Customer Review

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Review by a 3D Connoisseur, November 8, 2011
This review is from: IMAX: Under the Sea 3D (Single-Disc Blu-ray 3D/Blu-ray Combo) (Blu-ray)
My ratings are based mainly on the QUALITY OF THE 3D, not the video content.

Like many of the IMAX films the 3D is over done, meaning you may see objects out of screen that your brain knows should be farther back. These defects will vary from person to person by the way your brain interprets the 3D and by exactly where on the screen your eyes are focused at that time. With that being said, the following amounts and distances are the minimums you should see in this film.

In Addition to the opening credits floating out to 40%; there are about 21 out of screen effects that extend 10% of the way, from the screen to the viewer. There are another 23 OOS effects between 15 & 25%. 1 to 4 effects will reach out to 50%. My favorite effect is at 21:00 minutes, a large head shot of a Potato Cod is at least half way between you and the screen. Finally, stick around for the closing credits. Some of the bubbles go out to 50% and the very last bubble almost reaches 75% before the effect is lost.

If the 3D in other IMAX films were OK for you, this one should be too.

*** Visually stunning sea floor & creature footage in crisp 3D ***

MY 3D RATING = VERY GOOD (poor, fair, good, very good, excellent)

Note: As far as the percentages go, everyone's eyes are different. What I see at 25% you may see at 15% or 35%. To fully realize how far something is out of the screen for you, pause on an effect and direct a partner with an extended finger to the tip of what you are seeing. You may be surprised.

Click on `See all my reviews' for the lowdown on other 3Ds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 5 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 15, 2011 2:54:08 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 15, 2011 3:06:22 AM PST
Tim says:
I have a Samsung 3d t.v and have had to buy 3d blue rays with trial & error.Couldn't find a forum with 3d movies that USERS liked,it was always the review of the movie,not the 3d!!And then I discovered Mr. Niemeyers exxxxcelant,informative 3d reviews!!! I have been up for 2 1/2 hrs reading all of them,writing down the ones he recommends.Thank you sir for all the time you spent into this topic,its 2:45 am,calif time,i'm tired or I would go on & on thanking you for your 3d reviews.I'm gonna order Rio & Imax Deep Sea 2morrow !!! Tomorrow,i'll add 3d reviews on the ones i've seen,they won't be as scientific as yours sir,your a tough act to follow !!!lol!! Oh,you might check out Coraline,which is my favorite 3d movie,also Monster House.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 15, 2011 11:23:06 AM PST
Hi Tim,
Thanks for your words of encouragement. Don't miss out on Open Season also, if you don't have it already. I love 3D so by writing all the reviews, what I am trying to accomplish is to send the $s to the companies that are making good 3D and short the ones making junk. Since the movie industry can only judge its 3D Blu-ray success in $s, steering others to the good 3D will give us better and better 3D to watch in the future. By all means please join in, in telling every one what you think is good and bad 3D. You might want to title your reviews in a way that lets people know you are reviewing the 3D. Thanks for the help.

Happy 3D ing,
Keith

Posted on Nov 26, 2011 8:31:04 PM PST
As always, thanks for your help. Your ideas are so good, and all of us that have the luxury of 3D are in your debt.
Harold Edward Wills

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 28, 2011 3:13:12 AM PST
Hi Harold,
Have seen you popping up on my some of my reviews.
Thanks for your support.

Posted on Dec 6, 2011 12:12:59 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 6, 2011 2:12:29 PM PST
Jorge V. says:
Keith, just curious... I recently picked up this 3D Bluray (Under the Sea) and am wondering how you compare it to the other IMAX film "Deep Sea". It looks like several posters asked you about it when you reviewed Deep Sea, but you told them that you hadn't reviewed Under the Sea yet. Now that you have, I'd like to bug you and as what do you think? Is Deep Sea worth picking up if I already own Under the Sea? Hope I didn't buy the "wrong one". They both seem so similar in content, focusing on coral reefs. Thanks.

And thanks again for the many excellent reviews. I made sure to select YES to "did you find this post useful?" and I encourage everyone else to do the same. I want this guy to be on Amazon's Vine program so that they send him every 3D bluray they release!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 6, 2011 7:43:06 PM PST
Hi Jorge,

Yeah, I held out on buying Under the Sea for a long time. For entertainment value and 3D quality, I think Under the Sea is a little better. The 2 films do have different footage, although I have to admit it has been so long since I watched Deep Sea, I don't remember the specific scenes anymore (old age I guess). Sorry I couldn't be of more help.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 7, 2011 8:53:52 AM PST
Jorge V. says:
Thanks for the reply. Looking at others reviews, they seem to agree with your comparison.

Posted on Apr 12, 2012 12:25:01 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Apr 12, 2012 12:26:23 PM PDT
Ken Wheeler says:
Thank you VERY much for the 3D reviews and I am going through all of them to properly build my 3D movie collection!!! They are of great assistance in not wasting our money on a 3D film when 2D will work just fine. I found in this movie (Under The Sea) a few spots where there appeared to almost be too much 3D going on in the scene. The only way I could think describing it is that there is too much going on for the 3D processor to handle it cleanly. My question to you is... what would that be called because after reading your reviews I'm thinking that it may be my brain not being able to handle "mis-information" being delivered to it (or call my brain the 3D processor being over-loaded :) ). The scenes that I am talking about would be scenes with a lot of coral/vegetation action and usually at the edges and lower corners of the screen. There are only a few scenes that I could definitely notice the effect but they were very noticeable. I have only seen this effect with this one film so I'm sure it's not my setup.

I did really like the movie and some of the ocean scenes took me back to my Coast Guard days of living on a ship. This movie is worth the purchase.

I use a Sony PS3 for the the 3D player and an Epson 3010 3D projector with a 96" diagonal screen. I have to say that I am very impressed with the LCD projector (didn't know if I would be after running a 2D DLP for a few years) even with some ambient lighting.

Again, I can't express my thanks for the time and effort you have put in to providing others your 3D reviews.

Ken Wheeler

In reply to an earlier post on Apr 13, 2012 8:32:17 PM PDT
Hi Ken,

I don't remember those scenes specifically but IMO almost all of the IMAX blu-rays push the 3D to the limit and in some scenes cross the line (excess parallax). Those scenes can look strange or at the worst double imaged on some active systems. Passive system users seem to have less of an issue with the IMAX films. So the probable answer is that, it is most likely the way it was filmed, (intended for an IMAX theater) and what you are seeing is too much separation between the right and left images for your brain to properly recognize it as a 3D object and assign it, its points in space.
Kind of confusing but I would need to drone on and on to explain it better.

Hope this helps

Posted on Apr 30, 2012 3:15:00 PM PDT
John S. says:
Keith, you are awesome! Another comment mentioned and I should look though your reviews of the 3D movies and I purchased two movies (3D Safari Africa & Under the Sea 3D) based on your recommendations. Thank you so much! Would you be able to recommend a few more nature-related 3D movies like the 3D Safari/Under The Sea with similar 3D effects?
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›

Review Details

Item

4.3 out of 5 stars (543 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (318)
4 star:
 (117)
3 star:
 (61)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
$34.57 $23.47
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Location: LaCrosse, WI USA

Top Reviewer Ranking: 35,698