Customer Review

327 of 345 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful - This is not a 2 Amp charger - won't work with Ipad, March 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: PowerJolt Dual Universal Micro (Electronics)
I purchased this looking for a smaller charger and I love Griffin products. The description for this product says that it is "2 A" and can charge a variety of electronic devices which connect to a USB charger. The packaging more clearly describes the charger as having two USB ports which produce 1 A each. It appears that the description is adding the two together which is not helpful. Ipods and Iphones only need 1A or 1 amp chargers while the Ipad needs a 2A or 2 amp charger. Two 1 amp charging ports does not equal one 2 amp charging port.

Other than that - a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 17 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 6, 2011 3:34:06 AM PDT
Despite the fact that the Ipad will say it's not charging, it really is, just at a slower rate. These chargers will generally at least provide enough power to run the device with little or no additional draw from the Ipad's battery.

Posted on May 19, 2011 3:01:05 PM PDT
Eloy Montoya says:
I just receive 2 of these units this morning & I tested it in my car. My iPad charged to its's capacity & my iPod charged to its capacity. I did notice that they were not labeld as Griffinn products? Maybe the non-griffin charger is better?

Posted on May 24, 2011 9:06:35 AM PDT
ncooty says:
The device is labeled as 2A, because the total current drawn by the device is 2 amps. That information is relevant, because you want to know the draw it puts on your car battery and to compare it to the ampacity of the thin wiring in cars (especially if your lighter shares a circuit with other devices). I see why you would be confused--given that the current is split between two ports, and it would be nice to be able to force all the current to one port--but the manufacturer has not incorrectly labeled the product (based only on what you've written).

Posted on May 29, 2011 11:16:22 AM PDT
G. P. says:
You only need to get a "reverse splitter" to combine the power pins from the two ports together if you want to only use a single device drawing 2A.

Posted on Jul 4, 2011 8:33:58 AM PDT
C. Devitta says:
If you would like to purchase a professionally modified/soldered unit, click on more buying choices and look for - imagecomposer -

Posted on Aug 31, 2011 11:38:21 PM PDT
G. Trewitt says:
The description clearly says "5 watts per port (5 volts @ 1 amp)". It mentions 2 amps only in terms of what it might draw from the 12V convenience outlet.

Posted on Sep 12, 2011 12:48:18 PM PDT
RikB says:
Not sure if this description was added after your review but this part of the description gave me a clear understanding of both input and output:

- Input voltage range - 12-16V DC at 2A, 5 watts per port (5 volts @ 1 amp)

Both are important.

Posted on Oct 17, 2011 8:00:58 AM PDT
I cracked mine open. The DC to DC converter in it is a ACT4070YH which is capable of handling an output of 3A with proper cooling. My guess would be they rated it at 2A because there's no room for proper cooling (and that 4070 chip has thermal shutdown so it throttles down when it gets too hot).
I had to solder the two data pins together on each port to get my phone to recognize it as an AC charger because phones limit the current draw to 500-700mA when it thinks it is plugged into a computer. I would say the iPod does the same.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 31, 2011 3:21:23 PM PDT
I know what you mean but it's better the manufacturer labeled 1A each port. I still think the manufacturer shouldn't have labeled 2A (misleading). People don't really care that 2 ports add up to the total amount of amp for both but we only care for each port.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 14, 2011 7:54:24 AM PST
SC Engineer says:
Apple uses a completely different scheme for detecting USB Charge Ports. The USB spec says that a USB charging port MUST have D+ and D- shorted together. However, Apple uses a complex array of resistive elements and voltage measurement to detect charging ports. In essence, they have a patented method for charging their products that accessory makers must license in order to sell. If this accessory can be used to charge Apple products, it will not work for non-Apple products without additional smarts (some method of shorting D+ to D- if it detects a non-Apple device). I doubt this or any other device has those smarts.

Apple's willful noncompliance with standards is a huge problem for the consumer electronics market.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.2 out of 5 stars (2,533 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (1,004)
4 star:
 (283)
3 star:
 (192)
2 star:
 (241)
1 star:
 (813)
 
 
 
$19.99 $11.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: Camp Williams, Utah

Top Reviewer Ranking: 252,587