Customer Review

470 of 585 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The speed does not support the overpriced card., February 22, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 32GB PlayStation Vita Memory Card (Accessory)
When I tested the 32gb vita memory card the speeds it was generating for reading was around 4mbps which is around a class 4 label in other SD/memory cards. The average price of a 32gb class 4 that I have seen is around 30-40 bucks. Therefore, I do not support this price gouging when they are forcing us to purchase proprietary memory cards. Really the 32gb should not have a price tag above 59.99.

Vita is reasonably priced but Sony dropped the ball with the memory card pricing. This is the biggest obstacle the Vita is facing right now and it is sad that it is entirely due to Sony's own bad decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 8 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 84 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 22, 2012 2:54:53 PM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 22, 2012 4:25:38 PM PST
GAunderrated says:
Actually the reason I gave was the price for the product I am getting. No the product is not faulty but it has the speed of a class 4 SD card with the price of a high end class 10. But thank you for not really reading my review properly, it creates quite a bit of irony.

Posted on Feb 27, 2012 4:19:26 PM PST
Rev says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 28, 2012 4:35:06 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 28, 2012 4:37:34 PM PST
Imago Dei says:
At the time I'm writing this, buying physical copies of all PS Vita Games here on Amazon is in fact $60 cheaper than the digital versions on PSN.

Amazon, and other retailers, seem to be ether price-matching or completely undercutting PSN prices, which makes the costs of these memory cards unjustifiable.

Posted on Feb 28, 2012 4:50:10 PM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 29, 2012 3:12:17 PM PST
We understand that Digital games are cheaper because of the card, but the matter of fact is we can only use this card, if we were allowed to use other cards and pay normal price for a digital download we'd be less annoyed. Any don't know why anyone would want a digital copy hard copies of everything are always better.

Posted on Feb 29, 2012 8:14:58 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 29, 2012 8:23:22 PM PST
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

Posted on Mar 1, 2012 11:54:07 PM PST
The proprietary cards are expensive because Sony had to design them specifically to combat piracy. Whether or not they will actually stop piracy, I don't know, but they've done a pretty good job so far for just under 4 months considering how quickly devices get hacked these days. The 3DS was hacked to run R4 the day after it came out.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 2, 2012 12:00:52 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 2, 2012 12:08:54 PM PST
Michael says:
No, you're wrong. It took over two years for the R4 (and other slot-1 flash cards) to come out. The DS was released in 2004, and the R4 was released in 2007. Hardly "the day after it came out." DS piracy was very inaccessible before then before then because you needed a passthrough device and a slot-2 flash cart. Stop making stuff up - two years was plenty of time for the DS to gain momentum, and while the R4 was unfortunate for Nintendo, it took quite a while.

In any case, Sony could have utilized the same type of security/encryption on standard MicroSD or SD cards. The PS3 uses standard 2.5" SATA hard drives and was just fine with this. It got hacked eventually, but not because Sony used a well-established standard. Nintendo is pretty confident with the security on the 3DS (which has never been hacked) and it uses normal SD cards.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 3, 2012 5:35:17 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 3, 2012 5:37:13 PM PST
Stephen S. says:
@Saosin - Does "599 U.S. dollars" ring a bell? If I remember the numbers correctly, when the PS3 was launched at that price, Sony was still losing over $200 per unit sold. Sony needs to get their $%#& together, seriously. Even back then, $800 could've bought you an entire computer that was better than a PS3 (minus Blu-Ray). For them to be losing a significant amount of money on the Vita as well... what the hell are they doing, buying all the parts for it from 2004?

Also don't mention the PSP, Sony screwed themselves on that one. UMD disc for amazing load times (amazingly long), UMD versions of movies you already own on DVD/BD for not even half the price, the PSP Go. I have a PSP-3000 and am getting a PS3 soon (fat), so I'm not a Sony hater, but honestly the PS2 was their peak, and they've just been going downhill since.
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next ›

Review Details

Item

3.8 out of 5 stars (464 customer reviews)
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (61)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
$99.99 $69.01
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Reviewer


Top Reviewer Ranking: 401,383