And how many here buy into that uber-hot babe instantly dumping the guy she was stroking and planning to marry just because a now-spooky Carrot Top shows up again YEARS LATER? And how many here buy into that uber-hot babe becoming just a good domesticated wifey as the season progressed -- even though Carrot Top started stroking the psycho CIA agent? I mean, forget the politics, this isn't even remotely believable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 67 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 19, 2011 3:05:46 AM PST
judy913 says:
I agree that the program is "propaganda", liberal propaganda in fact - and you must have a lot of time on your hands to write a "novel" instead of a so-called review.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 19, 2011 5:28:38 PM PST
Scorpio69 says:
re: "liberal propaganda"

Really? How is that, exactly? Hmmm?

re: "you must have a lot of time on your hands to write a "novel" instead of a so-called review."

Forming thoughts and writing them down just isn't that challenging for some of us.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 20, 2011 5:25:24 PM PST
J. Clemons says:
Yes, Homeland is transparently "liberal" in its ideas and themes. And the the liberal element is pounded into us, with almost no nuance or complexity. Like the odious paean to left wing American gods, The West Wing, this show is done in by its politics. Some, actually very few, shows can survive their obvious intention to propagate the liberal American agenda--interesting that I can't think of any. Liberal ideals, like the flourishing homosexual relationship, can survive if they are not so obtrusive and not present in every episode. Six feet Under, if analyzed closely, pushes a left wing agenda, but quietly and the political slant is not the main focus of the show, unlike Homeland. Also, Damien Lewis is a fine actor--see both seasons of Life and to a lesser degree, BAnd of Brothers (lesser degree=not as good acting as in Life. But this show makes him robotic and not just unappealing, but repugnant. As a corrective to this rather pathetic t.v. series, see Foyle's War that could easily have been loaded with goodies only a liberal could like, but Anthony Horowitz, creator and writer of every episode (perhaps a few were written by others, but his vision and control is present in every episode), resisted this temptation and created a film masterpiece. And there are very few very good films, not to mention A+ shows.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 20, 2011 9:44:27 PM PST
Scorpio69 says:
re: "Yes, Homeland is transparently "liberal"..."

This is bloody preposterous.

Posted on Jan 17, 2012 6:10:52 PM PST
Have to agree about Claire Danes...they might as well have had the Heath Ledger in Joker make-up playing the "CIA" character. A raving lunatic headed for shock treatment draws no stares at work...right?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 17, 2012 6:12:07 PM PST
It was garbage...

Posted on Jan 27, 2012 10:31:34 AM PST
Jim Cain says:
Ike doing somersaults in his grave...visually kinda funny, but please gimme a break! The more you watch it, the less you like it? Jeez, Scorpio, you have a channel-changer, don't you? Your teacher didn't make you watch it, did he? I find that 90 percent of the stuff on TV to be crap--so I don't watch it. I'm not taking issue with your opinion of the show. Your opinion is your opinion. I'm just wondering why, if you didn't like it, you continued watching it.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 27, 2012 10:48:37 AM PST
Scorpio69 says:
re: "you didn't like it, you continued watching it"

I continued watching it to see if it would somehow redeem itself. It didn't. I tried to give this as fair a shake as possible, which is why I feel perfectly entitled to rip it to shreds. Apparently, my review is so provocative and compelling that even you couldn't stop reading it.

re: "you have a channel-changer, don't you?"

Er, is someone forcing you to read my review? And take the time to write a response? Your teacher didn't make you read it, did he?

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 27, 2012 11:05:06 AM PST
Jim Cain says:
Naah, nobody forced me to read your review. But as a frequent naysayer myself, I often like to read what other naysayers say. Besides, it only took what--30 seconds? Your hyperbolic phrase about Ike somersaulting did draw me in...I was in senior management of one of those very companies Ike had in mind when he cautioned America about the I-M complex.

Posted on Mar 26, 2012 7:07:40 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Mar 26, 2012 7:08:21 PM PDT]
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Hawaii, America's Paradise

Top Reviewer Ranking: 152,973