Customer Review

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2007 version: Great little first puzzle for toddlers, January 31, 2007
This review is from: Melissa & Doug First Shapes Jumbo (Toy)
EDIT to add: This review is regarding a puzzle purchased 7 years ago. The newer variation of this puzzle is apparently cheaper and far less sturdy, and has stickers rather than paint. In essence a different product than what I reviewed, and likely a lot of the other older reviewers here are raving about.

This is the original review:

We bought this puzzle for our daughter's first birthday - hoping to counter some of the noisier toys we suspected she would recieve (and she did).

To our great pleasure it was well-recieved, and is something she enjoys tinkering with whilst making her rounds of the toys.

The pieces are large and - unlike so many first puzzles - are made out of thick, sturdy plywood. They are painted with non-toxic paints, rather than having a layer of paper like many other puzzles which so quickly become soggy and unusable the first time they find their way into the mouth.

The only downside is that the pieces do have slightly rough edges - I think I may end up taking a piece of sandpaper to them at some point just to smooth them out a bit. And, as the other reviewer noted, this can cause difficulty in getting the pieces in.

Despite this minor flaw this is an excellent learning tool for young toddlers, and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 10, 2013 9:47:18 AM PST
L. Payne says:
This puzzle is no longer hand painted but has stickers that came off in 2 hours of toddler play.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 10, 2013 6:03:12 PM PST
goonius says:
What a shame.

Ours has survived almost 7 years. After donating it last year, it showed up in a local library, where it still looks nearly new in spite of daily play by dozens of kids. The original was a fantastic and sturdy toy.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 10, 2013 7:59:30 PM PST
L. Payne says:
It is a shame. I am just going to take the stickers off now so he can still enjoy the puzzle without me worrying about the tacky sticker residue. Maybe I will paint it myself. One of the things I dislike about Amazon reviews is they keep them around for even 10 years. The product has changed, but still has reviews on the original.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 11, 2013 2:32:16 AM PST
goonius says:
Good point. Since deleting my review would shed no light on this issue, I edited it. Hopefully that will shed some light on the inferiority of the new puzzle, and prevent other people from believing they are purchasing the same product that we did 7 years ago.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (218 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
$9.99
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: a room in a house on a street in a city just like any other.

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,816