Customer Review

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great boot if you modify it a bit :), February 13, 2014
This review is from: Tactical Research Men's Minimil Boots (Apparel)
Length:: 3:56 Mins

The Tactical Research (Belleville) TR-101 boot is a true minimalist boot. Provided that you prepare the boot by trimming the laces, installing a shock absorbing insole, and removing the heel cup, it can serve excellently as a field boot in the most demanding environments. Watch my video for tips on how to prepare this boot for field use ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 8, 2014 11:09:17 AM PST
Thannks for the effort of posting this. Good review.

Posted on Mar 8, 2014 10:36:58 PM PST
San Juan says:
Thanks for the excellent review. I am interested in removing the heel counter, and I'm wondering if after you cut and did the removal, did you glue the leather back in place? Stitch it? Thanks for your input!

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 8, 2014 10:47:28 PM PST
Slonda828 says:
The leather making up the heel of the boot is essentially three layers. The outer most layer, which is actually the rough out leather itself, is the part that you can view from the outside of the boot. The plastic heel cup is just behind that. The inner most part of the heel is actually just fabric. If you work your knife or leatherman carefully along the stitching along the inside of the heel cup, then you just completely cut out the inside liner, and remove the heel cup itself. When you are done, only the outer layer of rough out leather remains. This effectively take the heel from 3 layers to only 1.

Posted on Apr 20, 2014 9:12:12 PM PDT
Code Sarah says:
Looking to go to that certain school too. I wear five fingers for gym-jones style pt, short distance running. How were these with serious weight on? I am already 210lbs, plus close to 70lbs of ruck and water. I was thinking of taking a pair of altama ripples and these. What do you think?

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 20, 2014 9:24:57 PM PDT
Slonda828 says:
Just bring three pairs of boots. Two is the minimum, but bring three. That way, if the thin soles bug you, then you can use one of the other pairs. I brought these, Nike Free boots, and regular old panama soled desert boots.

Posted on May 2, 2014 2:58:42 PM PDT
Otto says:
Slonda828....thanks for this review. Please help me with one thing. If they run small, as you say, and you wear a fourteen, it would help me to know what size minimalist running shoes you wear...I wear a 13 but as such they have some room in the toes. Please relate your experience in these terms. Thanks so much!!

In reply to an earlier post on May 2, 2014 4:20:42 PM PDT
Slonda828 says:
No worries brother. I wear a 13 in most shoes like a Merrell or a Nike Free. I chose a 14 in this boot because I added sorbothane insoles and some thick Gander Mountain merino wool hunting socks. I rocked merino wool all through my training, and I had great success with this setup. Take my word though when I say not to try to use the flimy soles that come with the boots and some ultrathin socks. If you have to walk trails, say pushing a jeep for example, then they are going to murder the soles of your feet like that. I get that my opinion is worth what you are paying for it (lol), but that is what worked for me :) Have a good weekend.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 3, 2014 11:25:49 PM PST
Great review. I've worn these mostly in garrison for about a year, and have been minimalist in running for the past several years. I normally ruck in a pair of Danner TFX boots, and didn't have great results with these and the stock insoles, but am willing to give them another go with a pair of molded insoles and Darn Tough socks. And if the certain school you mentioned involves wandering the woods of NC, it's good to know they allow these boots.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (210 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
$161.00 $124.99 - $159.95
Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 34,133