Customer Review

500 of 630 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The speed does not support the overpriced card., February 22, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: 32GB PlayStation Vita Memory Card (Video Game)
When I tested the 32gb vita memory card the speeds it was generating for reading was around 4mbps which is around a class 4 label in other SD/memory cards. The average price of a 32gb class 4 that I have seen is around 30-40 bucks. Therefore, I do not support this price gouging when they are forcing us to purchase proprietary memory cards. Really the 32gb should not have a price tag above 59.99.

Vita is reasonably priced but Sony dropped the ball with the memory card pricing. This is the biggest obstacle the Vita is facing right now and it is sad that it is entirely due to Sony's own bad decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
 

Comments

Tracked by 8 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 11-20 of 85 posts in this discussion
Posted on Mar 4, 2012 7:10:44 AM PST
Gabriel says:
@GAunderrated

I completely agree with your review. You made some good points on how the Vita cards are pretty much SD/memory cards with a different shape. My review has been getting bashed by Sony fan-boys because I gave the PS Vita a one star in my review based on certain things, including the NEED for these overpriced memory cards. I agree with what you said about Sony's bad decision. I bet Sony's Vita sales would be much better if they weren't trying to squeeze money out of people with such.

Posted on Mar 4, 2012 10:07:40 AM PST
B. Hoover says:
Relevant article regarding the Vita memory card performance. The performance levels, as reported in this article, are astonishingly low for the price tag. We're talking about ~4-7 MB/s range for read and write speeds depending on the capacity of the card.

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/df-hardware-how-fast-are-vita-memory-cards

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2012 10:13:08 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 4, 2012 10:14:42 AM PST
B. Hoover says:
"I bet Sony's Vita sales would be much better if they weren't trying to squeeze money out of people with such."

I'm sure Sony is making a killing off of the cards. These cards probably do not cost much to manufacture. The profit margins must be enormous for such an underperforming card.

Not to mention that if you ever want to play Japanese games on your Vita (like I do), you're in bed with $ony since you have to purchase two memory cards just to get around the one PSN account per Vita. Since a memory card is tied down to a specific PSN account, you'll need two (one for each account).

Don't get me wrong, I'm loving my Vita right now. But the proprietary format is a painful thorn in the side. It's difficult to see the justification for the inflated pricing.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2012 12:18:59 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 4, 2012 12:22:41 PM PST
Ivan says:
The Retailers cost for the 32GB is 58dollars currently.(how much they buy them from sony)
Employee's price at best buy is for example 65 dollars . Every card that is sold at retail makes HUGE profits for both the retailers and SONY. This memory is nothing"new" their is no way to justify the price of the 32GB mem cards. This is like SONY releasing a 6x CD-ROM drive for the PC for 599 dollars today. (the price it USE to cost for that technology in when it was first released to the public)

Actual cost to make these old memory cards for SONY? My guess would be around 3 dollars. Plus "labor" from china of 16cents/hr ... total cost comes in around 5 dollars.

Posted on Mar 5, 2012 8:15:13 PM PST
T. A. Clark says:
Peripheral costs for systems are high. If the cost is too much, don't buy the system. As it is, this card doesn't warrant a 1-star review because it's the best 32gb card for the system and works perfectly with it.

There's a reason the cards are proprietary. Do I wish it was cheaper? Sure. Does it do what it should? Sure. It's not like Sony is somehow alone in this sort of thing, you think Microsoft isn't making money on its ridiculously overpriced hard drives for the 360? This has been happening with gaming as long as it has been around. Using product reviews as some sort of forum to complain about pricing is flat out stupid and isn't what the reviews are here for. I'm sure there's any number of gaming forums that would be happy to support the complaints.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 6, 2012 11:17:12 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 6, 2012 11:18:13 AM PST
GAunderrated says:
Just because a product works doesn't mean that it deserves a 5 star review. Normal people tend to judge something on price for value to determine its worth in buying. The Vita 32gb card price for value is grossly overpriced as I mentioned in the stats.

I'm sure microsoft makes a huge killing on the overpriced hard drives but most people got them with any xbox that wasn't arcade. The Vita does not unless you buy the FEB in which case you are still paying 8GB for around 30 bucks which is still overpriced for a class 4 speed that normally runs about 8 bucks through amazon.

Kingston 8 GB microSDHC Class 4 Flash Memory Card SDC4/8GB

Also try and refrain from using a logical fallacy that this has been going around since gaming has been around. It may be true if you were born in the psx generation but gaming's beginning came with internal game slots for free. I don't remember playing excite bike and having to pay 30 bucks to save my game state.

I'd like to finish with my review talked about price for value which is why I gave it a 1 star. That is exactly what reviews are for, discussing the product value. The fact that you think I am only talking about price shows that you didn't take the time to even originally read my review. In which case I will ask that you either read the original review or please say thing at all.

Posted on Mar 6, 2012 11:32:27 AM PST
All these people arguing it's a better "business decision" or "trade-off" that's BS. In this age we can afford better technology than Class 4 SD comparable technology for 100 bucks!! They could have sold us a higher class card for a higher price, and kept this one at 30-60 bucks, and that would be a trade-off! Seeing them be too lazy to put out commercial technology up to standard with the rest of the world because it is under their brand name or because it comes with some additional anti-piracy technology that just makes it harder to file-transfer is pathetic. The reason I'd give this a one-star rating myself is not because of the price, but simply because they offer NOTHING BETTER. If you cannot buy a better card than a class 4 for even 1,000 bucks, THAT is a ripoff.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 7, 2012 1:14:57 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 7, 2012 1:15:32 PM PST
a.robo says:
If you don't factor price into the equation, you're a buffoon.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 14, 2012 4:18:24 AM PDT
Brand says:
Shonen said the 3DS, not the DS, was hacked, and it was.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 15, 2012 6:29:48 PM PDT
MakaiOokami says:
This is why they did it.

1. They needed to do full encryption and make it difficult to pirate. Why is this a concern? Because the PSP was pirated to hell, which is why the cards are now fairly heavily encrypted and they would NOT be able to get developer support for the new platform without these security attempts. I've literally heard small developers beg people listening to the podcast not to pirate the game. Literally begging. Why? Because some of them didn't know that PSN titles can be pirated. I believe it had to do with the devs behind Super Stardust HD or Gravity Crash (not Gravity Crush on the Vita but the Isometric space shooter/puzzle game on the PSN with their new PSP version)

2. They offer the cards at the price so that retail can make a decent cut off of the sale of them. If they were priced too cheap retailers would refuse to sell the Vitas. Wal-Mart specifically was one of those places that would refuse to have sold PSPs if they were releasing the same games at a lower price on the PSP. The reason behind this is simple. Why would they sell a console (loss leader) and a cheap memory card, and then not be able to make profits on the games because the cheap memory card allows for you to have more games on fewer cards, and at a lower cost.

3. I can't guarantee this as a fact but maybe the reason why the write speeds are as low as they are is because they made the memory cards higher in reliability? SD cards have a write limit. So unless you're comparing the write limits, the reliability, and the speed as an overall package, you're only telling a small part of the story.

Fact of the matter is, if you don't like the memory card prices, don't buy them. This is not a review it's a protest because you don't like their business practice. I did the same thing on Jame's Camero's Avatar because they won't release the 3D version as part of the "Ultimate Bundle" which ceases to make it "Ultimate"

While you do have a valid point, fact of the matter is you didn't mention anything about whether or not the data cable would even be able to perform at those higher speeds anyway. If the cable can't transmit faster than a class 4 card can read at then why would the memory be higher than a class 4? So unless you're going to take that into account as well your argument is pointless.