Customer Review

39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not As Bad As You've Heard, November 27, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Windows 8.1 Pro System Builder OEM DVD 64-Bit (Software)
This is the single license OEM version which means you can only install it on one PC (no license transfer allowed) and there is no tech support from Microsoft but if you're buying this version, you probably already know that. This version has the 8.1 upgrade patches baked in so you don't have suffer through the (free) update if you have the 8.0 version and that alone is worth it for me. Some of the highlights with 8.1 include the ability to boot to the desktop as well as customization tweaks with wallpapers and the app start screen.

I've docked it one star due to the confusing start screen/app screen/desktop layout. I don't think it really works that well and seems needlessly complicated.The modern/metro apps are often cartoonish and sort of a waste. Also, there is no easy way to set up an PC account unless you have a Microsoft account as well and that might very well be a deal breaker for some. On the plus side, the backup feature is simplified and works very well and hardware recognition is better than in Windows 7. So, going forward it's not the worst choice out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 27, 2013 11:42:17 AM PST
C. Leavitt says:
"Also, there is no easy way to set up an PC account unless you have a Microsoft account as well and that might very well be a deal breaker for some."

FYI, contrary to popular belief, there is a way to set up a local account during install. It's not the default option, but it is still supported and probably always will be since business customers require local accounts.

During setup when it prompts for your existing MS account there is an option to "create a new Microsoft account" or something to that effect. If you click on that option there is actually another option within that menu to log in without a Microsoft account (i.e. use a local account). A lot of people don't see this option because of the wording, but it is there.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 2, 2013 6:55:32 AM PST
Mick says:
Cool! Thanks for the tip. I have a MS account so it wasn't that big a deal but I can totally see setting up a Home Theater or building a machine for a friend and you'd not want to use your personal account to do it. I'll do this on my next build. Thanks again!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 5, 2013 3:01:27 PM PST
Chaz says:
Yes you are correct 'leavitt' but I think you go through with link ' like your going to sign in and yes you will see the bottom right say create local account or something. And also with the desktop screen is one option they added in 8.1 update so when you boot up it goes right to your desktop. You just right click taskbar and then properties and on startup tab you'll see the option toward bottom that states to go right to desktop. People always give bad feedback because they don't know how to work with it. These two so called problems take about 5 seconds to fix. A lot shorter than what it took to type on my phone!!!

Posted on Feb 24, 2014 12:13:14 AM PST
"This is the single license OEM version which means you can only install it on one PC (no license transfer allowed)"

This is false. For all practical purposes, Win 8 OEM has a full 'FPP" license. It IS transferable between machines. This is 'OEM' in name only.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 27, 2014 10:25:03 AM PST
Mick says:
I'm not sure if the EULA says that exactly but I know what you're getting at. For the record, I DID transfer a Windows 7 OEM license between two machines but I had to go through this weird, automated voice prompt system. Once I did that, I was able to activate the old copy on the new PC. I suspect Windows 8 is similar but I've not come across any first hand accounts of people who have done that. So, who knows? Thanks for the info!

Posted on Mar 19, 2014 8:21:38 PM PDT
SanPa says:
Sounds like a ringing endorsement ..... or NOT.

Posted on Jun 14, 2014 11:42:14 PM PDT
Michael W. says:
Actually you CAN transfer the license, and it's not particularly difficult. Microsoft only maintains their activation database for about a year at a time. After they clear it out, you can activate it again with no problem. You can also use the phone activation if you do have a problem. As long as you're not reinstalling every couple months, your key won't get blacklisted. I can and have taken the same OEM key across multiple motherboards and other hardware, and it activated normally, no phone call required. OEM doesn't mean you can't transfer it. It just means you can't transfer it nearly as often.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 24, 2014 8:26:29 AM PDT
Exactly! I was reading through the posts wondering when someone was gonna say this. This is true. i have done it, twice.

Posted on Feb 11, 2015 3:02:39 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 11, 2015 3:09:26 PM PST
I have no idea why this review is supposed to be the most helpful. The convoluted Metro desktop is a deal breaker and why Microsoft is restoring a semblance of the real start button on Windows 10 in the process of being fine tuned before release. In Windows 8.1 you also have the annoying 'charms' on the side of the screen which are useless on a desktop and why Windows 10 is eliminating them as well. Contrary to the review Windows 7 has no issues detecting hardware. To date Windows 7 is the best OS Microsoft has developed and released.

The Microsoft account required during installation is an invasion of privacy and can be ignored in the evaluation version of Windows 10. Big Brother Microsoft has heard a lot of flack on that one.

The only way this review like others on Amazon gets 36 people to like it is because they work for Microsoft.

Don't believe them. Windows 8.1 is a mess and it is as bad as you have heard. It is very hard to find things and use on a desktop. That is why it died a painful death as Windows 10 returned the start button, free Media Player (not included in Windows 8), got rid of the 'charms' and is looking more like Windows 7.

Windows 8 and 8.1 should be avoided like the plague that it was - key word is 'was' since Windows 10 will restore some sanity to the MS desktop OS

.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 11, 2015 3:37:12 PM PST
Philip, just because you hate Windows 8 and Microsoft doesn't mean everyone else does. Everything you just said was biased.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.9 out of 5 stars (231 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
$199.99 $133.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 28,372