Customer Review

348 of 357 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've Gone Green, March 31, 2009
This review is from: Earthwise 60120 20-Inch 24-Volt Cordless Electric Lawn Mower (Lawn & Patio)
I got tired of messing with gasoline, oil, and the mixing, pouring, and spilling of the two, so I gave all my lawn equipment away and hired a gardener - 2 years later realize what a mistake - all gardener does is mow grass every 2 weeks and charge $$$$ for everything else. So I decided to to take back my yard and went online to research electric mowers and decrease my carbon footprint.

I was all ready to purchase a corded model when I came across the Earthwise 20" 24 volt cordless rechargeable. I must admit that I was very apprehensive about cordless, I've owned many gutless cordless power tools. During my research of the Earthwise I ran across a video that showed the lawnmower in action - I was sold. I purchased immediately and have been extremely pleased.

This mower has all the power that I could ever need to take care of my yard (approx. 1/4 acre of grass, with some on a slope). The battery came fully charged and I had the mower out of the box, fully assembled (very easy), and out mowing withing 20 minutes. Used the grass catcher just to see how it worked (did a great job), then took it off and have mulched ever since (this machine turns your grass into the minutest particles).

It is very well constructed (the deck is metal - this is good), the height adjustment could not be easier (one lever adjusts all wheels - again, very good), it pushes very easily (thanks to the ball-bearing wheels), and the handle folds to make for very compact storage.

My yard and I am happy again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 6 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 18, 2009 7:52:31 AM PDT
I liked hearing about the power, battery life, mulching ability, and height adjustment.

Posted on Mar 28, 2010 3:38:59 PM PDT
kireviewer says:
If you really wanted to go green, you could have gotten a reel type manual lawn mower.
They are not much harder to push than an electric lawn mower and they actually cut the grass better. The blades on a reel mover slice the grass at the proper angle while the whirring blade on an electric mower tear the grass.

Two other things that don't make this the best green option:
1. The battery won't last the life of the lawn mower. Sometime it will have to be replaced and then you are have a biohazard on your hands.
2. A battery version is not as power efficient as a corded lawn mower. You use more electricity charging the battery than you would if you went directly from a power outlet.
So, unless your lawn is more than 100 feet from your electrical outlet, a corded model is a much more green solution. And the battery makes the lawn mower heavier and harder to manuever.

And one other final consideration:
Although this is made by the Great States American Lawn Mower Company, it is actually made in China.
What kind of environmental safe guards do you think they have in factories in China?
When you open the box, you are hit by noxious fumes. Just what do they use in the manufacturing and painting of this unit?????

Posted on Apr 29, 2010 9:56:17 AM PDT
A. COLLEY says:
I bought one 25 Sept 2009 and mowed about 10-15 times before the season ended. I've mowed less than 10 times this spring so far, and the battery capacity has steadily dwindled until now I can only mow for 15-20 minutes before it conks out. Having to replace a $100+ battery every year is ridiculous.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 29, 2010 11:43:30 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 29, 2010 11:59:28 PM PDT
BRod22 says:
kireviewer, wow, I didn't realize that the original post was up for argument. Please step off your soap box and let the reviewer have their feelings about the product heard. The original poster didn't compare the product to a reel mower, nor ask for an explanation of how to use a corded mower.
Possibly you have breathed in too many of the noxious fumes from China you mentioned.
Now I will step off MY soap box.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 30, 2010 1:07:45 PM PDT
kireviewer says:
I am not stopping the reviewer from being heard.
Reviewer said she went green. I responded to that comment, as this lawn mower is not really "green". I explained what the real green alternatives would be. I think it is very helpful for anyone considering buying a battery operated mower to understand what the issues may be.

Posted on Aug 4, 2010 11:44:10 PM PDT
earthnfire78 says:
@kireviewer
The whole going green thing is a joke, and why I say it is a joke is because nature is not always green. What should really be said is, I've gone from being a dick to the environment be going with some that does not pollute, in the way that a stander gas mower does. I own the Homelite version of this mower and the power coming to my home is Hydroelectric, so in turn my Carbon footprint "0" while using it. Secondly while it is made in China at lease it is made with Recycled steel and plastic: and as fare as the battery is concerned Lead Acids Batteries have to be Recycled per the Clean Air and Water Act.

@A. COLLEY
B!tching about something is not a very good way to make friends, you know that right. The way that many people have been complaining about the battery makes me wounder if they read the instruction about the batteries in the first place. With Lead Acids overcharging even for one minute to long kills the battery. If one spend over 250 of this lawnmower they sure can spend another 45 to get a battery maintainer, which would give the own between 3 - 7 years of use. Plus you can take the batter pack into a batter store, to have the batters switched out and half the cost, and your old ones are then Recycled.

Personally I love this lawnmower even though it is heavy, it works great; and even if you get your power from a Coal Fire Power Planet, this mower is still better for the environment then a gas mower is.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 5, 2010 8:27:16 PM PDT
kireviewer says:
Are you so sure about your 0 carbon footprint? It is very rare for anyone to get 100% power from hydroelectric sources as nearly everyone is on the power grid. Power can come from a variety of sources and the sources are adjusted as usage changes. In anycase, hydroelectric power is limited and when you are using it, it means someone else cannot and must use an alternative power source.

Made from recycled materials? Recyclers in China are among the world's worst polluters.

As for battery recycling, it is not exactly a 0 carbon footprint activity. You say you can 3 to 7 years before someone has to recycle that battery. I got 20 years out of my plug in mower and I abused the crap out of it.

Is a battery operated mower really power by a coal plant really better for the environment? Add it all up:
Battery operated:
-made in China with no ecological restrictions
-lead acid battery that needs to be recycled every year
-a fairly ineffecient conversion of power with power losses all down the line: coal power plant, power transformers, transmission lines, charging of the battery
Gas powered:
-clean manufacturing in the US of mower
-efficient and clean refining (if you ignore all of the horrendous oil spills)
-transporation of fuel (probably the worst part)
-efficient power conversion at the source

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 26, 2010 7:12:49 AM PDT
Jordan says:
Efficient power conversion at the source? The number 30 is high if you're in first grade, I guess, as that is the average efficiency of internal combustion engines... Lead-acid batteries are about 78% efficient (Lithium-ion ~ 90% once technology allows cheap manufacture of them), and electric motors can now be up to 95% efficient. Also, 98% of lead in lead-acid batteries is recycled. So basically, your biggest problem is the paint from China. Since you're probably not going to buy in to the greenification of America's auto fleet due to plug-in vehicles having to be plugged into the grid (which they are always working on using cleaner ways to produce electricity), keep walking to work and ignore the beauty of what people can do with modern technology. Ignorance must truly be bliss...

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 26, 2010 7:55:12 PM PDT
kireviewer says:
I agree, lead-acid batteries are about 78% efficient...that's a good a number as any, since the range is about 55% to 80%. That is with a full charge and then fully using that charge. So, you only get full efficiency if you keep the battery charged and use it right away.

Otherwise, the battery loses charge over time and you lose efficiency.

Let's see how someone uses this mower:
You charge it overnight on Friday, and the battery is fully charged so you can use it on Saturday. You mow the lawn on Saturday, but you don't use up all of the charge. The battery charge dissipates over the week. So, you may only use 25% of that charge and the rest just dissipates and you have to recharge the battery.

Now, you charge it Friday night. Then it rains on all weekend. Then you don't get to use the mower at all. All that charging dissipates and your efficiency is basically 0.

Now, we are only talking about battery efficiency. We haven't got into the efficiency of the charging system, the voltage regulator or the electric motor.

With a gas power mower, you have power on demand. Unless, of course, you accidentally kick over the gas can. Or you have an old gas can that doesn't seal very well and your gas evaporates.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 1, 2010 7:34:24 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 1, 2010 7:35:21 PM PDT
S. Owens says:
This thread has been extremely amusing and enlightening. I think I agree with kireviewer - at first glance the battery option seems to be the most green, but hydroelectric is not a 0 footprint and it does take a lot of resources to build/recycle/replace the thing. And he's right about the "leakage" by disipating over time - cars might possibly be better at it since you drive them almost every day.

I just know in the Pacific Northwest we look at hydroelectric power like it's almost "free", but like corn, if everybody starts using it for fuel it's going to go up in price and become more scarce (like oil).
‹ Previous 1 2 3 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.5 out of 5 stars (345 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (140)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (71)
 
 
 
$450.00 $292.03
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: CA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 6,656,096