Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro
Customer Review

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-So arcade game., March 24, 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tom Clancy's HAWX - PC (Video Game)
This is a pretty game, lots of action, lots of things to blow up, makes a lot of noise and seems to be a game aimed at kids. It is not in any way a flight sim except that it happens to take place in airplanes. And thats where any similarity to a flight sim ends.

The planes fly like they are on rails, there is no inertia whatsoever. Engines accelerate the planes with vertical climbs not making much difference to speed. You can jerk a high AOA turn and the speed stays pretty much constant. You can go inverted and pull loop a few thousand feet off the ground~ and make it. There is no speed compression, you can turn as sharp as you want at any speed. You can target enemy aircraft and ground targets about 2-3 seconds apart and fire on them from high off angles and speed at close range and still hit.

Not much of a sim, but fun as a game. EZ entry for people with no knowledge of flight sims or desire to learn all the stuff that goes with it. Its a console game adapted to a PC platform~ nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 24, 2009 6:41:54 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Mar 24, 2009 9:20:11 PM PDT
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 16, 2009 5:25:12 AM PDT
Brian says:
What are you talking about? Nowhere in his review did he use insulting or offensive language. He described the game objectively and even cited specific examples of differences between real-world flight physics and this game. There are many "air combat games" that behave like realistic flight sims, and those are fun. Any person could easily mistake this game for a realistic flight sim that involves combat and his criticisms are totally warranted. In fact, they aren't even worded as criticism; they are worded as "clarification" of how this game differs from a regular flight sim combat engine. What is not warranted is your "blasting him" because of your failure to get his point. If you are sick of people flaming then criticize flamers and not people who back up their complaints. Then again, you probably view this as a flame against you, don't ya?

He is not blasting anything. He is characterizing it for what it is and even recommended it to people interested in non-realistic action games such as you. His review is thorough, concise, and helpful. Thank you Vicstor for posting such a well-written and helpful review.

In reply to an earlier post on May 6, 2009 11:58:18 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 6, 2009 11:59:00 PM PDT
Burr says:
Actually, Highguard does make somewhat of a valid point. Just because something is not a hardcore sim aimed at elitists means that it's for "kids"? That part instantly diminished his review for me as that statement alone was ignorant, insulting and aimed at those who enjoy the game regardless the reason.

Elitist-speak and nothing more.

In reply to an earlier post on May 13, 2009 3:52:11 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 13, 2009 3:53:53 AM PDT
What Burr said and I don't think you got the point of my post either, Castro.

Posted on Jun 3, 2009 8:57:16 PM PDT
O. Ogden says:
Look it is not like I expect this game to be Falcon or anything as it is a game and not a Sim. That being said I think the point is why bother making a flight game that doesn't seem to bother with any of the physics of flight. What I do not understand is attacking people for describing the finer points of the game as I think that is what reviews are for. As far as the boatloads of flight sims for the PC, very few are put out any more. What I would like is a more realistic game based in the jet age.

Posted on Apr 24, 2010 2:47:49 AM PDT
Glenn Miller says:
Ty for your post...I am not interested in flying games.....now give me a good combat flight sim with real world physics and I'm in. Came to to review page to see if this was a game or a sim...I wont be getting it...again ty

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 13, 2010 8:25:40 PM PST
Vicster says:
What makes it seem like its aimed at kids is that its just noise and destruction. Press a button and something blows up. A very young child can play this game and do very well within minutes of loading it and have a good time. If you took the same child and gave it LO-MAC I would be amazed if the child could get a plane in the air without being taught. HAWX has no learning curve, plot or realistic physics. Its just point the plane fire the missile and explosion. I just don't see this as a product aimed at grown ups.

This product is going for $5.64 at the time of this comment. I think it's clear why.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 13, 2010 8:50:33 PM PST
Vicster says:
Do you not understand why people review things? Your telling me not to review this and go find something to be happier with. Well, I did try to be happy with this, it was really badly executed but I could't know that until I tried it. And now I have an opinion about a product I bought from Amazon.com.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Orange, CA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 155,431