Customer Review

43 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased With This Purchase, October 13, 2013
By 
This review is from: Linksys AC1900 Wi-Fi Wireless Dual-Band+ Router with Gigabit & USB 3.0 Ports, Smart Wi-Fi App Enabled to Control Your Network from Anywhere (EA6900) (Personal Computers)
I've had this router set up for 5 days now and feel that I can write an accurate review. I purchased it to replace a Lynksys E4200. I had high hopes for the E4200 as it was supposed to be a very good device, stable, great range, etc. However, I found that signal consistency was an issue, and I had a few dead spots in the house where a wifi signal could not be found. Enter the EA6900.

- From a size standpoint, the router is about the same footprint as the E4200. Does't take too much room on a desk or shelf.
- Set up is very easy, no different than any other router. Just screw on the 3 antennas in the back and plug in the power cord.
- The Smart-Wifi feature in my opinion is very helpful. It is very user friendly and you can view and change all settings via this screen. An example of this would be the ability to create a user priority list. So, in my house, we have around 10 devices connected to wifi all the time. Kids playing on Ipods, Ipads, etc. With smart wifi, I set my computer to priority-1, thereby giving me the greatest bandwith in the home. You can rank each device this way also. Again, lots you can do with smart wifi that you'll discover once you start playing around with it.
- From a performance standpoint, I am very happy with the speed of this router. I'm sure this unit is technologically better than the E4200, but I have to believe the 3 external antennas make a big difference as well. In fact, I'll never buy another router without external antennas.
- As mentioned in previous point, speed is very good. I'm getting 36 mbps down and 12 up. Perfect for me.
- I have no more dead spots in my house. I can even see the router from outside the home where I could not before.

As others have mentioned, I was also surprised to see the router show up in a Belkin box, but at the end of the day I don't really care as long as works well. I'm happy with this purchase and I think you will be also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 3 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 13 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 13, 2013 6:29:07 AM PDT
Hi John,

We greatly appreciate your feedback with this new router. Let us know if there is anything we can help you in the future.

Thanks,
Linksys Support
http://support.linksys.com

Posted on Oct 15, 2013 8:12:38 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 16, 2013 7:17:51 AM PDT
T. Curry says:
Is this product worth getting as I have the EA4500 and I [am] pretty satisfied with it
but do not like that with the Smart Wi Fi firmware, I cannot hide or not-broadcast the
SSID as I could before the upgrade or on other previous/older Linksys products.

So does the EA6900 restore this feature of not broadcasting the SSID?
For that , I could consider an upgrade as I may need to have faster speed for
some media streaming device(s) : Slingbox that may not be close to the main
router to be connected directly using the LAN ethernet port but may have to
attach to some wireless bridge.
I am noticing there is choppiness in the video/audio signal currently in using
dd-wrt firmware to bridge an older E4200 v1 to the EA4500.
But Roku works fine so maybe it is an issue with Slingbox HD-Pro.

I am not really sure I can get any benefits from this router as my
adapters on laptops are not 802.11ac (just wireless N 300 to 450 Mbps)
and I hear the Linksys USB adapter associated with this new technology
only maxes out at 300 Mbps not even 450 Mbps, strange? And my only
way to get USB3.0 is through express card adapters and my other
USB ports are limited to 2.0. Also I hear the Intel wireless adapter only
gets up to 867 Mbps not even close to the theoretical 1300 Mbps...
so really, is this 802.11ac really worth it for those of us who have older
computers and devices and my Macbook Pro 17, Sony Vaio and Dell Precision
M6300 all have some good time to go before needing to be replaced.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2013 5:13:00 AM PDT
JOHN says:
I have not tried to turn of SSID, but I've read here from others that it cannot be turned off. However, I believe Belkin will make this option available in a future software update as I've also read. Regarding if it's worth upgrading, to me it was. There's no question I'm getting better speed and consistency with this router versus the previous.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 16, 2013 7:20:20 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 16, 2013 7:23:26 AM PDT
T. Curry says:
I forgot to add, perhaps another way to benefit from the ac speed
is to get one of those pricy bridges or ac media connectors...
spending more money <sigh>

I really would like to turn off the SSID broadcast but heard that
sniffers can find that anyway, but that would still require some
extra effort and one would have to know the SSID to successfully
or attempt to connect otherwise. Why make it easy? despite the
encryption security key?

I think I will wait this one out. I guess I will just wire (Ethernet LAN) that
extra slingbox and not depend on this wireless bridge.

Thanks.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 17, 2013 12:56:29 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 17, 2013 1:01:26 PM PDT
T. Curry says:
Well let me ask this...
Do you see an improvement in speed & link consistency
if you are still using older adapters that may not be of the AC
standard? So I have wireless N adapters (450 Mbps),
will I see better and longer range as sometimes the 5 GHz band
is weak in certain areas of my residence and I have to switch to
the 2.4 GHz band and even with the routers I am bridging,
I use the 2.4 GHz band and specific channels as that band seems
to have a better signal strength compared to bridging on the 5 GHz
for faster speed.

I will keep this newer router on my possible to buy list.

It was just that when the EA6500 came out, CNET reviewed it lower
(3.5 out of 5 stars)
than the EA4500 which got 4 out of 5 stars.
So I waited and eventually the EA6700 came out which I was
considering getting as it had the USB3.0 port and there was some issue
on why the older model did not have at least 2 USB ports and if so, why
USB2.0?
Even Western Digital came out with a router that had 2 USB ports and
I think USB3.0 and 7 LAN ports ...

So I wait some more... Comes now EA6900 :)

I am hoping CNet will come out with its reviews soon on this
and the Asus routers. Also Asus routers are of interest too.

So many choices, but I have been with Linksys so long (Netgear too but
had problems with one their router's firmware). I want to stick with
Linksys.

It is also good to see the external/detachable antennae
being brought back as well which could be another reason
why I may consider this newer router, I just may need motivation
based on a cNet review first and I will wait.

Posted on Oct 18, 2013 11:00:14 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 18, 2013 11:20:21 AM PDT
T. Curry says:
No comment or reply needed
just some extra thoughts probably already said

I guess for now with computers with mainly USB2.0 ports (480 Mbps) and "outdated"
equipment and 3 computers (Sony Vaio, Dell Precision, MacBook Pro 17")
that may last a while longer, I may see no real benefit now to upgrade to this ac standard
unless the router improves the Wireless N in both 2.4 and 5 GHz bands better than the EA4500.
Maybe I can convince Apple to upgrade my wireless card for free... :)

I do have some express cards that I can connect that have USB3.0 ports,
but I heard Linksys' USB adapter may only have speed up to 300 Mbps
not even 450 Mbps?

Then to change out the PCI-E cards I saw Intel has one at 867 Mbps?
can the (new) hardware keep up with the increasing speeds that these
newer router are claiming .... 1300 Mbps --> 1900 Mbps?? even if
theoretical. I am getting a headache.

Next, there is the AC media adapter bridge I guess with LAN ports , but that
cost about as much as getting this new router so $$$$

Unless I am not seeing something else or advantage.

So I will wait until Cnet's review Mr. Ngo? is pretty good
with his reviews and even he said he would use the E4200v2
(identical to EA4500) in his personal network so I will stick to this
one until the reviews. Also even if I cannot disable or hide the SSID.

And maybe until I get new hardware to support this latest speed
benefits. (need new PCI-e card, new USB adapters and ports supporting USB 3.0,
need spend $ on updated 802.11ac bridge...) so lots of $$$$ and then I have
to sell the old routers as they are just accumulating (WRT54GSes, E3000,E4200 all of
which can be bridged using dd-wrt, E4200v2, and EA4500)... Linksys made lots of
money off me, Linksys should just give me a new router perhaps for beta testing
or help me recycle the old ones where I can get some money back or perhaps a credit
to get a new one.

Also looking at ASUS new one similar to this Linksys one
RT-AC68U or the one after the RT-AC66U
and perhaps the Apple Time Capsules looked interesting but
not interesting enough with only USB 2.0 ports for network storage or
print server. <sigh... always trade-offs , weighing advantages and
disadvantages ... how to get everything in one router? and stick to it?
But I always pulled for Linksys and have been pretty happy with what
Linksys has had to offer over the years -- despite a brief and bad experience
with a Netgear wireless G router was my only defection>.

I guess in the end, it is better to just be wired (Ethernet) to the network
for reliability and speed/video streaming and forget all this wireless stuff
for now. just depend on wireless as a convenience to basically connect to the
internet, send print jobs ... as even slingbox seems to lag when streaming
wirelessly and works better when wired.

I guess I will settle down and be content with what I have though I am
still looking at this carefully to find the most benefit to possibly upgrading
and maybe now is not the right time. < acceptance >

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 30, 2013 10:30:07 AM PDT
ComfiShoe says:
May I ask why Belkin will provide the option in the Linksys's firmware?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 30, 2013 11:45:56 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 30, 2013 12:07:13 PM PDT
T. Curry says:
I heard there was a promise to do something to hide the SSID perhaps
for the newer model of routers, but I have yet to see any updates for
my current router EA4500... I am not sure if this change was to go in
all Smart Wi-Fi enabled routers (new EA6900 down to EA4500 , E4200V2...)
or not.

Anyway I have concluded to wait this out as with my current computers still
having some life to them (USB 2.0 ports), I would have to pay extra to add
hardware to connect adapters that would be of 802.11ac speed standards
to benefit from any theoretical higher speeds or purchase those bridges
media servers using the 802.11ac standard.

I would have to
1) Upgrade the PCI-E adapters in 3 laptops from wireless N to 802.11ac
(I don't want to open my Macbook now while it is under Apple Care warranty either)
and those from Intel only go up to 867 Mbps?
What is the theoretical max? 1300+ Mbps...? not even close.

2) Add Express Card Adapters that support USB 3.0 to even think to attach any higher speed
802.11ac USB adapters and I think one from Linksys only says it connects at 300 Mbps? why
bother? I have a Linksys USB adapter already that connects at 450 Mbps
That reminds me the new Wireless N now connects at 600 Mbps?

3) Hope for some wireless adapters that would connect to my MacBook's thunderbolt port perhaps,
if that is possible

4) purchase the Media connectors or bridges using the 802.11ac standard, thus forking out more money
to benefit.

5) all of the above means spending more money just for faster wireless speeds when
I can just connect a gigabit ethernet cable...

Now if there is any bit of improvement of connectivity and perhaps range for the wireless N
clients I have on all laptops in my network and smartphone, then maybe I can consider upgrading
but EA4500 seems to work just fine so I do not need to spend more money at this time.

Mr. Ngo gave a very good review for the competing Asus router RT-AC68U? I think it got 4
out of 5 stars.
I will still wait for Cnet's review of this one to really compare.

conclusion: save money by being content with what I have using Wireless N 450 Mbps...

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 30, 2013 11:49:37 AM PDT
ComfiShoe says:
Thanks for the insight. Kind of disappointment that for the price range in which the router is sold, it does not have such option. I have Dlink DIR655 bought about 6 years ago and it has the option to disable broadcast of SSID. And although technically I am not sure how secure is, at least hiding give some level of confidence that there is no intruder in my network. Anyway, thanks again.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 30, 2013 12:14:35 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 30, 2013 6:54:07 PM PDT
T. Curry says:
well I was just going over all the options
over and over again to help me determine
why I should upgrade at this time...
and it was a painful process.

I think I would have upgraded more immediately had one been able to
hide the SSID broadcast even if the signal can be
sniffed. I mean why make it easy for someone passing
by with a wi-fi computer or phone to even be able to
see your SSID to potentially connect making guesses at the
security encryption key even if they don't
have advanced equipment to sniff it if was hidden?

But that window has passed and even if Linksys does add the
option to hide the SSID for this model EA6900, I have gone over
in detail as you saw above and it is not the right time for me
to get this.

Maybe once my 3 or now 4 computers (with wireless N, USB 2.0 hardware)
become too old and non-functional, maybe if getting newer computers
can benefit from this advancement in the technology as they may have
USB3.0 ports, and the wireless ac standard built in.

These comments are in no way to influence anyone else not to get this...
this is just for my mind with what I have currently. :)
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

JOHN
(VINE VOICE)   

Location: NJ, United States

Top Reviewer Ranking: 20,467